Driver's License

Utah Driver's License Written Test

Study Material Available offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Utah Driver's License Written Test.
List Price
Our Price
You Save
$3.00 (23%)
The Utah DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Utah driving written test.
Delivered Online

Available Immediately

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
List Price
Our Price
You Save
$5.00 (25%)
The Utah DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Utah DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the UT DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
Delivered Online

Available Immediately

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
List Price
Our Price
You Save
$12.95 (39%)
Included In Bundle
  • Utah DMV Cheat Sheet
  • Utah DMV Online Practice Test
The Utah DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Utah DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the UT DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
Delivered Online

Available Immediately

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.

New Utah Drivers License

Who Needs a License?

Any Utah resident wishing to join in the privilege of operating a motor vehicle for various reasons will need a license to do so. All licenses are issued through the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles.

Which License is for you?

There are several classes of license that you can apply for in Utah including:

  • Class A, B and C Commercial Licenses are for residents planning to enter a field where driving is required or done for a living
  • A Class D License allows residents to operate a motor vehicle for personal use
  • Residents may also apply for a motorcycle license giving them legal permission to operate a motorcycle on roads.

What are the Requirements for getting a License?

The state of Utah has a specific required process for getting a license and each step must be completed in order to receive the privilege to drive:

  • Schedule an appointment online and print out your Drivers license Application in advance. Fill out the application and sign. Minors must also have a parent signature if under 18.
  • Arrive at the DMV at your scheduled time and submit the application as well as the required proofs listed for a new license. This list can be found online at the DMV website and include poof of legal presence in the US, a social security card and two proofs of residency. Minors may use to parent proofs if residing with them full time.
  • Minors must also submit proof that driving time has been completed and certification a driver’s education class has been successfully completed. All new drivers must submit a valid learner’s permit.
  • When all documentation has been satisfied a photograph will be taken and vision test administered.
  • Drivers will then take a 50 question test regarding the laws and rules of Utah driving and must pass in order to proceed, answering correctly 20 out of 25 questions.
  • Finally a drivers test is administered to those in which it necessary.
  • If all tests and documents are satisfied applicants then pay the $25.00 license fee and receive a temporary paper license while the photo ID is sent through the mail.

What Tests do I need to get a License?

Three types of tests is used during the licensing process:

  • An eye test is the first test administered in the testing process. You must pass to continue.
  • The written knowledge test is comprised of 25 multiple choice questions based on the information found in the DMV Drivers Handbook. You may take the test twice in same day but a third retest will require an additional fee. You must correctly answer 20 out of 25 in order to pass.
  • The driving test will examine your skills behind the wheel. You will be graded on your ability to control a vehicle and your aptitude of driving laws. One attempt at this test is allowed per day and if you fail you must practice before returning to try again.

Taking a Drivers Education Course

All new drivers’ license applicants are required to complete an approved driver’s education course before applying. Enrollment must be done after the application has received a learner’s permit. The course can be take through a school or private company as long as the 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind the wheel teaching have been satisfied, taught by a state licensed instructor.

Preparing for the Written Test

Preparing to take your written test requires hard work and self discipline. You must first obtain your study materials including the DMV Drivers Handbook for Utah. An excellent resource for study is the cheat sheets and practice tests offered at The materials covered in each include everything a new driver must know to pass the written test and practice tests will enforce the information obtained.

Scheduling an Appointment

To expedite your application process you may download and print a driver license or permit application in advance and schedule an appointment for your visit. The application and appointment scheduling system are both located on the Utah DMV website.

What to Bring on Test Day

Your age at the time of application will decide what you must bring to test day:

  • For minors you will need a filled out application with parent signature. In addition you need all required proofs of age, identity and legal presence, a valid social security number or equivalent and two proofs of residency. Minors may provide parents proofs if living with them full time.
  • In addition minors need proof that they have successfully completed an approved driver’s education course and completed the required permit driving hour’s requirements.

All drivers will need to be prepared for vision testing by bringing along corrective lenses if necessary to see and any documentation of a medical condition required by the state for the medical examination. The standard fee of $25 must also be brought to written testing in the form of a check/money order, cash or credit card.

Adult new drivers do not need to bring the proof of drivers education or driving logged time but will still need their valid permit at the time of application. Teens over the age of 18 do not require a signature to apply.

Drivers taking the driving test portion will need to bring a vehicle that can pass the safety inspection, registration and insurance proofs and a licensed driver over the age of 21 years old.

Costs of a Drivers Test

Drivers will be expected to pay the licensing fee before any tests will be administered. The standard license fee is $25.

Proof of Insurance

Proof of insurance is required for the driving test portion of licensing. The test will not be administered unless the applicant can provide proof the vehicle is insured.

Taking the Written Test

The written test is multiple choice exams administered to all new drivers and new residents transferring their license. The information found in test questions will include traffic signs and signals found in the state, traffic laws for Utah and the aspects of safe driving such as Drinking and Driving. You must answer 20 out of 25 questions correctly to pass the test. You may retake the test two times in one day but if the second test is failed you must return the following day and the licensing fee will be reapplied a second time. So it is important that you take steps to assure you pass.

Use your study material include the Drivers Handbook, Cheat sheets and practice tests and helpful articles in order to assure you fully understand all the information needed to pass on your first try. Each material will be state specific and articles provides even more great ways to prepare for testing with study tips and what to expect.

Taking the Driving Test

The drivers test is administered as the final challenge you must achieve in order to become a licensed driver. You must provide a safe, registered and properly insured vehicle for testing or you will be asked to return when you can provide the necessary mode of transportation for testing. The vehicle will be inspected for safety and the examiner will ask for proof of registration, insurance and the presence of a licensed driver over 21 at the time of testing.

Applicants will then perform actual driving maneuvers on Utah roadways by following directions given by the examiner. Such items as Driving posture and proper use of lanes are graded by the examiner. The test is on a pass/fail basis and if you fail you must practice more and return the next day to retake.

Renewing your Utah Drivers License

Who needs to renew their license?

Anyone licensed to drive for work or personal use must renew their license by its scheduled date in order to continue operating a vehicle legally on roadways.

How do I renew my Utah License?

A renewal notice will provide the driver with the instructions of how to renew. If you receive a pin number in the renewal notice you are eligible to renew online by logging into the DMV website and following prompts. All others must be in person at your DMV by scheduling an appointment online.
h3. What tests do I need to take to renew?

If your license has been expired more than 6 months or you have received more than 4 citations since your last renewal, you will be required to take a 25 question written test when you renew. All in-person applicants will be required to re-take the vision testing.

Preparing to renew my UT license

You will receive your renewal letter by mail and if required to apply in person, you must gather you current license, and your documentation of proof similar to requirements for a new license that include:

  • Two proofs of residency.
  • Proof of your social security number and proof of age, legal name and date of birth.

You will also need to be prepared with renewal fees of $ 25.00 in an appropriate form of payment.

What is the cost to renew my license?

For a standard license renewal fees in person will be $25.00-renewing online will be $20.00.

Steps to renew your license

If your renewal notice has a pin number enclosed you are eligible to renew online. Simple visit the DMV website and click on the online services link then follow the prompts to complete. For in person renewals following these steps will complete the process:

  • Schedule an appointment to avoid lines.
  • You will fill out a new driver’s license application and turn in along with proofs of residency, a social security card, and proof of your age and identity.
  • A new photograph will be taken.
  • Pass a vision exam and complete the medical questionnaire.
  • Finally submit your $25.00 renewal fee to complete the process.