Since 2008 we have helped tens of thousands of people quickly and easily pass their DMV written test.
Whether you are a first time driver getting your permit or just need to renew your license, our material can help. We offer super quick "print and go" cheat sheets as well as more inclusive online practice test questions and answers.
The old adage of "you get what you paid for" is especially true in online education. Every month, our editors are working to add and improve the questions and material we offer, as well as keeping it updated. It takes significant time and money to ensure you get the very best study material available so that you are guaranteed to pass on the first try.
New Alaska Driver’s License
Who Needs an Alaska License?
Any person that at least age 15 or older that is a resident of Alaska wants to drive a motor vehicle in the state they must first obtain an Alaska driver’s license. To do so a person must pass a written test, a vision test, and a road skills test in accordance with state law.
Which License is for you?
It can sometimes be marginally difficult to determine the appropriate type of driver’s license. There are several types of driver’s license; class D, class C, class, M, and class B just to name a few. The type of license you need depends on what type of vehicle you wish to operate. For many driving hopefuls the type needed is a class D, this is a general vehicle operator’s license. If you wish to drive a commercial vehicle or a motorcycle you will need a different license. Some of the types of licenses include:
- Learners permit
- Full privilege license
- Motorcycle Driver’s License
There are also special licenses (commercial) available such as:
- Chauffeur and sport vehicles
What are the Requirements for Getting a License?
For new drivers that have never held a driver’s license before a series of tests and education courses are required to obtain an Alaska full privilege license.
For renewing drivers a vision test and fee is required.
Taking a Driver’s Education Course
New drivers in the state of Alaska must complete a state approved driver’s education course. These courses are offered by both public and private schools. It is also offered by private driving schools licensed by the DMV.
Preparing for the Written Test and what to Bring
To best prepare for the written exam study the entire Alaska Driver’s Manual, then take some practice tests online to gage how well you know the material. You will need to prepare some required documents to bring with you to the test. Documents such as a copy of your birth certificate, social security card, proof of residency, and a certificate of completion for a driver’s education course. If under the age of 18 you will also need to bring a parent or legal guardian and have them fill out a parental consent form. Be sure that the address you provide is a physical address and not a P.O. Box which will not be accepted.
Proof of Insurance
If you drive your own vehicle you must provide proof of insurance for the vehicle that you intend to drive for your test. You must always carry proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times when driving.
What does a Driver’s License Cost?
It costs $5 for a learners and $20 for a full privilege license. If the learners permit must be renewed it will cost another $5. Renewing a regular, full privilege license is $20. This link provides all the details in getting your Alaska driver’s License at http://www.dmvcheatsheets.com/
Taking the Driver’s Test
It is best to practice as much as possible with an instructor or other licensed adult in the vehicle that is intended for testing before attempting the road test. Remember to stay calm; nerves are one of the biggest contributors to road test fails. Be sure that all of you documentation is in order before entering the testing facility to keep unnecessary stress down. To take the road test, the applicant will need a good working vehicle and proof of insurance for that vehicle. Read more about the Alaska written test at, http://www.dmvcheatsheets.com
Taking the Written Test
Study, study, study then let your mind and body rest before undertaking the test. Be sure to have all of the necessary documents in order before going to take the test, this will minimize undue stress. After you have studied to the point of feeling confident it is advisable to take some online practice tests. That way you can see if there are any areas you need to go back over before taking the actual test. You can take an online practice test at, http://www.dmvcheatsheets.com/
Renewing your Alaska Driver’s License
An Alaska driver’s license generally lasts for 5 years and expires on the driver’s birthday. The license can be renewed up to 1 year before expiration. In the state of Alaska there is no grace period and it is illegal to drive once the license has expired. If the license has been expired more than 1 year it is necessary for the driver to take the written test to renew the license.
How do I renew my Alaska Driver’s License and what tests do I have to take?
To renew an Alaska driver’s license the driver must go to a DMV, fill out a driver’s license application, provide the expiring license or another form of proof of identity, take a photo, take a vision test, and pay the renewal fee of $20.
Preparing to Renew Your Alaska Driver’s License
To prepare for renewing your Alaska driver’s license gather any necessary documentation and be sure you have the appropriate fee ready. Also be sure of your vision status because all new and renewing drivers must pass a vision test to get their license. The fee is payable by cash, check. Or money order.
Steps to Take to Renew Your License
Gather the necessary documentation such as:
- Proof of identity
- Social security card
If your name has changed since you received your last license, a proof of the change will also be required to provide evidence of name change such as: A marriage certificate or Court house document to prove that the name change is valid. Or if your address has changed at least 2 proofs of the new address will be required.
Gettng your Alaska Learner’s Permit
Requirements to Get a Learner’s Permit
The applicant must be at least 14 years of age, have parental consent, and provide appropriate documents such as: Social security card, proof of identity, proof of Alaskan residency, proof of address, and a filled out parental consent form. The applicant must then pass a written knowledge test consisting of 20 question, 16 of which must be correct to pass. A vision test will also be reqired. A road test will come later after holding the learners’ permit for an allotted time frame. After successfully completing the road test, an applicant will be eligible to receive a full privilege, non-restricted Alaska driver’s license.
Driving with a Alaska Learner’s Permit
The new driver must always be accompanied by another driver 21+ years of age with at least 1 year of driving experience in a similar vehicle. This person must always be seated beside you. Any person under the age of 18 must wait a minimum of 6 months to receive a provisional license. After receiving this license the new driver is not allowed to drive between the hours of 1:00am and 5:00am unless going to or from work or accompanied by another driver 21+ years of age with a valid Alaska driver’s license for the same category of vehicle. Get more information on the Alaska learner’s Permit at http://www.dmvcheatsheets.com