Learner's Permit

Tennessee Learner's Permit Test

The Tennessee Department of Safety is responsible for driver license issuance to all Tennessee residents 18 years of age or older. Those under 18 must either have a learner permit for at least six months or have been licensed in another state for at least 90 days. New residents with a non-expired license need only take a vision test while all others are required to take vision, written and road tests for a license.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Tennessee Learner's Permit Test.
Sample
View sample
Sample
Georgia 2
Georgia 3
Georgia 4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Tennessee DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Tennessee driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Tennessee DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Tennessee DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the TN DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View sample
Sample
Georgia 4
Georgia 2
Georgia 3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Tennessee DMV Cheat Sheet
  • Tennessee DMV Online Practice Test
The Tennessee DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Tennessee DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the TN DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

Getting a Tennessee Learners Permit

Who needs a learners permit?

New teen drivers under the age of 15 must first obtain a learner’s permit Dmvcheatsheets.com as the first step in the graduated license program. All new drivers must hold a learners permit for the minimum required time for their age group.

Requirements for getting a learners permit

In order to receive a learner’s permit you must be at least 15 years of age and provide the following documentation:

  • One primary and one secondary proof of identification showing your full legal name and date of birth.
  • Proof that you are a US citizen or are legally allowed to live in the US.
  • A social security number or approved alternative.
    *Two proofs that you legal reside in the state full time.

You may acquire a list of approved documents from the DMV or online at the DLSC website. All applicants must pass a vision screening and Class D driver’s knowledge test and pay the required fee in order to complete the process. Minors under the age of 18 must also supply:

  • Proof of attendance in school with minimum grade point average or a diploma or equivalent proving completion.
  • A teen affidavit of financial responsibility signed by a parent or guardian.

Driving with a TN learners permit

Minor drivers under the age of 18 must practice with a learners permit for six months before applying for their first license. During this time the new driver must be accompanied by a licensed driver over the age of 21 in the front seat and may drive between the hours of 6 am and 10 pm. You will be required to fulfill the required practice time of 50 hours behind the wheel with 10 applied during nighttime hours. While driving, your parent or guardian must complete the drivers log and sign for each time of practice.

Use the testing guide listed in your driver’s handbook to practice the aspects of driving you must master in order to pass the road test.

Cost of a learners permit

If over 18 your permit fee will be $5.50 and minors under 18 will cost $10.50.

Steps to getting a Tennessee learners permit

You must apply for a learners permit in person at your DLSC office and complete the following steps:

  • Submit your application along with required proofs. These will include two proofs of identity and residency in the state, one proof of citizenship or lawful presence and your social security card or approved alternative. All approved proofs are listed in the driver’s handbook and online at the DMV website.
  • Minors will also submit a teen driving affidavit signed by a parent or legal guardian and proof of either school enrollment with minimum grade point average or a diploma.
  • Take the vision test and have your photo taken.
  • Take the written test by computer and pass with 24 out of 30 questions answered correctly.
  • Pay the learners permit fees by check, cash or money order to complete the process.

Resources