Mississippi Learner's Permit Test
Study Material AvailableDMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Mississippi Learner's Permit Test.
- Mississippi DMV Cheat Sheet
- Mississippi Online Practice Test
Getting a Mississippi Learners Permit
Who needs a learners permit?
A learner’s permit Dmvcheatsheets.com is required for all new drivers wishing to exercise the privilege of operating a motor vehicle on public roadways. The process may begin at age 14 with a basic learners permit which will be valid only for the use of drivers education. All other applicants for a learners permit must be at least 15 years old.
Requirements for getting a learners permit
All minors must prove they are currently enrolled in an education program or have graduated and can provide a high school diploma or GED. In addition, the required documents below must be submitted with the application:
- A social security card or approved alternative proof of social security number. Those who do not have a social security number must supply proof of legal presence in the US.
- An original birth certificate with raised seal showing full legal name, date and place of birth.
- Two proofs of residency showing a permanent address within the state.
- All applicants will be required to pass a vision screening and written test.
Driving with a Mississippi learners permit
Drivers under age 18 must hold a learners permit for at least 12 months before applying for a license. During that time it is important to practice behind the wheel in order to acquire the skills to pass the driving test. A licensed driver over the age of 21 must accompany the new driver while practicing at all times.
Practice time is essential in order to become a safe driver and pass the road test during licensing. Use this time to learn vehicle control and enforce the materials covered in your cheat sheets and Drivers Handbook in regards to traffic laws and rules of the road.
Cost of a learners permit
A learner’s permit will cost $4.00
Steps to getting a Mississippi learners permit
Gather all required proofs and visit your local DPS office in order to apply for a learners permit. Minor must be accompanied by both parents or guardians, or the custodial parent in a divorce situation. Following these steps will allow the new driver to receive a learner’s permit:
- Complete an application and submit to the clerk. Minors must have both parents or guardians sign the application and have the signatures notarized.
- Submit a social security card or approved alternative.
- Provide an original birth certificate stating full name, date of birth and place of birth.
- Two proofs of residency are required that will provide the DPS with a permanent mailing address.
- Once the documentation has been approved, a vision screening will be administered.
- The applicant will then take the written test and must pass with an 80% score or above.
- Pay the $4 permit fee and take a photograph to complete the process.