Driver's License

Nevada Driver's License Written Test

The Nevada DMV is responsible for the safety and education of Nevada residents in regards to operating motor vehicles. The Nevada Departmen of Motor Vehicles issues learner’s permits and driver’s licenses, handles registration and title for car ownerships, provides driver history information and state driving statistics. Nevada is also one of the only states to feature a next-generation DMV kiosk to handle most self-service operations. You can reach the DMV at info@dmv.state.nv.us.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Nevada Driver's License Written Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Nevada DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Nevada driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Nevada DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Nevada DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the NV DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Nevada DMV Cheat Sheet
  • Nevada DMV Online Practice Test
The Nevada DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Nevada DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the NV DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

New Nevada Drivers License

Which License is for you?

Each driver operating a motor vehicle on the roadways must be properly licensed including new drivers, recent residents and those operating a commercial vehicle for the purpose of work. Each license class is specific to the type of vehicle you will be operating and the uses of your license. Class types include:

  • Class A and B commercial license Dmvcheatsheets.com – These give the driver permission to operate a large commercial vehicle on roadways for the purpose of work.
  • Class C-This is the average license in the state and allows an individual to operate a personal vehicle for daily use.
  • Class M- Is a specific license designate to those operating a motorcycle or moped on roadways.

What are the Requirements for getting a License?

You must turn in the proper documentation at the time of application which includes:

  • Proof of your full legal name and date of birth.
  • Proof of social security number- this can be done with a social security card or approved alternative.
  • Proof of legal presence in the US if a social security card has not been issued.
  • All new drivers must take the vision screening, written test and skills test with passing scores in order to complete the licensing process.
  • Special requirements for minors include; a parent signature on the application, a signed safe driver’s affidavit, proof of successful completion of an approved driver’s education course and a drivers log completed with required practice time and a parents signature.
  • All appropriate license fees are required at the time of application.

What Tests do I need to get a License?

  • A vision screening is administered to all new license applicants and new residents to the state.
  • A written test consisting of 50 multiple choice questions will be give on the day you apply for your license. You must answer 40 out of 50 correctly to pass.
  • A skills test is administered to all new drivers as the final portion of testing and will evaluate your ability to operate a motor vehicle.

Taking a Drivers Education Course

Successful completion of an approved driver’s education course is required for minors at the time of application for a driver’s license. If you are not within a 30 mile radius of a drivers education approved facility you may complete 100 hours of practice time behind the wheel instead of the standard 50 to be exempt.

Preparing for the Written Test

Preparing for your test can be a simple and easy process, assuring you will receive a passing score on the first try. It is important to develop a study plan unique to your schedule and needs before you begin to keep the process organized. First obtain a copy of the state Drivers Manual as well as cheat sheets and practice tests found on Dmvcheatsheets.com.

Use your cheat sheets and other study materials to learn traffic laws, signs and signals that will be on the written test. You must correctly answer 40 out of 50 questions in order to pass the test so you must posses a strong knowledge of these aspects of driving as well as the rules of the road.

Scheduling an Appointment

You must schedule an appointment for the driving skills portion of testing after the requirements have been met for a learners permit. For minors, required practice time must be logged before an appointment can be made.

What to Bring on Test Day

  • Adult new drivers will need to bring with them a completed drivers license application along with documents proving legal full name, date of birth and social security number. Proof of legal presence will be required if you do not have a social security number. In addition you will need to bring the required fees in the form of check, cash or money order.
  • Minor drivers will need all of the same information as an adult drive as well as proof of successful completion of an approved drivers education course, a safe driver affidavit and drivers log completed with required hours. A parent must co-sign the application and drivers log.
  • New residents to the state must bring their old state license to surrender at the time of application.

Costs of a Drivers Test

New drivers will be required to pay the $22 licensing fee, as well as a $25 testing fee prior to taking the tests. This fee included both the written and driving skills tests. If the new driver fails one or both tests, a $10 retest fee will be applied. There is additionally a $3 fee at the end of successful completion of the driving skills test for your temporary license.

Proof of Insurance

Proof of insurance is required for the vehicle that will be used in the road skills test or when registering a new vehicle at the time you apply for a license.

Taking the Written Test

The written test is preformed at the DMV branch at the time of application after the applicant has turned in required documents and passed a vision screening. The test is multiple-choice and consists of 50 questions regarding the rules of the road, traffic signs and signs as well as state traffic laws. You must correctly answer 40 out of 50 test questions in order to pass the test.

Having a study plan and obtaining the proper materials needed to learn the aspects of driving you will need to pass the test are the best practices for assuring a high score on testing. Materials include the Drivers Manual, Cheat sheets and practice tests Dmvcheatsheets.com found online. In addition, you may find many informative articles helpful in the testing process.

Taking the Driving Test

The drivers test can be taken after all other requirements have been satisfied. For new adult drivers this requires obtaining a learners permit and passing the written tests. Minors must hold the permit for at least six months and complete the drivers log form in order to qualify for the driving test in addition to the other requirements. An appointment must be made in advance for the driving test and each driver must supply a vehicle for the process. The vehicle cannot be a renal car and must be properly registered and have proof of insurance.

During the test the examiner will complete a safety check on the testing vehicle and ask to see the proof of registration and insurance. The driver must also present a valid learners permit at this time. Minors will be required to submit the driving log signed by a parent with the required amount of practice time properly logged. Once this phase of the testing procedure has been successful, the driver may begin the skills test.
The examiner will ride along as the new driver completes driving maneuvers in regular traffic. He or she will issue instructions that the new driver must follow while obeying all traffic laws. If the driver successfully completes the skills test, they will pay a $3 fee and be issued a temporary paper license.

Renewing your Nevada Drivers License

Who needs to renew their license?

The state of Nevada requires that each licensed driver of any class renew their license on or before its expiration date. A renewal notice is mailed to the address the DMV has currently on file and will include instructions for each driver to follow to renew.

How do I renew my Nevada License?

Your Nevada license is valid for 8 years and expires on your birthday. You will receive a renewal notice by mail 60 days prior to expiration that will inform you if you are eligible that renewal for alternative forms of renewal.

All licensed drivers must renew their license in person at the local DMV office every eight years. Drivers will a good driving record free of violations may renew their license by mail, internet or kiosk every other renewal, or one in an eight year period.

What tests do I need to take to renew?

The tests required to be taken will depend in driving history. Excessive violations during the period before renewal will require an in-person renewal and may result in a retake of the written or road skills Dmvcheatsheets.com tests. Otherwise in-person renewals will require a vision screening.

What is the cost to renew my license?

The cost of renewal is $22 for a four year license, $17 if over the age of 65. If the driver is required to retake the written and skills test, a new $25 fee will apply at the time of renewal. There is an additional $1 processing fee for kiosk renewals.

Steps to renew your license

  • Online renewals must visit the DMV website and enter the online renewal code that was supplied with the renewal notice. Follow the prompts to renew and pay the renewal fee by debit or credit card.
  • Mail renewals will need to fill out the form enclosed with the renewal notice and mail back to the DMV using the return address envelope provided along with a check for the renewal fees.
  • Kiosk renewals must visit the local DMV branch and locate the kiosk. Enter the code which was provided with the renewal notice and follow prompts to complete the process. You may pay using debit or credit card. There is an addition $1 fee for this renewal option.
  • In person renewals may require special steps which will be listed in your renewal notice. This may include provided the DMV with new proof of address, citizenship or ID. In addition, you will be required to take a vision screen and new photograph at the time of renewal. Written and road skills test may also be required in certain circumstances. The driver may schedule an appointment for the road test only. All fees are payable by check, cash or money order.

Resources