Missouri Learner's Permit Test
Study Material AvailableDMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Missouri Learner's Permit Test.
- Missouri DMV Cheat Sheet
- Missouri DMV Online Practice Test
Getting a Missouri Learners Permit
Who needs a learners permit?
All new drivers wishing to obtain a full privilege license for the state may begin the process with a learners permit once reaching age 15.
Requirements for getting a learners permit
All new drivers are required to be a minimum age of 15 at the time of application and will need to submit the following documentation to the DMV:
- A completed driver’s license form.
- You will need to provide proof of your full legal name, date of birth, location of birth and social security card at the time of application. This may include an original birth certificate and social security card or alternate forms listed on the approved documentation page through the DMV website.
- You must also submit proof of residency and a permanent address to be placed on your permit and license using one of the approved documents.
- Minors must be accompanied by a parent or guardian to the DMV that must sign a permission statement.
- A fee of $3.50 must be paid at the time of application with check, cash or money order.
- All new drivers are required to take a vision test, road signs and written test before the process can be completed.
Driving with a Missouri learners permit
- Drivers under the age of 16 may only drive with a licensed adult over the age of 25 in the front seat at all times. Those new drivers ages 16 and older may be accompanied by a licensed driver over the age of 21.
- In order to qualify for an intermediate license, minor drivers must complete a minimum of 40 hours behind the wheel practice with at least 10 done during nighttime hours. A drivers log must be completed as proof of experience. When applying for an intermediate license, a parent or guardian will accompany you to the DMV to certify you have satisfied these requirements.
- Minor drivers must hold the permit for at least 6 months to practice before qualifying to take the road test portion of licensing. During this time you may not drive on roadways between 1am and 5am under any circumstances.
- Practice all of the aspects of vehicle control that will tested during the four part drivers test including an ability to safely operate a vehicle and the location of all safety equipment in the car. In addition, be sure to fully understand all traffic laws you must obey while driving if you wish to pass.
Cost of a learners permit
Instruction permits for the Class E adult learners permit and the Class F minors permit are $3.50 not including testing fees
Steps to getting a Missouri learners permit
You must visit your local DMV office in person with your parent or guardian to apply for a permit if under the age of 18. You will complete a license application that must be signed by your parent in from of a clerk as permission to allow you to obtain a permit. In addition proofs must be submitted using original documentation in the following categories including:
- Documents showing your full legal name, date and location of birth and social security number from the approved list of documents.
- Proof of a permanent residence within the state.
Once all the proper documentation has been submitted and approved, you will then take the vision test. A written knowledge test and road signs test will be administered and you must answer 20 out of 25 questions correctly in order to pass.
You will take a photograph and pay the appropriate permit fees with a check, cash or money order to complete the process.