Driver's License

Maryland Driver's License Written Test

Study Material Available offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Maryland Driver's License Written Test.
List Price
Our Price
You Save
$3.00 (23%)
The Maryland DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Maryland driving written test.
Delivered Online

Available Immediately

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
List Price
Our Price
You Save
$5.00 (25%)
The Maryland DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Maryland DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the MD DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
Delivered Online

Available Immediately

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
List Price
Our Price
You Save
$12.95 (39%)
Included In Bundle
  • Maryland MVA Cheat Sheet
  • Maryland MVA Online Practice Test
The Maryland DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Maryland DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the MD DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
Delivered Online

Available Immediately

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.

New Maryland Drivers License

Who needs a license?

All New Drivers in the state and new residents must first obtain a driver’s license from the Motor Vehicle Administration.

Which License is for you?

  • Rookie Driver Program- the first step for teen drivers ages 15 years and 9 months old to begin preparing for behind the wheel driving. The goal is to slowly introduce young Maryland residents to the aspect of driving in stages to help built safe drivers for the future. The stages include a Learners Permit and several license stages. Provisional licenses are given starting at age 16 ½ years of age.
  • Class A, B and C non-commercial licenses are issued to all drivers for personal or recreation use. The majority of Maryland drivers apply for a Class A drivers license which pertains to any vehicle used for personal activity.
  • Class M- Allows the driver to operate a motor vehicle.
  • The type of commercial license applied for depends directly on the usage of the license. This can range from transporting passengers with Class P endorsement to materials with a TPXS endorsement.

What are the requirements for getting a license?

Maryland adheres to the Federal “Real ID”: program and uses a uniformed process of identification during all of its driver’s license applications. All required proofs must show the applicant’s full legal name and must be the same on every document provided. Please take action to assure that the names are correct before applying for a license to avoid delays in the process. No copies will be permitted for use in any case.

All applicants that are attempting to obtain a learners permit or Class A, B or M license are required to provide the following proofs at the time of testing and application:

  • One document that will provide applicants age and identity
  • A social security card or approved proof that they hold a valid SS card in the US. The proof must be an official document from approved issuers and contain all nine digits of the persons Social Security number as well as full legal name.
  • One document to prove they have lawful status in the US, usually in the form of a birth certificate from any US state. A birth certificate only may be used in multiple categories to prove both identity and status.
  • Two documents from the approved list must be provided to prove applicant is a resident of Maryland.
  • Applicants must pass a vision exam. The knowledge must be passed with a minimum score of 85% and new drivers must also pass a drivers test to complete the testing portion.
  • Pay the appropriate license fees, which are calculated based on the amount of years before renewal.

What tests do I need to take to get a license?

  • Visions tests are required for all drivers’ license applicants. The test may be performed at the local MVA office or by the new driver’s physician but a form must be turned in proving proper vision standards if completed in this manner.
  • The knowledge test will consist of between 20 and 25 questions, depending on the type of non-commercial license being applied for. A passing score of 85% is required in order to move onward to the next step of licensing. In most cases the test is timed and can be taken either on a computer in the DMV office or in written form. The type of questions will also depend on the type of license applied for.
  • The driver’s skill test is administered by appointment only and will combine demonstrations of the applicant’s abilities and knowledge. The tested is conducted in two parts beginning with an obstacle course demonstration of maneuvers and control over the vehicle and continuing onward to driving on the public roadways.

Taking a driver’s education course

Driver’s education is a mandatory part of the learning process for new drivers of all ages.
New teen drivers are required to take an approved drivers education course after first obtaining their learners permit. The school must consist of 30 hours of in-classroom training and 6 hours of on the road instruction. Drivers over the age of 25 will be allowed to begin the drivers license testing after only 45 days of learners permit driving if they have completed this approved program.

Preparing for the written test

The written knowledge test is designed to challenge new drivers, for the purpose of assuring they are fully prepared to drive safely on public roads. The test will consist of 20 to 25 questions and you must pass with a score of 85% or more. In most cases, the test will also be timed challenging new drivers further. Studying for this test in advance is critical to avoid having to retake and there are many ways this can be achieved. Primary sources of information should be your Drivers manual and cheat sheets provided by Since each test is designed specifically for the drivers license you are applying for, cheat sheets are designed to assist drivers of all license Classes with preparation. Taking practice tests will allow the new application a chance to determine whether or not they are ready for testing and can achieve the proper passing score, as well as reinforce information learned.

