Applying For Your Virginia Driver’s License
You must be sixteen years, three months old to obtain a Virginia driver’s license. Whenever you apply, you must show two proofs of ID, one proof of legal presence in the US and one proof of residency. You must also show proof of your social security number.
A complete list of acceptable documentation for the above can be found here or in the $CSLINK. All documents must be originals and some may be subject to verification.
If you are transferring from out-of-state and have a valid driver’s license you can exchange it for a Virginia license. If you are 16 and three months but younger than 19, you will need to also provide proof of residency and completion of a driver’s ed course.
If you are under age 18, your parent, custodial parent or legal guardian must provide written consent by signing your application. A court order showing that you are an emancipated minor is acceptable in lieu of written consent.
You must also provide a driver education completion certificate or show proof of your successful completion of a state-approved driver education program. The driver education certificate of completion is considered part of the driver’s license application. Your parent, guardian or foster parent must list his or her driver’s license or state-issued identification card number and sign the certificate to certify that you have driven at least 45 hours,15 of which occurred after sunset, and that the statements made and the information submitted on the certificate are true and correct. Certifying false statements can result in prosecution.
You must provide proof that you completed a state-approved driver education course and you must hold a driver’s learner’s permit for at least nine months before you can get your license.
Over 18 But Never Licensed?
If you are older than 19, you must take a state-approved drivers test and hold a learner’s permit for at least 30 days before taking your road test. You will be required to take your written test to get your learner’s permit.
A license is valid for 8 years unless younger than 18, where your license will expire on your 20th birthday. The license is $4.00 per year so your fee will rang from $12 to $32.
The Written Test
The two-part knowledge exam is given in English or Spanish on a computer and tests your knowledge of traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. Exam questions are taken from information in the Virginia Driver’s Manual.
The Virginia DMV Cheat Sheet contains
The "Virginia DMV Cheat Sheet" will teach you everything you need to know to pass your written test in just FOUR pages guaranteed!