I Just Moved to Missouri. How Do I Transfer My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
When you’re ready to move to the Show-Me State, you need to make sure you have your affairs in order. Before you can officially call Missouri home, you need to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license and out-of-state vehicle registration to the state of Missouri. Use this guide to help you transfer your out-of-state documents to Missouri.
What Documents Are Required to Transfer Your Out-of-State Driver’s License to Missouri?
In order to successfully transfer your out-of-state driver’s license to the state of Missouri, you will need the following documents and payment(s):
Proof of identity
Date of lawful status
Proof of social security number
Proof of MO residential address
Fee of $10 (under 21 or older than 70 years old) or $20 (ages 21-69)
Be advised that you will be charged a convenience fee of $1.25 if you are paying by a credit or debit card.
What Steps Do You Need to Take to Transfer Your Out-of-State Driver’s License to Missouri?
First, you must transfer your out-of-state driver’s license once you establish residency in the state of Missouri at your local Department of Revenue office.
Next, you are required to provide proof of identity and residency in the state of Missouri. You must also pass the MO written test, driving test, and vision test. Once you pass these test, you need to pay all applicable MO fees for your Class F MO driver’s license and $13.50 for 3 years or $19.50 for 6 years. If you are 18 years old or younger, you need to complete the MO DOR graduated driver’s licensing (GDL) program.
Missouri Vision Screening
In the state of Missouri, you are not required to obtain 20/20 vision to receive a driver’s license. In Missouri, you need to have 20/40 in both eyes, 55º in each eye or 85º in one eye. If you have between 20/40 and 20/160 vision, you are required to see a vision specialist before you can attempt to pass the Missouri vision screening.
Missouri Written Exam
The Missouri driver’s license written exam has 25 multiple-choice questions, and you must answer at least 20 questions correctly to receive a score of 80% to pass the test. This test covers traffic sign identification and meanings, warning signs, traffic sign colors and shapes, speed limit signs, regulatory signs, and more. You are also expected to understand pavement markings, such as dual-use lanes and solid or broken yellow lines.
Missouri Road Test
The Missouri road test determines how well you can maneuver a motor vehicle while following the traffic signs and laws in the state. You will need to know how to park, turn, properly use your turn signals, and obey all Missouri traffic laws and signs.
Now that you’re aware of the steps you need to take to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license to the state of Missouri, we can discuss transferring your out-of-state vehicle registration to the same state.
Registering Your Vehicle In Missouri
All vehicles in Missouri must be registered with the Missouri Department of Revenue (MO DOR) in order to legally operate a motor vehicle on Missouri’s roads and highways. Titling and registering your vehicle will be completed simultaneously in this state.
New Residents of Missouri
As a new resident of Missouri, you must title and register your vehicle with DOR within 30 days of establishing residency in Missouri. You will also need to obtain a statement of non-assessment that shows you do not owe state taxes, which can be obtained at any county collector’s office, or the city collector’s office if you are residing in St. Louis.
In order to complete your vehicle titling and registration process in Missouri, you need to visit your local licensing office and:
Present ownership documentation for your vehicle, such as the vehicle’s title or the vehicle’s previous state registration. If you still owe money on the vehicle and a lien holder is in possession of the vehicle’s title, you need to contact the lien holder to get the title, so you can complete the MO vehicle registration process. Call (573) 526-3669 if for some reason you aren’t able to obtain the out-of-state vehicle title or vehicle registration.
Submit a signed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form DOR-108)
Provide proof of a valid MO auto insurance policy
Submit your statement of non-assessment from the county collector’s office (city collector in St. Louis).
Present your Missouri safety and/or inspection documents, if applicable. (this inspection can’t be more than 60 days old)
Submit your vehicle identification number (VIN) and odometer inspection
Pay all applicable MO vehicle titling, tax, and processing fees
Registering Your Vehicle in Missouri
When you purchase a new vehicle in the state of Missouri, you have 30 days to register the vehicle or risk paying late fees and penalties. Whether you purchase a vehicle from a dealership or individual (private sale), you must submit the required documentation in person at your local MO licensing office.
In order to register your vehicle in Missouri, you need to submit the following documents to your local MO licensing office:
Proof of ownership documents
Properly completed vehicle title certificate (for used vehicles from a dealership or private party)
Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (for new cars purchased from a dealership)
Application for Missouri Title and License (Form DOR-108)
Vehicle identification number (VIN) and odometer inspection certificates (for out-of-state vehicles) A current safety inspection from a Missouri authorized inspection station will cover this requirement.
Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form 3019) - This form is only required for vehicles that are 20 years old or newer.
