Driver's License

Nebraska Driver's License Written Test

The goal of the Driver Licensing Services division is to ensure that persons who meet Nebraska licensing standards and requirements are issued an operator’s license and those meeting Identification requirements are issued a state Identification card. It is also our goal to provide service to the public in a way that is fair, consistent and helpful. The Nebraska DMV offers drivers licensing and permit testing, as well as other services.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Nebraska Driver's License Written Test.
Sample
View sample
Sample
Georgia 2
Georgia 3
Georgia 4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Nebraska DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Nebraska driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Nebraska DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Nebraska DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the NE DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View sample
Sample
Georgia 4
Georgia 2
Georgia 3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Nebraska DMV Cheat Sheet
  • Nebraska DMV Online Practice Test
The Nebraska DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Nebraska DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the NE DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

New Nebraska Drivers License

Who Needs a License?

Each resident of Nebraska needs a license in order to live and work in the state. If you wish to operate a vehicle on roadways for personal, recreational or professional purposes you will need a driver’s license. The type of license will be determined by your intended use and it is important to know what types are offered in the state before applying.

Which License is for you?

Knowing which license is right for you before visiting the DMV office is important as there are specific requirements and age regulations for each.

  • Class A, B commercial licenses are only for those drivers over the age of that wish to operate a vehicle for a living. The class you apply for will depend on the vehicle type you wish to operate.
  • Class O licenses are for all drivers operating cars, trucks, SUVs or vans on the roadways for personal daily use. The licensing process for this class can begin at 15 ½ years old starting with a learners permit.
  • Class M licenses will allow you to drive a motorcycle or moped on the roadways. Note that you can operate a moped if you have a valid license in any other class as well.

What are the Requirements for getting a License?

Proper identification requirements are mandatory for all new licenses of any class including instructional permits. Each new driver must present the following documentation when applying at your local DMV:

  • Proof of your full legal name and date of birth. If born outside the US, you must provide proof of legal presence in the US.
  • Evidence of a valid social security number. This is usually done by presenting your social security card but if you do not have a card, you may provide one of the approved documents listed in your DMV handbook in substitution.

All new drivers are also required to pass a vision exam to state expectations for sight, a knowledge test and in many cases a driving skills test. You must also provide two documents proving a permanent residence in the state.

What Tests do I need to get a License?

  • A vision test is administered to all new drivers of any class as the first portion of the testing process.
  • Knowledge testing is in the form of a written test containing 25 multiple choice questions about driving laws and traffic signs and signals. Drivers must correctly answer 20 out of 25 questions to pass.
  • The driving skills testing will evaluation your ability to drive a vehicle correctly and safely. Your vehicle must pass a safety inspection at the beginning of the test and you will need to supply proper registration and insurance to be allowed to continue. Through a series of instructions, the examiner will grade your performance on roadways.

Taking a Drivers Education Course

Driver’s education is a requirement of licensing for all new drivers under the age of 18 in order to receive your license. You will be required to present a certificate of completion of an approved driver’s education course when you apply for a license. Drivers have three options for the driver’s education requirement in Nebraska:

  • You may take an approved drivers education course.
  • You may complete the classroom portion of driver’s education through an approved driver’s education course and the driving time with a physical school.
  • Or in areas where there is no available approved driver’s education course new drivers must complete a total of 100 hours practice time with a supervising driver.

The approved course must include 30 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of behind the wheel training with a licensed instructor to be approved by the state of Nebraska.

Preparing for the Written Test

On the day you apply for a license, you will follow a series of steps including taking the vision and written tests. There is an initial fee of required for the test and if you must retake you will be charged an additional fee each time so it is important to be prepared in advance. Studying the materials available to you is the best defense against a failure. Materials can include any of the following, but assure that each of the documents you use is specific for Nebraska state laws:

  • Your Nebraska Drivers Handbook can be acquired online at the DMV website or in hard copy found for free at the DMV office.
  • You can also obtain cheat sheets and practice tests for your specific state by logging on to dmvcheatsheets.com and searching your specific state
  • Materials are also available specific to young drivers such as the teen driver handbook also found at the DMV website. You may also wish to read through some educational articles www.dmvcheatsheets.com online for addition study tips and driving hints.

What to Bring on Test Day

On written test day you must bring the following:

  • A drivers license application signed and completed
  • Proper documentation required proving full legal name and age, a social security number or equivalent and two proofs showing a permanent legal address in the state.
  • Minors will also need to provide certificate of completion for a driver’s education program and a signed driver’s log permission document. The driving log must be completely filled out and signed by a parent or guardian as well as the certification on the front portion of the document.
  • Bring any corrective lenses or glasses required to be worn while driving to pass the vision test.
  • The appropriate fee for your license in a check, cash or money order form.

Costs of a Drivers Test

Drivers are required to pay the $26.50 fee for a license at the time of testing.

Taking the Written Test

The written is administered during the initial application process and will test your knowledge of state driving laws and your ability to recognized common signs. After taking the vision exam you will be placed in the testing area and given a paper test consisting of 25 multiple choice questions. No other people are allowed in the testing area and the use of cell phones is not permitted. Answer 20 out of 25 questions to pass the test.

Prepare in advance by using your cheat sheets and Drivers Handbook to study the traffic laws, signs and signals you need to know while driving. In addition test your knowledge with practice tests www.dmvcheatsheets.com and do not begin the process until you are ready to receive a passing score.

Taking the Driving Test

The driving test is administered by a licensed examiner using a vehicle you provide and cannot be completed until you have passed all other tests. Your vehicle will be inspected for safety and you will be asked to supply proper registration and proof of insurance before testing can be administered.

The examiner will give you specific instructions while on the road that you must follow in order to pass. They will be evaluating your ability to safely maneuver your vehicle and your knowledge of traffic laws. Using a cell phone while driving or not using a seatbelt will automatically give you a failing grade.

Renewing your Nebraska Drivers License

Who needs to renew their license?

All residents using a license for person or work use must renew by the date listed on the license if they wish to continue legally driving. Your license must be renewed every five years unless under the age of 21 when you received your first license in which case your first renewal date will be your 21rst birthday.

What tests do I need to take to renew?

You may be required to re-test for the vision exam and written tests as well as the driving portion. This is used to re-evaluate your ability to drive. You will be notified by mail if any tests are required.

What is the cost to renew my license?

A standard license renewal is $26.50 for a five year license. If you license expires in less than five years the free is pro-rated to the years it will be valid.

Steps to renew your license

You will be mailed a renewal notice before your license expires explaining the steps you need to take to renew. If you are required to take any of the tests you must renew your license in person at a local DMV office and complete the testing steps upon arrival. If you qualify for online renewal you may do so at the DMV website and fees will be payable by credit or debit card. A valid email address is also required for online renewal.

  • During your visit to the DMV you will need to fill out an Operators license ID-Data form to be turned in at the time of renewal. In addition you must provide two proofs of residency.
  • Out of state renewals can be done by mail if the applicant meets qualifications or through the Early Renewal process if the driver knows they will be out of state during the renewal time period.

Resources