Vermont Driver's License Written Test
Study Material AvailableDMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Vermont Driver's License Written Test.
- Vermont DMV Cheat Sheet
- Vermont DMV Online Practice Test
New Vermont Drivers License
Who Needs a License?
When residents reach age 15, they may begin the process to receive a driver’s license, issuing permission to operate a number of vehicles on the road. The process begins and is completed at your local DMV branch office.
Which License is for you?
All new drivers for any type of license must first apply for and fulfill the requirements of a learners permit. There are several types of licenses available for you to choose from depending on your particular situation:
- A junior license is issued to young driver’s ages 16 to 17 years old. This is a personal use license similar to the regular license with several restrictions while minors become accustomed to driving.
- A regular license will be issued at all drivers ages 18 and older for personal vehicle use. New adult drivers and new residents must apply for this license.
- A mature license is issued to seniors in hopes to of allowing senior drivers to remain independent as long as possible but keep other drivers on the roadways safe. This is a regular license with restrictions similar to the junior license concept.
- Commercial Drivers license or CDL will allow drivers to operate specific commercial vehicles in order to earn an income.
- A motorcycle license allows drivers the excitement of operating a motorcycle on roadways and will be in the form of an endorsement on your regular license.
What are the Requirements for getting a License?
The state of Vermont is now in compliance with the federal REAL ID www.dmvcheatsheets.com act and will require specific documents to be presented to receive a license:
- You must prove identity include full legal name, date of birth and lawful status in the US.
- A social security card must be presented or approved documentation certifying you are legally allowed to reside in the US.
- Two documents proving state residency with a legal address are required.
Documents must meet state standards including being the original document. Lists of approved documents may be found in several locations including the DMV office, online at the website or in the Drivers Handbook.
What Tests do I need to get a License?
There are several tests during the license process you should prepare to take including:
- The vision test is issued to all new drivers to prove you can safely see to drive.
- The 20 question knowledge test will show you are able to recognize street signs and understand all Vermont traffic laws. 16 out of 20 questions must be answered correctly to pass the test.
- The driving test will show the state that you can handle yourself on roadways safely. Your ability to control a vehicle and obey traffic laws will be evaluated by a licensed examiner.
Taking a Drivers Education Course
All new drivers applying for a junior license must first complete driver’s education. The course must be approved and contain 30 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind the wheel training and six hours of observation on roadways. Those that successfully complete drivers training will be issued a wallet sized certification that will be presented later when applying for the license.
Preparing for the Written Test
Several excellent study materials are available to prepare for your written test including cheat sheets filled with detailed material you will need to know to pass, accompanied by practice tests to assure you are ready for testing. All materials can be found in both the PDF and interactive versions of the Drivers Handbook, as well as in hard copy found at your DMV office.
Study your manual and the materials found on www.dmvcheatsheets.com to assure a passing grade on the first try.
Scheduling an Appointment
You may schedule an appointment to take the tests in advance by calling your local DMV office or send an appointment request by email. You will receive a notice with a date, time and location for your test.
What to Bring on Test Day
You will need the following on the day of your written test:
- Two proofs of residency or for minors a parental affidavit of residency and a parent proof of the address.
- One document showing your legal name and birth date to prove identity and legal presence.
- A social security card or approved equivalent.
- A completed driver’s license application sign by you and your parent if you are under 18.
- Required corrective glasses or contacts for the vision test.
- The licensing and exam fees in the form of a check, cash or money order.
- Minors must also bring proof of completion of driver’s education and a completed driving log with required driving practice hours.
Costs of a Drivers Test
When applying for a license, applicants for a junior license will pay an $18 road test fee regardless of where the test was taken in addition to the $30 license fee. The exam fee also applies to the adult license. An adult license will cost $48 for a four year license or $30 for a two year.
Taking the Written Test
The written test will consist of 20 questions and is taken on the day you apply for a license. You must correctly answer 16 questions in order to pass and move on in the licensing process. Studying is essential to passing this test. Pay attention during driver’s education and read through your Drivers Handbook to fully understand the traffic laws expected of you while driving.
Additionally, it is wise to obtain cheat sheets and practice tests complete with all of the important information you need to know in order to pass the test. You may want to read through some helpful articles offering tips and teaching you what to expect on the DMV tests www.dmvcheatsheets.com.
Taking the Driving Test
A valid permit is required to take the test and cannot be more than 3 years expired. It is recommended that you complete at least 20 hours of driving practice before attempting this test, at least five should be during high traffic hours. If you fail the test you must wait one week before attempting a second time so be sure to get as much practice as possible. Depending on the place in which you choose to test, you will either be furnished a vehicle for testing or allowed to you a vehicle you supply. If you supply the vehicle it must be properly registered and have insurance. Rental cars are not allowed for testing.
Be as prepared as possible by assuring you know your traffic signs and the laws for Vermont regarding traffic. You can also read some helpful articles to assist you in passing www.dmvcheatsheets.com on the first try and avoiding a retake.
Renewing your Vermont Drivers License
Who needs to renew their license?
All residents that wish to continue legally operating a vehicle on Vermont roadways must renew their license within 30 days of expiration. Adult license are valid for 4 years.
How do I renew my VT License?
License renewals are done by mail or in person at the DMV office or local police station. If a renewal form is mailed to you, you may complete the form and return by mail to the DMV with the appropriate fees in the form of a check or money order. If a renewal form is not mailed, you must apply in person. A new photo must be taken every 8 years or every other renewal period.
What is the cost to renew my license?
License renewal costs depend on your expiration date and include $30 for a two year renewal and $40 dollars for a four year. Additional fees apply for a motorcycle endorsement. All fees can be paid with cash, check or money order.
Steps to renew your license
If your renewal notice is not received within 30 days of expiration, you will be required to renew in person at the DMV office. Come prepared to show two forms of identification, one may be your current license. You will also be required to retake a photo every eight years. A new application must also be filled out if required to apply in person.
The DMV will inform you of any required tests at the time of your visit. If your renewal form is mailed to you follow the steps provided including:
- Read through your instructions carefully and complete the included form.
- Prepare a check or money in the amount of your renewal fees and enclose in the envelope.
- Mail the form back to the DMV within 30 days of your license expiration and wait your new license to arrive in the mail.