The mission of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC or DMV) is "To promote motor vehicle safety for our citizens by delivering secure, effective and professional motor vehicle services, and to achieve public trust and confidence in the quality and integrity of those services." The NJ MVC is responsible for licensing, violations, inspections and commercial and motorcycle licenses.
Since 2008 we have helped tens of thousands of people quickly and easily pass their DMV written test.
Whether you are a first time driver getting your permit or just need to renew your license, our material can help. We offer super quick "print and go" cheat sheets as well as more inclusive online practice test questions and answers.
The old adage of "you get what you paid for" is especially true in online education. Every month, our editors are working to add and improve the questions and material we offer, as well as keeping it updated. It takes significant time and money to ensure you get the very best study material available so that you are guaranteed to pass on the first try.
New Drivers License in New Jersey
Who needs a Drivers License?
Anyone wishing to operate a motorized vehicle in the State of New Jersey must first obtain a license. This can be for personal, business or recreational use. New residents to the state must also apply for a license within 60 days of moving to the area. Begin the process by applying for the appropriate license at your local DMV office.
Which License is for you?
- Basic Drivers License- This license is to operate a person vehicle. All new drivers and residents over 21 moving to New Jersey will need to apply for this type.
- First-Time Drivers- Drivers applying for the Early-bird license are 16 years old, and those applying for a young adult license are between 17 and 21 years old.
- Other non-commercial Drivers License- These types include motorized bicycles, mopeds, agricultural, snowmobile and All-terrain (ATV) licenses. For water sports, you may also apply for a boat or Jet Ski license.
- Motorcycle- This will allow you to operate a motorcycle on public roads.
- Commercial Drivers License- If you intend to operate a vehicle as an occupation transportation passengers or materials in state you will need a specific CDL.
What are the Requirements for getting a License?
In order to obtain any license or permit from the New Jersey DMV, you must pass the 6-point-ID Verification Program. Each document for verification from the selected categories is given a point value and successful completion will total six or more points. Some common examples of this are:
- Your certified Birth Certification is worth 4 points from the Citizenship category
- Your Social Security Card is worth one-point in the secondary category
You can download the complete PDF guide to this system from the DMV online pamphlet. In addition, all drivers’ license applications must pass a vision test; specific tests associated with the license type and pay the fees.
What Tests do I need to get a License?
All applicants that are required to take the written exam must pass the computerized knowledge test with an 80% or higher. This is a fifty question multiple choice test on laws, rule and regulations taken directly from the New Jersey Drivers Manual. Additional manuals are available to assist parents with first-time teen drivers. First time drivers will also need to pass the road test to be deemed a safe driver.
All applicants must also pass the vision test with at least 20/50 vision in one or both eyes.
If you are required to take the road test you can make an appointment in advance online. The test will take approximately 10 to 15 minutes and you must pass in order to receive your driver’s license. If you fail, you must wait two weeks before testing again.
Taking a Drivers Education Course
Teenage drivers between 16 and 17 years old must enroll in a Drivers Education Program hosted by a licensed driving school. There are over 50 approved schools to choose from listed on the DMV website.
Preparing for the Written Tests
The best way to begin preparing for your written test is to study the New Jersey Drivers Manual. All fifty (50) multiple choice questions are generated from the information found in this manual, as well as within informative cheat sheets created from DMVcheatsheets.com. You can read online articles full of tips on successfully passing the test on your first try. Many practice tests will allow you access your progress as you study to determine weak areas that need more study.
Scheduling an Appointment
Appointments are taken on a walk-in basis only at your local DMV office. However, you must schedule your road test online in advance.
What to bring on Test Day
The day of testing, you will need to bring the following documents with you when it is your turn:
- Documents proving your identity, citizenship and residency to pass the 6-point-ID Verification Program.
- Your completed Drivers license application
- If you are a minor, you will also need to bring your certificate of completion from an approved Drivers Education Program and your driving log found in the teen drivers signed by a licensed driver over the age of 25.
- The licensing fees of $24 dollars for a standard auto license or $33 dollars for the six-year program but money order check or cash.
Costs of Drivers License
Each type of license has specific fees associated with it. A standard driver’s license will cost $24 for your first and $24 dollars every five years after for renewal.
Proof of Insurance
While insurance is not required in order to receive your driver’s license, if you intend to register a vehicle with the DMV, you will be required to obtain three types of insurance. These include Liability Insurance, Personal Injury Protection and Uninsured motorist coverage.
