Kansas Learner's Permit Test
The Kansas DMV is a division of the Department of Revenue. Unfortunately, the Kansas DMV website is not as robust as other state’s websites, but contains the basic information needed to find an office to get your driver’s license or learner’s permit, forms an a list of online services. Trying to figure out requirements and the procedure for getting a Kansas license is a bit confusing, so carefully review the DMV website or purchase our cheat sheet to be prepared.
Study Material AvailableDMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Kansas Learner's Permit Test.
- Kansas DMV Cheat Sheet
- Kansas DMV Online Practice Test
Getting a Kansas Learners permit
Who needs a learners permit?
All new drivers in the state of Kansas must drive with a learners permit before obtain any C Class license. The permit may be obtained when the new applicant reaches 14 years of age.
Requirements to getting a learners permit
At each stage in the licensing program you will be expect to submit required documentation in order to proceed to testing. For the learners permit the following will be required:
- Proof of identity- this is usually in the form of an original birth certificate issued in the US.
- Proof of Citizenship- a valid Social Security card or proof of legal status.
- Proof of Residency- For minors, this can be in the form of verbal confirmation from the parent or legal guardian that the minor is living with full time.
Applicants will also be required to pass the vision test and C Class written exam www.dmvcheatsheets.com in order to proceed to a learners permit. The C Class permit test will consist of 25 questions based on Kansas road rules and traffic laws and applicants must correctly 20 questions to pass. All payments for a permit of $20 must be paid in cash at the time of testing.
All minor applicants under the age of 16 must have a parent or guardian sign the application for approval.
Driving with a KA learners Permit
New drivers under the age of 18 must drive with a learners permit for at least one year before moving on to apply for a restricted C Class license. During the one year period drivers must complete 50 hours of driving time and a minimum must be 10 hours nighttime practice. In addition to road driving with a licensed driver over the age of 21, minors 15 to 17 will practice driving during a driver’s education course with a licensed instructor. It is important to remember when driving that it is illegal in Kansas to text message and drive and if caught you may loose the privilege to drive.
Cost of an Kansas learners permit
There is a mandatory flat fee of $20 for all new permit issued
Steps to getting a Kansas learners permit
There are several steps that must be completed in order to receive a learner’s permit.
- Bring the required proofs of identity, age, citizenship and residency to your local DMV office during business hours.
- Complete an application with parent signature if under the age of 16.
- Take the vision exam and C Class Written test www.dmvcheatsheets.com and receive a passing score.
- Pay the $20 permit fee in the form of cash and have a photo taken.