Utah Learner's Permit Test
Study Material AvailableDMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Utah Learner's Permit Test.
- Utah DMV Cheat Sheet
- Utah DMV Online Practice Test
Getting a Utah Learners Permit
Who needs a learners permit?
All new drivers will be required to first obtain a learners permit as part of the license process www.dmvcheatsheets.com. You must be at least 15 years old to apply.
Requirements for getting a learners permit
A signature from a parent or guardian is required for minors under 18 that certify they will take financial responsibility for the applicant. In addition, each applicant will need to fill out a medical questionnaire at the time of application. The applicant must also provide the following proofs:
- Proof of identity, age and full legal name.
- Present a social security card or approved alternative.
- Proof of residency or for minors proof of the parent or guardians address in which they reside.
- Applicants will be required to pass a 50 question written exam and vision test.
- A $15 fee is also required.
Driving with a UT learners permit
Once a learners permit has been acquired drivers under the age of 18 must register for and pass a certified drivers education course while practicing. Minor drivers must use their permit for practice for at least 6 months unless the applicant turns 18 before that time. Drivers over 18 do not need to adhere to the six month time or drivers education but practicing before the testing process is highly recommended.
New drivers under 18 must complete at least 40 hours of drive time behind the wheel, ten of which must be at night in order to take the drivers test.
Drivers with a learners permit must follow the restrictions while driving that includes:
- A supervising driver over the age of 21 must accompany the driver at all times while on the road.
- Minor drivers must not be on the roads between the hours of midnight and 5am.
Cost of a learners permit
The cost of a learners permit is $15 and can be paid with a check/money order, cash or credit card.
Steps to getting a UT learners permit
There are several steps new drivers must take in order to receive a learner’s permit:
- Download and print the learners permit application and schedule your appointment.
- Appear in person at the time of your appointment.
- Your photo will be taken as the first step in the process.
- You must provide the clerk with your proper documentation including birth of age and identity, your social security card or an approved alternative and proof of your address located in Utah. Minors are permitted to use a parent’s resident documentation if under the age of 18. All documentation must be originals and appear on the approved document list.
- A written knowledge test will then be taken testing your awareness of Utah traffic laws and common road signs. The test consists of 50 questions.
- An eye test is administered to assure the applicant can safely see to drive.
- You must also complete a medical questionnaire and a parent or guardian signature certifying financial responsibility.
- Pay the $15 permit fee in check, cash or money order.