Learner's Permit

New York Learner's Permit Test

You must be 17 years old and have completed an authorized driver’s education class or 18 years old to receive a New York driver’s license. Individuals 16 and older can apply for a NY driver’s learner permit. To obtain your NY driver’s license, you need to visit the New York DMV, take the vision, written and road test, pay all applicable fees and show proof of identification and date of birth.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the New York Learner's Permit Test.
Sample
View sample
Sample
Georgia 2
Georgia 3
Georgia 4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The New York DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your New York driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The New York DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the New York DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the NY DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View sample
Sample
Georgia 4
Georgia 2
Georgia 3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • New York DMV Cheat Sheet
  • New York DMV Online Practice Test
The New York DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the New York DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the NY DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

Getting a New York Learners Permit

Who needs a learners permit?

All new drivers wishing to operate a vehicle for the first time or to upgrade to another class of license must first obtain a learners permit for their license type. Standard operating license permits can be obtained when the new driver reaches the age of 16 years old.

Requirements for getting a learners permit

All applicants will be required to submit a learner’s permit Dmvcheatsheets.com application. Minors under the age of 18 will also need a signed parental consent form which can be signed in advance if the parent cannot accompany the new driver to the DMV. Documents that must be submitted will be subjected to a point system with the minimum score allowed being a 6. Applicants are required to apply in person at the nearest DMV office and submit the following documents:

  • Proof of identity showing your full legal name and date of birth totaling six points. Minors who cannot reach the required points may have a parent fill out the identity form as proof of identity.
  • You must provide a valid social security card or approved equivalent. If you do not have a social security card you must provide valid, approved documentation that you are legally allowed to reside in the US.
  • You will be required to take a digital phone which will be kept on file along with a digital copy of your signature.
  • All new permit applicants must take the vision test and written permit test in order to receive a learner’s permit. The test will consist of 20 multiple choice questions to which you will be required to answer 14 correctly. You must answer 2 out of 4 road signs questions to pass.
  • In addition all new applicants will pay the applicant and licensing fees in the form of check.

Driving with a New York learners permit

Specific restrictions apply to all new permit holders regardless of age. All new permit holders must be accompanied by a licensed adult over the age of 21 at all times. Learners may not drive on any bridge or tunnel under the Triborough Bridge or Tunnel Authority, on the Cross Country, Hutchinson River, Saw Mill River or Taconic state parkways at any time. In addition, learners of any age are not permitted to drive in area in or near a park in New York City.

It recommended that new drivers practice at least 50 hours behind the wheel before taking the road test to assure a passing grade. In addition new drivers should use 10 of those hours for night driving and at least 15 in heavy traffic. Driving practice hours are recommended for over 18 learners and required for those under 18. A parent must sign the certification of driving practice form in order to move on to a license.

Permit holders under the age of 18, unless 17 must hold the permit for practice for at least 6 months before applying for a license.

Cost of a learners permit

The learners permit cost is included in the license fee which will be determined by your age at the time of application. This ranges from $77.50 to $102.50. You may see the online pay schedule for your specific amount. In addition specific counties will include a $1 per year public transit fee.

Steps to getting a New York learners permit

In order to apply you must visit your DMV in person and follow these steps:

  • Fill out an application and sign- minors will be required to submit a signed parental consent form at this time.
  • Submit six points worth of proof of identity with original copies of each document.
  • Submit proof of your social security number with a social security card or approved equivalent.
  • If you do not have a social security card, present approved proof of legal residence in the US.
  • Take the vision screen with appropriate score.
  • Either submit proof of successful completion of drivers education or take the written test and pass.
  • Have a photo taken and your signature documented electronically.
  • Pay your fees with a check, cash or money order to complete the process

Resources