Kentucky Learner's Permit Information, DMV Study Guide
(Excerpts from the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet)
Obtaining A Kentucky Learner Permit
Kentucky has a three phase graduated license program for those 16 years of age and older. If you are under 18, parental consent is required. The three phase are:
- Permit Phase (passing the written and vision test required!)
- Intermediate License Phase
- Full, Unrestricted License
You must be 16 years of age to apply for a permit. Applying requires taking the written and vision test, so make sure you bring your $CSLINK so you can quickly review while waiting for your turn! Permit holders must drive with a licensed driver over 21 in the passenger seat. If you are under 18, you cannot drive between midnight and 6am. If you receive a moving violation, you need to restart the 180 day waiting period. Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is subject to the states “Zero Tolerance” law, so don’t ever drink and drive. You are also subject to the KY point system, which could raise your insurance rates and result in losing your right to drive.
Intermediate License Phase.
Once you have completed 60 hours of practice driving, 10 at night, you can apply for your Intermediate License. When applying, if you are under 18 you need to take a road test to prove your skills. If you are 18 or older, you can skip this phase and go right to a full, unrestricted license. The restrictions on an Intermedia License are:
- No driving between midnight and 6am.
- No more than 1, unrelated person under 20 years old in the car.
If you receive a moving violation you will need to restart the 180 day Intermediate Phase waiting period.
During this phase, you just complete one of the following to obtain a full, unrestricted license:
- Graduated Licensing Course (Free 4 hour course provided by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet in the drivers home county)
- High School Drivers Education Course or a similar course offered by a Kentucky Community College, Vocational School or Job Corps.
- Private Driver Training course at a Division of Driver License approved driver training school.
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited. All drivers under the age of 21 are subject to “Zero Alcohol Tolerance” (Defined as .02 Blood Alcohol Concentration). A driver under the age of 18 who accumulates more than 6 points may have their driving privilege suspended. No serious moving violations for those under the age of 18. Buckle Up, it’s the Law! Everyone in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt at all times.
If you don't pass your written test we will REFUND you 100% of your purchase with us.