Taking the Driver’s Test
The road test is the most anticipated test during the license process. Your examiner may fail you if you are deemed to be unsafe or not ready to get behind the wheel so it is important to use all of your practice time to assure this doesn’t happen. This test consists of essential aspects of driving including:
- Stopping at the right signs, and the ability to stop smoothly
- How you deal with nearing corners and intersections, as well as turning left and right
- Sitting and properly steering the wheel for safety
- Your ability to drive in reverse and Parallel Park
- How you properly deal with yielding the right-of-way, including emergency vehicles and school buses
Taking the Written Test
The computerized knowledge test consists of 50 multiple-choice questions on laws, rules and regulations taken directly from the Drivers Manual. Studying your manual several times will help assure that you have a grasp of the common aspects of safe driving needed to pass. Download the cheat sheets for New Jersey available on dmvcheatsheets.com for additional information regarding the written test and traffic laws. The practice tests found online will assist you in testing your progress so that you can avoid a failure.
Renewing your New Jersey Drivers License
How do I renew my NJ driver’s license?
All drivers must renew their license in order to continue driving on the road, including those licenses used for commercial work and off-road recreational purposes. Your driver’s license will expire every four years on your birthday and it is important to renew on time to avoid penalties. You must renew in person at your local DMV branch during office hours or by mail. You will receive a notification a few months before your expiration date with an attached optional form to renew by mail.
What Tests do I need to take to renew?
All renewals must take a vision test before completing the renewal process. No additional testing is required if you renew before your birthday. Any license over 3 years expired will be required to retake the vision, computerized knowledge test and road test.
Preparing to renew my New Jersey Drivers License
You can skip the trip and renew your license by mail by simply filling out the invitation you receive in the mail and returning it with a check for your appropriate fee. If you receive a letter stating you can skip the trip and renewal by mail, you will not be required to show any other form of identification. Before visiting your branch office for renewal, gather together your expiring license and completed renewal form. You will need to bring required proof of identity, citizenship and residency meeting with the 6-point-ID Verification Program. Be prepared to pay your processing fees and take the vision test.
What is the Cost to renew my license?
Renewal fees will depend on your type of license. Standard Class D driver’s licenses have a $24 fee for renewal every 4 years but the renewal fee is waived for those holding a six year license. The DMV accepts Cash, check, money order or credit cards.
Steps to renew your license
Once you arrive at your local DMV branch and await your turn, you will need to present the clerk with the letter of renewal mailed to you. Follow these steps to renewal:
- Turn in your required proofs for the 6-point-ID and your expiring license.
- Take the vision test and a new photograph
- Pay the appropriate fees if applicable at the clerk’s desk when completed. Your new license will arrive in the mail.
Getting a New Jersey Learners Permit
Who needs a learners permit?
Any new driver between the ages of 16 and 18 must obtain a learners permit in order to begin practicing for a driver’s license. In addition, special commercial and non-commercial licenses require additional permits include moped and motorcycles.
Requirements to Getting a Learners Permit
In order to receive a driving permit, minors must be at least 16 years old. You must provide proof of citizenship, residency and identification satisfying the 6-point-ID Verification Program. A letter of permission form a legal parent or guardian is also required at the time of application for those 16 years old. A letter is not required for 17 to 21 year old new applicants. In addition you will be required to:
- Pass the Vision and Knowledge test
Driving with a NJ Learners Permit
You will are required to be enrolled in an approved Drivers Education Program if you have received your permit at age 16 so a portion of your driving practice will be with a trained instructor. A licensed driver at least 21 years of age that has a held a New Jersey license for at least three years must accompany you while practicing on the road. One additional passenger may accompany you while driving but the supervising adult must be in the front seat. You will be required to practice with a learners permit for at least 6 months before testing for a license. Restricted hours are between 11:01 pm and 5:00 am during which times you must not drive for any reason. Parents and teens can download the Safe Driving full of lesson plans and tips, as well as your driving log.
Cost of a New Jersey Learners Permit
The standard fees for a learners permit are $10 for a new permit and they are valid for two years.
Steps to getting a New Jersey Learners Permit
Applying for a permit can be an easy process if you are prepared in advance:
- Visit your local MVC agency during business hours
- Pass the computerized knowledge test with an 80% score. You can study in advance your Drivers’ Manual as well as cheat sheets www.dmvcheatsheets.com .
- Pass the vision test
- Bring with you proofs of identity, citizenship and residency meeting the 6-point-ID Verification Program
- You will also need to present a signed letter of permission from a legal guardian or parent and proof of enrollment in an approved Drivers Education Program
- Pay your $10 dollar fee and receive your reflector decals to be placed on the front and back of the vehicle you will be driving while in practice.