Since 2008 we have helped tens of thousands of people quickly and easily pass their DMV written test.
Whether you are a first time driver getting your permit or just need to renew your license, our material can help. We offer super quick "print and go" cheat sheets as well as more inclusive online practice test questions and answers.
The old adage of "you get what you paid for" is especially true in online education. Every month, our editors are working to add and improve the questions and material we offer, as well as keeping it updated. It takes significant time and money to ensure you get the very best study material available so that you are guaranteed to pass on the first try.
New Oklahoma Drivers License
Who Needs a License?
Anyone over the age of 16 wishing to operate a motor vehicle on public roads in Oklahoma must first complete the license application process. This includes new drivers, minors working towards a first license and new residents to the state. Depending on your age and what type of vehicle you intend to drive, there are several drivers’ license options available:
- For minors between the age of 16 and 18, you will apply for your intermediate license after driving with your learners permit for a minimum of six months
- Adult first-time drivers and new residents to the state will apply for a Class D license, allowing you to operate a motor vehicle for private use on public roads
- Those wishing to drive a vehicle for a living transporting either goods or passengers must apply for a Commercial Drivers License
- If you wish to drive a motorcycle, moped or motorized bicycle on public roads, you will need to first obtain your motorcycle license
What are the Requirements for getting a License?
In order to receive any type of permit or license, you must complete the application process at your local Department of Motor Vehicles branch office. Each license has a unique process but there are a few general requirements for all types of licenses you must complete:
- All new drivers must show the required proof of identity and legal presence in the US, as well as a birth certificate with your full legal name.
- You must pass a vision exam and show proof of insurance at the time of application
- Pass a written test and if under the age of 18 or applying for a special license such as a CDL a road test
- Pay the required fee of $21.50 plus a $4.00 application fee with a check, money order or cash
What Tests do I need to take to get a License?
The type of tests you are required to take will depend on your age and type of license you are applying for. All types of licenses have a written test that will consist of 50 multiple choice questions taken directly from the OK Drivers Manual. The manual also provides detailed information about the testing process and what to expect from the questions on your test. Minors are required to take addition tests during the process including the learners permit test. You can find accurate practice tests with commonly found questions on the written test. Minors and special license applicants will also be required to take a road test as the final step in the application process.
Taking a Drivers Education Course
Driver’s education for minors assists with additional training behind the wheel to assure that they are fully prepared to be safe drivers on the road. It is required by the state of Oklahoma that all persons applying for a first license complete a basic drivers education course before applying for any type of license. You can download the appropriate study materials and practice tests directly from www.oklahomadriverslicense.org or by visiting www.dmvcheatsheets.com directly and locating the materials for your state.
Preparing for the Written Test
There are several effective ways to prepare for the written test. All 50 multiple-choice questions are taken directly from the OK Drivers Manual and will cover traffic laws and regulations, safe driving practices and drug and alcohol laws. Study your driver’s manual several times to assure you have a complete understanding of these aspects of driving. You can find additional study materials and practice tests at www.dmvcheatsheets.com with materials taken directly from your driver’s manual. The practice tests cover over 100 of the commonly found test questions and come complete with an answer sheet so that you may learn from your testing mistakes before taking the actual test.
Scheduling an Appointment
If you wish to have the written test administered to you orally, you must schedule an appointment in advance otherwise all other services are on a walk-in basis only. In addition, your road test will be administered by appointment with an approved road skills test administrator.
What to Bring on Test Day?
When you arrive to take your written test at the DMV, you will need to bring with you proof of identity and your birth certificate. A complete list of acceptable proof can also be found in your OK Drivers Manual. If under 18, you must also bring proof that you are enrolled in school, graduated or exempt from the program and your certificate showing successful completion of an approved basic driver’s education course. You will also need the appropriate fee for a Class D license in a check, cash or money order.
Proof of Insurance
All new drivers are required to present proof that they have liability insurance upon applying for a driver’s license, even if they are not registering a vehicle. Oklahoma has strict laws regarding insurance for drivers, so you can find the minimum liability amounts listed in your drivers manual.
Taking the Driving Test
The driving test is the most commonly failed portion of the application process due to a lack of preparation and nerves. You can avoid this by studying your OK Drivers Manual, paying close attention during your basic driver’s education course and using the study materials and practice tests available to you for a good grasp of laws, rules and regulations in Oklahoma.
