North Carolina Motorcycle Written Test
The law in North Carolina requires the operator of any motorcycle to have a motorcycle endorsement shown on their driver license. An endorsement may be obtained upon initial issuance of driver license, or at any time thereafter, by taking a knowledge test that includes questions on motorcycling, and an off-street motorcycle skills test. This basically means that you need to habe a non-commerce NC automobile license first to get your motorcycle endorsement added to your license.
Your license will be issued for a period of 5 or 8 years depending on your age. Ages 18 through 53 will be issued for 8 years. Ages 54 and older will be issued for 5 years. The cost of your license and any endorsements will be computed based on the yearly charge.
The registration fee for a private motorcycle is $18.00, or an additional $30.00 for a personalized plate. Some counties may require a Regional Transportation Authority Registration Tax of an additional $5.00.
Study Material AvailableDMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the North Carolina Motorcycle Written Test.
- North Carolina Motorcycle Cheat Sheet
- North Carolina Motorcycle Online Practice Test
- NC DOT Motorcycle Fees
- Applying for a Motorcycle Permit
- NC DOT Motorcycle Handbook
- Types of Driver’s Licenses in North Carolina
- Obscure But Important North Carolina Driving Laws
- DMVCheatSheets Is Now Mobile!
- What is the difference between a driver's license and a permit in NC? What kinds of permits does NC offer?