Delaware Learner's Permit Test
Study Material AvailableDMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Delaware Learner's Permit Test.
- Delaware DMV Cheat Sheet
- Delaware DMV Online Practice Test
Getting a Delaware Learners permit
Who needs a learners permit?
All residents of Delaware who wish to get a license must first drive with a learners permit. Applicants 16 years of age and older may begin the process at their local DMV office as part of the graduated license program.
Requirements to getting a learners permit
Minor applicants must first complete a certified driver’s education program before applying. A ‘Blue Certificate’ of completion is required at the time of application. In addition applicants must provide the DMV with the following documentation in accordance with REAL ID policy:
- One primary document and one secondary document from the approved list- this must be an original document and contain the applicant’s full name and age.
- A social security card is required- if the applicant does not have a number, proper proof of legal permission to occupy a resident in the US is required.
- Two proofs of residency- the residency requirement will be waived if the applicants sponsor can provide a legal residence that the minor occupies full time.
- An approved sponsor’s signature is required- this verifies that an adult parent or guardian will take responsibility for the minor during both practice and testing and if at any feels the applicant is not ready for a license they can terminate the process.
Driving with a DE learners permit
During the first six months a driver is practicing with a level 1 learners permit, the drivers sponsor must be in the vehicle at all times. You and your sponsor will complete the required 50 hours of practice time together, with the sponsor signing your driving log at the end of each practice session. Ten of these hours must be done during nighttime hours but it is advised to gain a little experience before completing this portion. Drivers are also restricted from driving from 10pm until 6am unless supervised and is for the transportation to and from school, work or church activities.
Minors are not permitted to use a cell phone or any electronic device at any time while driving. It is important to follow the restrictions carefully as any violation will consider the minor driving without a license and suspension of privileges will occur. This includes traffic violations from disobeying laws so it is equally important that the new driver study carefully using the Drivers Manual and Cheat Sheets produced by Dmvcheatsheets.com.
Cost of a Delaware learners permit
There is no separate charge for a learners permit. When you have completed the program and are receiving your license there is a fee of $25 or $40 depending on the license type that includes the price of your learners permit and testing. License fees can be paid with a check/money order, cash, or a credit card if the person can provide a photo ID.
Steps to getting a Delaware Learners permit
- Complete a certified driver’s education program that includes 30 classroom hours and 6 behind the wheel hours of training with a licensed instructor.
- Visit your local DMV office during business hours and fill out an application. Your sponsor will then sign the appropriate box.
- Take a photograph as the first step in the process.
- Present to the clerk the following documents.
- Your application with sponsor signature and ‘Blue Certificate’ of driver’s education completion.
- One primary and one secondary document from the approved list to prove identity, age and legal presence.
- Your social security card or equivalent.
- Two proofs of residency or confirmation form a sponsor of your legal address that you must share.
- If all documentation is approved and can be verified, a vision exam will be given.
- Take the “Rules of the Road” and “Highway Sign and Signal” written tests. You must correctly answer 19 out of the 25 questions to pass each test.
- The final step in the process will be your road test issued by appointment only. You must wait 10 days after passing the written tests to take this test and must provide your own properly insured vehicle for testing.
- Once you have passed, return to the DMV to complete the process and receive your learners permit www.dmvcheatsheets.com