The test is administered by an approved road skills test administrator and you will be graded on a point system. You will demonstrate properly control of your vehicle and your knowledge of common road signs and laws by driving a pre-designated route on public roads accompanied by your administrator.
Taking the Written Test
The written test is comprised of 50 multiple-choice questions taken from the materials found in your OK Drivers Manual so it is essential you obtain a copy and read through all of the material several times. www.dmvcheatsheets.com also supplies detailed cheat sheets covering the material found in your manual. You can take multiple practice tests as well, which are created from actual questions found on the written test. Check your answers and study the materials you are struggling to remember in more detail. Do not attempt the actual written test until you are comfortable with the material and confident you will pass with at least an 80% score.
Renewing your Oklahoma Driver’s License
Who Needs to Renew their License?
Your Oklahoma driver’s license expires every 4 years on the month you received it and it can be renewed anytime within that month. Anyone wishing to continue operating a motor vehicle on public roads must renew their license.
How do I renew my OK License?
You may renew your license in person at your local DMV branch. For persons who meet the qualifications, you may also renew by mail or online. You may make an appointment for a renewal in person and come prepared to show your birth certificate and other required proofs for renewal. You will also be required to pay the $21.50 renewal fee at this time.
Preparing to renew my Oklahoma Drivers License
If you are a male between the age of 18 and 25, you must assure that you are registered with the selective services before attempting to renew your license. Come prepared with the proper form of payment for your 21.50$ renewal fee and assure you have your birth certificate, current license and proper proofs for your renewal process.
Steps to Renew your License
Depending on the way in which you renew there are several steps you must take:
- For renewal online, you can use the online checklist and application link listed on www.oklahoma.org to begin the process. Follow the prompts to complete and submit your renewal application and pay the fee by credit or debit card.
- For qualified mail renewals, you will need to send a letter to the address listed on the DMV website. Included in this letter must be your full name, date of birth and driver license number. You must provide the out of state address to which you are staying and two copies of proof of identification. Your payment can be sent by check only.
- In person, make an appointment by calling your local DMV branch and bring with you your current drivers license, birth certificate and proofs of identification. Your fee may be paid by check, cash or money.
Getting an Oklahoma Learners Permit
Who needs a Learners Permit?
All residents of Oklahoma between the ages of 15 ½ and 18 years old will be required to obtain a learners permit as part of the graduated license program.
Requirements to getting a Learners Permit
In order to qualify for a learners permit, applicants must be at least 16 years old and have parental permission to drive. The parent must accompany you on the day you apply and sign the application. You must first complete a basic driver’s education and provide proof of completion when you apply. In addition, you will be required to submit your birth certificate and two forms of identification. You will take the written learners permit test and must pass in order to continue. There is a $25.00 fee that must be paid at this time in the form of check, cash or money order.
Driving with an OK Learners Permit
The learners permit gives you permission to practice driving for a 6 month period and you must be accompanied by a licensed driver over the age of 21 at all times. You must complete 50 hours of practice time on the road, 10 of which must be night driving. You and your supervised driver will log your progress in the OK Drivers Manual. Practice as much as possible, as it will take at least 15 minutes of drive-time per day to reach the requirement of 50 hours in six months. Use everyday activities such as driving to and from school or church and running errands as an opportunity for driving practice.
Cost of an Oklahoma Learners Permit
There is a $25.00 fee for the learners permit and it can be paid by check, cash or money at the time of application.
Steps to getting an Oklahoma Learners Permit
To receive your learners permit, you must follow the state designated steps of application as part of the graduated license program:
- Appear in person at your local DMV branch, accompanied by a parent or legal guardian
- Fill out the learners permit application and await your turn. When called, provide the application signed by your parent along with your birth certificate and two accepted forms of identification to the clerk. In addition, you must provide proof you have completed the basic driver’s education to apply.
- You must then pass a vision screen and take your written learners permit test. The test will consist of 50 multiple choice questions based on the information found in the OK Drivers Manual so be sure to study in advance. You must be able to pass with an 80% score or higher to receive your permit.
- Once you have passed all of the tests and your identity is verified, you may pay your $25.00 fee and receive your learners permit.
Visit: www.dmvcheatsheets.com more information on your learner’s permit.