Driver's License

North Dakota Driver's License Written Test

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the North Dakota Driver's License Written Test.
Sample
View sample
Sample
Georgia 2
Georgia 3
Georgia 4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The North Dakota DOT Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your North Dakota driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The North Dakota DOT Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the North Dakota DOT exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the ND DOT manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View sample
Sample
Georgia 4
Georgia 2
Georgia 3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • North Dakota DOT Cheat Sheet
  • North Dakota DOT Online Practice Test
The North Dakota DOT Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DOT test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the North Dakota DOT exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the ND DOT manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

New North Dakota Drivers License

Who needs a License?

Any resident over the age of 16 can obtain a standard drivers license, but there are several types of licenses available. The type you choose will depend on what your intended uses are for the license and include:

  • Class D pertains to anyone operating a vehicle for person use on the roads. Minors must first obtain a restricted license before applying for this class. Included in this class is the ability to operate emergency vehicles, RV and campers and certain construction equipment. Farmers and children over the age of 14 may also operate farm equipment with this license.
  • Class A, B, C Commercial licenses are for those wishing to operate a vehicle for a living. Depending on whether or not you intend to transport materials or people you may need additional endorsements.
  • Class M is a license for operating any two wheeled motorcycle on public roads or three wheeled motorcycle off-road

What are the Requirements for Getting a License?

General requirements include documentation proving your age, legal name, residency and citizenship in an effort to assist with assuring that identification administered is secure and confirmed. This includes all types of drivers’ licenses, state IDs and learners’ permits:

  • Age – You must be 15 years old to apply for a restricted license and 16 years of age to obtain your Class D or M license. The exception to this rule is those children age 14 that will be operating farm equipment with parental supervision.
  • Identification- You must be a resident of North Dakota, which is defined as anyone living in the state for more than 90 days. In addition, you must be able to prove you are legally allowed to live in the US or a citizen. You will be expected to present a social security card, along with required proof upon submitting an application for licensing.
  • You will be required to pay your licensing costs at the time of application. This includes the $5 charge for the written test as well as the $5 cost of the road test if you are required to take it.

What Tests do I need to take to get a License?

Each of the five classes of drivers licenses offered in North Dakota has its own set of testing requirements, however all license applicants must pass a vision test. In general, tests are divided into two parts:

  • The written test consists of multiple-choice questions taken from the information found in the DMV manual "Rules of the Road. It can be taken without an appointment at any DMV branch office.
  • The road test must be scheduled in advance and will test your skills behind the wheel. Tests are given with a certified instruction that will evaluate your performance on the road and apply a point system to determine if you pass or fail.

Taking a Drivers Education Course

At age 16 you may fulfill the drivers training requirement through a school approved the Department of Public Instruction. More information is located in the Parent-Teen Drivers Guide. There are several additional driver-training courses optional for both teen and adult drivers, and mandatory for those removing points from a license due to an accident or traffic violation. These include the Alive at 25 training course developed by the National Safety Council.

Preparing for the Written Test

There are several steps you can take to assure you pass on the first try including:

  • Read your Rules of the Road manual several times to assure you know all North Dakota traffic rules, laws and regulations.
  • Obtain cheat sheets from dmvcheatsheets.com featuring information found in the top fifty multiple choice questions found on the written test.
  • You will also need to purchase practice tests from dmvcheatsheets.com that will review over 100 questions similar to those found on the actual test.

Scheduling an Appointment

The North Dakota DMV does not have the option at this time to schedule appoints except when taking the road test or renewing your license. You may schedule your appointment online.

What to Bring on Test Day

On the day of testing you will need to submit a completed driver’s license application. Teen drivers under the age of 18 must have both parental consent and supervising in order to receive a learner’s permit and this will be required on the day of testing. Minors must also submit proof of completion for approved driver-training courses and a completed drivers log found in the Parent-Teen Drivers Guide. All applicants must bring a social security card and required proof of identity, citizenship and residency. Bring the amount for licensing fees in the form of cash, check or money order.

Costs of Drivers Test

There are several fees associated with licensing and testing including:

  • Written test- $5
  • Road Test- $5

Taking the Driving Test

Taking the road test can make new drivers nervous, regardless of your age as it can be intimating. The most important thing you can do to assure you are ready is utilize your practice time wisely and complete at least the minimum 50 hours required of road time. The certified inspector will be grading you on two aspects of driving: Your ability to follow traffic laws and practice safe driving behind the wheel and your control over the vehicle. You will not pass if the examiner receives the impression that you are lacking in confidence while driving as a precautionary measure. Nervous drivers do not think clearly and tend to make bad decisions leading to accidents. If you have spent enough time driving before the test, you will be calm and pass on your first try.

Taking the Written Test

All test questions are created using the information found in the Rules of the Road manual so be sure to study this multiple times. You can also locate cheat sheets found on dmvcheatsheets.com as a guide to assure you study the most commonly found information on the test. Taking several practice tests will help you become familiar with the testing process and review valuable information before attempting the actual test. Remove all distractions while test so that you can focus all of your attention on passing. You can take a free online practice test courtesy of DMVcheatsheets.com for a better idea of what to expect.

What Tests do I need to take to get a License?

You will be required to take a series of tests when applying for any type of driver’s license. The testing process is divided into three parts:

  • The Written Test www.dmvcheatsheets.com is a minimum of 25 multiple choice questions and will cover all traffic laws, rules and regulations.
  • The Vision exam is given to all drivers license applicants for any type of license
  • The Road Test is graded on a point system, requiring a minimum score of 20 points to pass. You must supply your own vehicle for testing.

Renewing your North Dakota Drivers License

Who needs to renew their License?

Your license will expire at midnight on your birthday and the length of time your license is good for will depend on the date that you apply for the original license. Anyone wishing to continue operating a personal, commercial or motorcycle license on public roads in North Dakota must renew their license.

How do I renew my N.D. License?

You must complete the renewal process at your local DMV branch office, though an appointment can be made online in advance to save time. Check your license for the expiration date, which will be specific to your license depending on your birth date and the date of original issuing of your license. You may renew anytime between midnight of your expiration or up to 10 months in advance. You must bring your current license on the day of renewal and pass a vision test. No other tests are required unless your license has been expired for more than one year, at which time you must retake the written test.

What is the Cost to renew my License?

The renewal fee for a non-commercial license is $15.

Steps to renew your License

The renewal process in North Dakota is quick and simple:

  • Schedule an appointment online for your renewal and appear at your DMV branch office a few minutes before the time
  • Submit a renewal form and present your current license.
  • Pass the vision test and take a new photograph
  • Pay the renewal fees

Resources