South Dakota Driver's License Info, Driver's License Handbook, DMV Test
(excerpts from the South Dakota DOT)
New Residents to South Dakota
To obtain a South Dakota Driver License you will go to a South Dakota Exam Station and submit an application. You will need to take your out of state license and one (1) other form of Identification. The application and the out of state license will be given to the examiner. The examiner will check to make sure you have valid driving privileges in all states and you will be given a vision screening. When both are completed and passed you will be issued a South Dakota license that will be valid for five (5) years. The cost of the license is $8.00.
Who Can Obtain a South Dakota Driver’s License?
Any South Dakota resident who operates a motor vehicle or motor-driven cycle on public roadways in South Dakota is required to have a driver license. You are required to have a South Dakota driver license if you live here for more than 90 days. If you are a commercial driver license holder, you must apply for a South Dakota license within 30 days. The following people can drive on a valid license from their home state, so long as they are at least 16 years old. South Dakota law (SDCL 32-12-39) states that every licensee shall have their Drivers License in their immediate possession at all times when operating a motor vehicle.
What Do You Need To Get A South Dakota Driver’s License?
- Proof of name and age (original only)
- Proof of residency (original only)
- South Security number
- Pass written, road and vision test (the easiest way to pass the written test is with the $CSLINK)
- Parental approval if under 18 years old
What Is The Written Test Like?
The written test for the South Dakota driver’s license consists of 25 questions. You must answer 80% of them correctly (20 questions) to pass the test.
If you don't pass your written test we will REFUND you 100% of your purchase with us.