What to bring on test day

  • Documents that are approved by the state proving identity and age, legal presence and two proofs of residency.
  • A social security card or proof of social security.
  • Any glasses or corrective contacts used while driving to pass the vision test.
  • Special document requirements by age including certification of driver’s education enrollment, valid permit and driving log.
  • If applicable, a parent or legal guardian to sign the application. A licensed driver is also required to be present for driving tests.
  • The amount of licensing fees in a check, cash or money order payable to the state DMV.

Costs of driver’s tests

There is no fee for taking the knowledge test, however licensing fees are due at the time of application permitting all tests are passed. License fees depend on the years in between renewals. The general rate is $6 per year, prorated for the number of years.

  • Five years- $30
  • Six years-$36
  • Seven years-$42
  • Eight years-$48

Taking the Drivers Test

The final stage of testing involves a graded demonstration of the applicant’s ability to safely control a motor vehicle. Drivers must show the MVA that they are able to maneuver a vehicle correctly and can properly follow all traffic laws while driving in order to be granted a drivers license. This will be done first on an obstacle course to demonstrate basic control followed by testing on the public roadways on a pre-determined course.

Applicants must first make an appointment for the test and prepare a vehicle to use for testing. The licensed examiner will ask for proof of registration and insurance, and to see the applicant’s valid permit before testing can begin. In addition, the applicant must bring a licensed driver with them on the day of testing. The vehicle provided will be submitted to a brief safety test, assure that all equipment such as lights, seat belts and mirrors are working properly. If the vehicle does not pass safety requirements the test will not be administered.

Applicants may use their practice time accumulated with a learners permit and the education received in driver’s education to assure a passing score on this test. The minimum requirement is 60 hours of drive time with a permit but it is highly recommended new drivers practice more if needed.

Taking the Written Test

There are separate written tests for each type of non-commercial licenses in Maryland and the amount of questions on the exam will depend on the license being applied for. Class A and B licenses are 20 question tests while the Class M consists of 25. All applicants must receive a passing score of 85% minimum in order to receive a driver’s license. In addition, the test may be timed in some cases.

The tests are administered on a computer, although English written version may still be available depending on the MVA office preferences. The test questions you will find are based on which non-commercial license you have applied for but in most cases, all of the answers will still be found in the Main Maryland Drivers Handbook and all questions are addressed within cheat sheets located on

With so many versions of the knowledge test combined with the timed aspect of the exam, it is highly recommended that all new drivers in Maryland utilize all practice material to their full advance before proceeding to the exam. This includes your Drivers Handbook and most important the cheat sheets and practice tests available to use. Being well prepared is the best way to tackle this portion of the license process.

Renewing your Maryland Drivers License

How do I renew my ML License?

The Maryland MVA is in the process of changing the renewal date required for all licensed drivers over 25 to an eight year requirement. Depending on your age and date of application you must renew your license every 5, 6, 7 or 8 years by your birthday. In addition, the state of Maryland will not renew a driver’s license if the applicant owes back due taxes or unemployment insurance fees. There are currently four options for license renewal:

  • Mail Renewal- if you qualify for this option, you will receive a ‘renewal by mail packet’ along with the reminder letter mailed 60 days before your license expires. Simply mail in the completed package along with renewal fees in the form of a check up to 15 days before expiration.
  • Online renewal is available to licensed drivers over the age of 21 that meet mail-in requirements through the fast track system on the DMV website. Applicants must be prepared to supply driver’s license and social security information. Payments may be made by credit or debit card or by check if a routing number can be provided. Note that there is an additional $6 per year fee for online renewal.
  • A Self-service kiosk renewal is available at most local DMV offices. Renewal applicants will be notified if they qualify for this service in their reminder letter. Anyone required to submit to a new vision test may process a medical form for the test performed by a physician electronically. There are no additional fees for Kiosk renewal but standard renewal fees apply.
  • In person renewals may be required for a number of reasons, and preparing for the visit will depend on the reasoning. One such possible reason is a change of information such as name or address for your license in which you will need to bring the required proofs in order to renew. You may need to provide a social security card if one cannot be found on file. Simply visit your office, turn in any requested forms and pay the fees for renewal.

What tests do I need to take to renew?

Vision tests are often required when renewing a license. If the applicant is notified they must submit to a vision screening, they may either complete the renewal process in person at a DMV office, or if renewing by mail may have a vision provider fill out the back portion of the mail-in application.

What is the cost to renew?

Renewal costs depend on the date of expiration and include:

  • Drivers under 21 must renew every five years-$30
  • Six years-$36
  • Seven years-$42
  • Eight years-$48