Maine Learner's Permit Test
Study Material AvailableDMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Maine Learner's Permit Test.
- Maine BMV Cheat Sheet
- Maine DMV Online Practice Test
Getting a Maine learners permit
Who needs a learners permit?
Teen residents of Maine may begin the process for their first license on their 15th birthday, and the process begins with the acquiring of a learners permit. All new drivers under the age of 21 must drive with a learners permit for a minimum of 6 months before proceeding to a license.
Requirements to getting a learners permit
Learners permit applicants between the age of 15 and 21 years old:
- Must show successful completion of a driver’s education course.
- Show the required proofs of identity, residency and legal presence in the US. In addition they must provide a social security card. A birth certificate is required at the time of the application.
Learners permit applicants between the ages of 18 and 21 are exempt from driver’s education but must provide two forms of identity at the time of application. A birth certificate is still required for all new drivers’ license applicants under the age of 22.
- All applicants must pass a vision and knowledge test www.dmvcheatsheets.com. The knowledge test must generate a score of at least 80% to pass. Tests are given by appointment only which can be done by calling a local DMV branch.
Driving with a MN learners permit
All new learners permit applicants under the age of 21 are required to fulfill specific practice driving requirements before continuing with the driver’s license application process. All applicants must drive with a learners permit for a minimum of six months and the permit is good for 18 months from the date of application. While a minimum of 35 hours drive time is required, it is recommended that new drivers practice as long as necessary until they have mastered control of the vehicle. 5 of these hours must be at night to assure they are aware of the differences between night and daytime driving experiences. This is an ideal time to test your knowledge of road signs and traffic laws, practice safe driving and maneuvering the vehicle so that you are fully prepared for the three part license testing process. A licensed driver over the age of 20 that has held a valid license at least two years must accompany the new driver at all times.
Steps to getting a Maine learner permit
Each step in the process must be fully and accurately completed in order to receive a learner’s permit:
- (for drivers under 18) complete an approved driver’s education program.
- Schedule knowledge and vision tests in advance and appear at the DMV in person on that date and time.
- Turn in two required documents, a birth certificate and social security card.
- Take your vision exam and pass the knowledge test www.dmvcheatsheets.com with at least an 80% score.