A notarized Notice of Lien, Lien Release, or Authorization to Add/Remove Name from Title (Form DOR-4809) If you have paid off the loan on the vehicle
A vehicle safety and/or emissions inspection certificate (if applicable for your vehicle)
Payment for all applicable MO vehicle taxes and fees
Temporary Vehicle Registration Permit
If you are purchasing a new vehicle that has not been registered, or a vehicle that doesn’t have license plates to be transferred, you must get a temporary MO vehicle registration permit to legally operate the vehicle. An MO temporary vehicle registration is valid for 30 days. Within 30 days, you must have your vehicle permanently registered with the state of Missouri.
You can receive a temporary vehicle registration permit from your local MO licensing office or from the car dealership where you purchased the vehicle. Although a car dealership can issue temporary vehicle tags, they will not submit the paperwork for the vehicle title and registration. You are responsible for submitting the required paperwork on your own.
Once you purchase your vehicle, you need to visit your local MO license off and:
Submit any of the following documentation:
Present the safety inspection (must be less than 60 days old) You are not required to present the safety inspection document if:
You have a Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin
You are a resident of a different state, transporting the vehicle back to your home state
The temporary permit is for a trailer
Provide proof of a valid MO auto insurance policy or proof of financial responsibility
Pay the $5 temporary permit fee and $6 processing fee
You need to attach the temporary vehicle permit in the back window of your vehicle, and ensure it is visible and secure. Failure to have your vehicle inspected within 30 days will result in a $25 late fee for every 30 days, up to $200.
Missouri Registration Fees
The vehicle registration fees in the state of Missouri vary based on table horsepower or weight of the vehicle. The vehicle’s processing fees, title fees, and taxes are also due at the same time. The fees shown below are valid for one year. If you prefer to register your vehicle for two year, you will pay for both years simultaneously.
There are processing fees for registering and titling your vehicle in Missouri. Both of these fees are due when you register your vehicle.
Vehicle Registration Processing
1 year: $6.
2 years: $12.
Titling Fee and Processing
Title fee: $14.50 (includes the initial registration and titling processing fee: $6).
Passenger Missouri Vehicles Registration Fees
The taxable horsepower of a car determines the cost of the vehicle registration fee.
Horsepower (HP)/1-Year Fee
Less than 12 HP: $18.25.
12-23 HP: $21.25.
24-35 HP: $24.25.
36-47 HP: $33.25.
48-59 HP: $39.25.
60-71 HP: $45.25.
72 HP and over: $51.25.
Your vehicle’s taxes are due when you register your vehicle for the first time. You will pay a 4.225% tax on the cost of your vehicle, plus whatever local sales tax your residing MO county charges.
If you purchased your vehicle in a different state, and have had it less than 90 days, you must pay the difference between the sales tax in the state where the vehicle was purchased and the sales tax in Missouri.
Inspection Requirements In Missouri
The state of Missouri requires vehicles that exceed 10 years old, and whenever there is a change of ownership, to have a vehicle inspection. If a change in ownership has not occurred, you must follow the normal inspection laws for Missouri. Your vehicle must be inspected at an MO authorized inspection station.
Missouri Safety Inspections
If your vehicle is over five years old, they must have a safety inspection performed in order to maintain their vehicle registration. Vehicles with even numbered model years must be inspected in even numbered years. Vehicles with odd numbered model years are inspected in odd numbered years. Depending on the year, you may be required to have a safety inspection performed before registering your vehicle for the first time.
Missouri Smog and Emissions Inspections
Emissions inspection are required for all vehicles that are registered in the city of St. Louis or the following Missouri counties:
If you reside in either of the above-listed counties, make sure you follow the correct registration procedures to avoid possible penalties and fees.
Missouri Department of Revenue Locations
There are different Department of Revenue locations in Missouri that allow you to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license and out-of-state vehicle registration.
Missouri Department of Revenue - Jefferson City Office
301 W High St
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Monday - Friday (8 AM to 5 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)
Missouri Department of Revenue - Bridgeton Office
11977 Saint Charles Rock Rd
Bridgeton, MO 63044
Monday - Friday (7:30 AM to 5 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)
Missouri Department of Revenue - Saint Louis Office
4628 S Kingshighway Blvd
Saint Louis, MO 63109
Monday - Friday (7:30 AM to 6 PM)
Saturday (8 AM to 2 PM)
- I Just Moved to Missouri. How Do I Transfer My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Wisconsin. How Do I Get My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Arizona. How Do I Transfer My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Maryland. How Do I Get My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Colorado. How Do I Transfer My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration
- All Articles