The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles is a division of Louisiana Public Safety. The OMV, typically called the “DMV” is other states, is responsible for laws, licensing, vehicle registration, renewals and titles for those living in or recently moved to LA. The Louisiana OMV website is fairly comprehensive (http://omv.dps.state.la.us/online_apps.html) with easily accessible links for those looking for a learners permit, written test information, vehicle registration and general forms. Unfortunately, the OMV doesn’t currently offer any online services, such as renewing your license or vehicle, so all OMV related activities need to be performed at an OMV office.
Since 2008 we have helped tens of thousands of people quickly and easily pass their DMV written test.
Whether you are a first time driver getting your permit or just need to renew your license, our material can help. We offer super quick "print and go" cheat sheets as well as more inclusive online practice test questions and answers.
The old adage of "you get what you paid for" is especially true in online education. Every month, our editors are working to add and improve the questions and material we offer, as well as keeping it updated. It takes significant time and money to ensure you get the very best study material available so that you are guaranteed to pass on the first try.
New Louisiana Driver’s License
It is necessary for all Louisiana residents that wish to operate a motor vehicle to first obtain a driver’s license.
Which License is for you?
There are several different types of driver’s licenses to choose from. Picking one depends of your age and the type of vehicle you wish to drive. Each type of driver’s license has a class such as D, C, M and so forth. Types of licenses include:
- A Commercial License
- A Learners permit
- A Full privilege license
- A Motorcycle Driver’s License
What are the Requirements for Getting a License?
The applicant must complete either a 36 hour driver education course or a 6 hour pre-licensing course. The applicant must then take a written exam as well as a road test. When applying the applicant must provide proof of identity, proof of residency, and pay the fee.
Questions I need to take to get a License?
You will be required to take a series of tests when applying for any type of driver’s license. The testing process is divided into three parts:
- The Written Test is a minimum of 20-50 multiple choice questions and will cover all traffic laws, rules and regulations found in the Digest of Louisiana Motor Vehicle Laws
- The Vision exam is given to all drivers’ license applicants for any type of license
- You need to answer correctly 80% of the questions provided on the test.
Taking a Driver’s Education Course
It is necessary for all new drivers to complete either a 36 hour driver education course or a 6 hour pre-licensing course. Unless the nearest facility to you that offers either course, is 25 or more miles away and you are at least 17. For a list of course locations contact your local OMV.
Preparing for the Written Test and what to Bring
Preparing for the written test can be frustrating to some but it does not have to be. Start out by obtaining a Louisiana driver’s manual and study each section carefully. It is also a good idea to take some practice tests which can be found online. There are several things that you will need to remember to bring to your test with you. These things include:
- Proof of identity
- Proof of completed drivers education
- Proof of residency
If under the age of 17 you will also need to bring a parent or legal guardian.
What does a Driver’s License Cost?
The cost of a class E license for ages 15 -69 is $24.50 and for ages 70 and up to $15.50
Taking the Drivers Test
One of the most important things to remember when taking the driver’s test is to remain calm. As long as you practice as much as possible before hand and do not become overly frustrated you should do just fine on the test. Remember to bring all of the necessary documents and the fee with you to the test. Taking the road test is one of the most dreaded portions of the process require to get a driver’s license.
Taking the Written Test
It is a good idea to check all of your documents before going into the testing facility. Make sure they are all present and where they are easily accessible. Remember to remain as calm as possible so as to better focus on the task at hand. To prepare it is best to obtain a manual to study, and then take a few practice tests to gage how well you know the material. For more information on the written test, please visit: http://www.dmvcheatsheets.com
Renewing your Louisiana Driver’s License
A person must renew their license in person at any time starting 180 days before it expires. You can renew your Louisiana driver’s license in person, over the phone, online, or by mail. If renewing in person bring your expiring license, proof of insurance (if you own a vehicle), you will have to take a vision test. If renewing by phone you will simply follow the directions given at the time and have a valid credit or debit card ready. To renew online you will need your computer generated mail-in renewal invitation, your driver’s license and a valid credit card. To renew by mail you will need to download and print an application for licensing and send in along with a personal check, money order, or cashier’s check.
How do I renew my Louisiana Driver’s License and what tests do I have to take?
To renew in person simply go to any testing facility with your currant Louisiana driver’s license, proof of insurance, a valid Louisiana Department of Transportation long form physical with medical examiner’s certificate. You must also pay the fee and successfully pass a vision test.
Preparing to Renew Your Louisiana Driver’s License
It is possible to renew your license 180 days before it expires. Be sure you have all necessary documentation with you and in order ahead of time. If you are a married woman or anyone that has experienced a name change since your currant license was issued, be sure to also take your marriage certificate or some form of proof of the name change to prove your name change. Price varies but is generally around $24.50. An additional fee of $15.00 will be added for a license that has been expired for 10 days
Steps to Take to Renew Your License
Gather the necessary documentation such as:
- Proof of identity
- Social security card
If your name has changed since you received your last license, a proof of the change will also be required. Go to a testing site, pay the fee, and pass a vision test.
Who Needs a Learner’s Permit
Any person wishing to operate a motor vehicle in the state of Louisiana that has never had a driver’s license before or had one from another state that if two or more years expired.
Requirements to Get a Learner’s Permit
Applicant must be at least 15 years of age and if under 18 be accompanied by a parent or guardian. The parent/guardian must sign the form for any applicants under the age of 17. Applicants must present proof of identity and residency at the time of application. It is also necessary to complete a 36 hour driver education course or a 6 hour pre-licensing training course prior to applying for a learners permit.
Driving with a Louisiana Learner’s Permit
When issued a learner’s permit the new driver must always be accompanied by an adult 21+ years of age or a licensed sibling at least 18 years of age. This person must sit beside you. After graduating to an intermediate license you may drive alone or with passengers. If driving between the hours of 11:00pm and 5:00am you must be accompanied by a licensed adult 21+ years of age or a licensed sibling 18+ years of age.
Cost of a Louisiana Learner’s Permit
Cost differs throughout the state. To be absolutely sure of the fee it is best to contact your local testing site or visit, http://www.dmvcheatsheets.com/ for more information and study material.