Learner's Permit

Rhode Island Learner's Permit Test

The Rhode Island DMV is responsible for licenses, inspections, titles, registrations and the safety of Rhode Island citizens in regards to operating a motorized vehicle. Starting on Sept 2, 2008, written exams and road texts will only be given at the Pawtucket and Middletown branches.

You may use Rhode Island’s DMV website to reserve a vanity plate, renew your vehicle registration of obtain your license drivers record online.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Rhode Island Learner's Permit Test.
Sample
View sample
Sample
Georgia 2
Georgia 3
Georgia 4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Rhode Island DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Rhode Island driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Rhode Island DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Rhode Island DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the RI DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View sample
Sample
Georgia 4
Georgia 2
Georgia 3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Rhode Island DMV Cheat Sheet
  • Rhode Island DMV Online Practice Test
The Rhode Island DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Rhode Island DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the RI DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

Getting a Rhode Island Learners Permit

Who needs a learners permit?

There are two types of non-commercial learner’s permits www.dmvcheatsheets.com in the state and your age at the time of application will determine which you must apply for. Those between ages 16 and 18 must apply for a limited learners permit. Over 18 must apply for a standard instructional permit.

How old do I need to be get a learners permit

  • For a limited learners permit you must be at least 16 years old
  • A standard instructional permit is available for those over 18

Requirements for getting a learners permit

New applicants under age 18 must complete 33 hours of classroom driver’s education before qualifying for the learners permit, and must pass a computerized written test at the DMV during the application process. New drivers over 18 do not need driver’s education but still need to pass the written test in order to proceed. In addition, drivers of all ages will be required to take a vision test during the process.

Each new applicant must bring proper documentation to the DMV which will include:

  • An original birth certificate or approved alternative. Any document used from the list must show full legal name and date of birth and only originals will be accepted.
  • For minors, a driver’s education certificate of completion must also be presented.
  • All new applicants must provide a social security card or approved equivalent showing legal presence in the US or citizenship.
  • In addition, all new applicants must complete, sign and turn in a learners permit application. Minors must have a legal guardian or parent with them to accept responsibility for the new driver and give approval to begin the application process. The parent or legal guardian must sign the application in the presence of a DMV clerk.
  • Proper court documentation must be submitting proving legal guardianship of the minor at the time the signature is applied.
  • A $10 permit application fee is due at the time of application in the form of a check, cash or money order.

Driving with a Rhode Island learners permit

To practice on roadways, minors must have a licensed adult over the age of 21 with at least five years driving experience with them in the front seat at all times who is prepared to take responsibility for any accidents or violations the minor commits while driving. Drivers must hold a learners permit for at least 6 months before taking the road test portion of testing and completed the required behind the wheel practice time of 50 hours with at least ten during nighttime hours. A parent or guardian must fill out the driving log as you practice to certify you have successfully completed the requirements and the log will be required during the license process so be sure to complete your log as necessary.

While driving with a learner’s permit or provisional license, minors may not drive between 1am and 5am for safety.

Steps to getting a RI learners permit

All limited learners permit applicants must first complete a Drivers Education course and take the written exam issued. A certification of completion is required for the learners permit process. Once this has been obtained, visit your local DMV office and complete the following steps:

  • Submit an application that is completed and signed by the minor application. The parent must accompany them, sign the application and show identification.
  • You will be asked to supply documentation required for the process. This will include a birth certificate and social security card to prove your full legal name, birth date and legal presence in the US. Those without a social security card must provide proof of legal presence with an approved document.

Resources