New Mexico Learner's Permit Test
Study Material AvailableDMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the New Mexico Learner's Permit Test.
- New Mexico DMV Cheat Sheet
- New Mexico DMV Online Practice Test
Getting a New Mexico Learners Permit
Who needs a learners permit?
New drivers between the ages of 15 and 18 may apply for a learners permit at your local MVD branch office. All minors applying for a license are required to drive on a learners permit before proceeding to a graduated license to assist in preparing them for safe driving on the road.
Requirements to getting a Learners Permit
In order to apply for a learners permit, you must be at least 15 years old and a resident of New Mexico. You will be expected to provide proof of identity with a primary document, as well as additional identification from the secondary list. In addition you will need one proof of residency. Drivers under 18 must also provide proof of enrollment in a driver’s education course.
Driving with a NM Learners Permit
New drivers must use the learners permit for at least 6 months before applying for a driver’s license and this time will be extended 30 days for each traffic violation received. All practice driving must be done with the supervision of a licensed driver over the age of 21 that has held a valid license for 3 years. A minimum of 50 recorded hours of driving must be completed, 10 of which are to be at night.
Cost of a New Mexico Learners Permit
The cost of an instructional permit is $10 and it is good for two years.
Steps to Getting a New Mexico Learners Permit
In order to get your learners permit, you must apply in person at your local DMV branch office. Before beginning the process, download the online Drivers Manual and study the traffic laws, rules and regulations. Follow these steps for a quick and hassle free process:
Gather together all of your required documentation and make an appointment online at least one hour before the office closes to allow time for testing. Once prepared, you will follow these steps to apply:
- Visit the branch office at your scheduled time and fill out a learners permit application
- Provide the clerk with your application and proof for identity and residency. In addition, you will need documentation that you are enrolled in a driver’s education course.
- Pass the vision test, and take your permit written test www.dmvcheatsheets.com. You must receive a minimum score of 70% to continue.
- You will be issued a paper learners permit that expires two years from the date of issuing.