Ohio Learner's Permit Test
Study Material AvailableDMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Ohio Learner's Permit Test.
- Ohio BMV Cheat Sheet
- Ohio BMV Online Practice Test
Getting an Ohio Learners Permit
Who needs a Learners Permit?
All new drivers under the age of 18 are required to follow the steps outlined in the graduated license program which includes obtaining a learners permit. You must be at least 15 ½ years old to apply for a permit.
Requirements to getting a Learners Permit
You must provide proof of residency, citizenship and identity in order to receive your drivers permit. Students may use their certified school records for either their secondary document or as proof of residency but identification can only be used for one category. If you cannot supply an approved proof of residency from the document list, you can submit a certified statement of residency that is signed in front of a DMV clerk by your parent or guardian. A parent or legal guardian must co-sign your application. In addition, you are required to complete an approved driver’s education course before applying for your learners permit.
On the day of your application you will be required to pass the written test with a minimum score of 75% in order to receive your learners permit. You can study for this test in advance using your Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws, as well as cheat sheets and practice tests www.dmvcheatsheets.com designed by dmvcheatsheets.com. By studying the common traffic signs, rules and laws regarding driving on Ohio roads, you can assure you are fully prepared for testing.
Driving with an OH Learners Permit
You must carry your permit with you at all times while driving and be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian in the front seat of the car. A fifty hour affidavit must be returned signed by the parent or legal guardian, certifying that you have completed the practice driving time requirements of 50 hours. 10 hours must be at night to complete your training. Be sure to spend as must time on the road as possible, and use your Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws as a guide for what you need to practice. In addition, you can find detailed information regarding what will be on the road tests that you can use to develop a plan for practice.
Cost of an Ohio Learners Permit
There is a $22.00 fee for a new learners permit.
How to get an Ohio Learners Permit
In order to receive your learners permit, you must complete the following steps in person at your local DMV branch:
- Bring the learners permit application, along with required proof of identity, citizenship and residency to the clerk. You must also submit proof that you have completed an approved driver’s education course.
- You will be required to pass a vision test, as well as the written test
- You will be issued your temporary permit after paying the $22.00 fee by check, cash or money order.