Texas Child Passenger Safety Law Requirements
When you are traveling with children, drivers should be take care of seat belt safety laws, especially in Texas, as they are quite strict about these rules when it comes to taking care of children. Every year road accidents have been increasing and the first target is the young kids if safety rules are not followed properly. Children ageds 4 -8 years of age are said to suffer spinal cord, head or internal organ injuries when they meet with accidents. Whether your child is an infant or an 8 year old kid, you will have provisions for ensuring security and safety of your kid when you are driving with them. It is not legal to allow a child below 8 years to ride in the front seat. All rear facing seats are prohibited from using it on the front side. It is very essential to know what the child safety rules are, as per the Texas DMV before you start riding your little kid in the car.
Importance of Child Safety System
There is a strong reason why Texas is stressing so much on the child safety system. The injury and choking hazards have been increasing almost every day due to improper usage of child safety system. It is highly quintessential to use the right restraint for your kids’ age, weight and height. When you meet with an accident, the force from the car crush might increase the risk of hurting your kid and if the common seat belts are used it might be too small for the child or may not fit appropriately at all.
Likewise, seat belts are the first line of defense for your children if child safety system is used appropriately. If seat belts are not used, when a car is met with accident then there is a higher risk that your child might be thrown out of the window or hit against the dashboard. Hence, when the vehicle is in motion, it is always advised to wear seat belts every time when your vehicle is in motion without fail.
H2. Child Safety System enforced by Texas DMV
A child safety system or the infant restraint system is the child career or the car seat as you most commonly call them, should meet the Federal standards. They should be crash tested according to the standards set by National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. You can also go here to get your car seat checked.
Child passenger restraint law varies depending upon the age, height and weight of the child.
Best practice recommendations are below:
- Rear facing seats for kids from 0 to 35 pounds until they are 2+ year old.
- Forward facing seats for children above 2 years as long as they are between 40-80+ pounds until they are 4+ year old.
- Booster seats with adult lap and shoulder belt are preferred to children above 4 years and around 40+ pounds.
- Adult safety belt usually for children between 10-12 years and 4’9”
Fine for Violation
Even a small traffic violation can lead you to pay huge fines. As in any other traffic rules violation, Texas child safety violation is also associated with fine. Any children less than or equal to 7 years of age and less than 57 inches are not permitted to wear adult seat belts with a fine of $25 minimum and the maximum price is not listed.
Texas: Requirements for Child Passenger Safety
Children who are 8 years or less and less than 4’ 9” height, need to be properly seated in the child safety car seat whenever they ride in the vehicle. The child’s guardian should make sure that the safety system is appropriately installed as per the instruction manual and certified by the local police or the traffic board before your kid rides in the passenger car seat. If you own a day care and have your own child transport facility, then you should still follow the child safety rules strictly as per Texas laws.
You can read more about Texas laws for child passenger safety here
Vehicles such as taxi, hired shuttles, public transport such as bus, limousines, etc where the seats well equipped with safety belts are exempt from this safety law for the child passengers.
If you are wondering whether your child is safe to sit in those car safety seats or not, then make your child sit in one of those car seats without the booster seat against the backside of the vehicle seat. Make sure the shoulder strap is over the shoulder and collarbone and not on the neck or face. The seat belt should lay below the hips. Above all, your child should maintain the right seated position with the seat belt in its appropriate place. You may not need the booster seat in this case if all these conditions are met. Once your child reaches 13 years of age, then he or she is eligible to sit in the front seat, however, make sure that they wear the seat belt for protection.