Illinois Learner's Permit Test
Illinois DMV offers a variety of services and programs for new and existing Illinois residents. These programs include drivers license, drivers permits, new and custom plates, organ donation, teen driver safety course and more. On CyberDriveIllinois.com you can locate the nearest DMV, renew your license and schedule appoints with the Illinois DMV. You can also find documents and forms dealing with title & registration for your vehicle.
Study Material AvailableDMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Illinois Learner's Permit Test.
- Illinois DMV Cheat Sheet
- Illinois DMV Online Practice Test
Getting a Illinois Learners permit
Who needs a learners permit?
All new drivers or those changing a new class must first drive with a learners permit including CDL and motorcycle licenses. You must be at least 15 years old to begin the permit application process.
Requirements to getting a learners permit
Minors between the ages of 17 and 17 and 3months old must be enrolled in driver’s education at the time they apply for a learners permit. The permit must be carried during the mandatory six hours of behind the wheel instruction they will obtain during the education class.
- A parent or guardian must accompany minors to the DSD facility or sign a parent/consent form to be presented at the time of application.
- All proper forms of identification proving age, birth date, signature, legal presence and residency are required to be presented. In addition, a social security card or equivalent is needed.
- You will be required to pass a vision screening and written test www.dmvcheatsheets.com to continue. You must answer 28 out of 35 questions correct to pass the written test
Driving with a IL learners permit
All new drivers must drive on a learner’s permit but minors up to age 17 and 3 months old must drive with a permit for practice for at least 9 months before applying for a license. Minors are allowed to practice both during driver’s education and afterwards with a licensed driver over the age of 21 that has been driving at least one year. It is important to pay attention during driver’s education because a passing grade of A or B will benefit you during the licensing process. Those taking drivers education through school and receive at least a B may be exempt from the driving test.
Cost of a Illinois learners permit
A learners permit cost is $20 for a first time permit.
Steps to getting an Illinois Learners permit
- Gather together all required pieces of identification in advance and minors enroll in an approved driver’s education program before visiting your local DSD office.
- Submit proofs of age and birth date, signature, residency and law presence in the US as well as your social security card to the clerk with your permit application. Minors will also show proof of enrollment in driver’s education and a parent consent form.
- Take the vision exam and written test. Pass each test with the requirements to proceed.
- Pay the required $20 permit fee- (if you receive your license before the permit expires you will not need to pay additional fees).