Delaware Driver's License Written Test
Study Material AvailableDMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Delaware Driver's License Written Test.
- Delaware DMV Cheat Sheet
- Delaware DMV Online Practice Test
New Delaware Drivers License
Who needs a license?
Those wishing to obtain a license in Delaware must first apply and meet state requirements. This includes a number of factors depending on your age and the type of license you are applying for. New residents must also obtain a Delaware license in order to legally operate a vehicle within the state.
Which license is for you?
There are several options for licensing in the state of Delaware:
- Learners Permit- the first step in the licensing process and is required for new drivers.
- Class D is the standard license for all drivers wishing to drive a personal vehicle.
- Class A, B and C Commercial licenses are strictly for those wishing to drive a commercial vehicle.
- Class A and B non commercial driver’s licenses are reserved for non-commercial special vehicles such as farm equipment.
Drivers may also receive endorsements for each type of license, most commonly the motorcycle endorsement allowing drivers to operate a two-wheel motorized vehicle on roadways.
What are the requirements for getting a license?
All applicants must meet age requirements at the time of application. Minors must be at least 16 years old at the time of licensing.
- You will be required to take a photograph at the beginning of your license process
The state of Delaware began the transition to comply with new REAL ID laws in July of 2012 and has made a few changes to the identification standards required to receive a state license. All new drivers must present approved documentation in order to qualify for a license. All documents presented must be originals and contain the applicant’s full name to be accepted. A full list is available on the DMV website and through the Delaware Drivers Handbook.
- You will be required to prove you are a US citizen or legally allowed to reside in the US.
- One document from list A and one from list B are required at the time of application. The primary document from list A must contain the applicants name, date of birth and must be able to be verified. The best choice for list A is an original Birth Certificate but other options are accepted.
- A social security card must be presented for US citizens.
- Each applicant is required to supply two valid proofs of residency. Proofs must contain the applicant’s name, permanent address in Delaware and be verifiable. An excellent option will be an Apartment Lease, Mortgage or Utility Bill.
- Additional documents for underage applicants are required include presenting the ‘Blue certificate’ to prove completion of driver’s education. In addition, the application must be signed by an approved sponsor parent or guardian. The signature provides financial responsibility for the minor and reserves the right to determine the minor is not prepared for the license process at any time.
- Pay the drivers license fee of $25 for a five year license or $40 if you will be holding an eight license with cash, check/money order or a credit card. A photo ID is required for credit card payments.
What tests do I need to take to get a license?
There are several tests involved in the licensing process and applicants must pass each test in order to proceed to the next step:
- A vision exam is the first step in the testing process to assure you can safely see to drive.
- The written test is broken into two parts which are the “Rules of the Road” and “Highway Signs and Signals” portions. Each test is administered by computer and applicants must answer 19 of the 25 questions correctly in order to pass.
- A Road is used to gage your ability to properly control a vehicle as well as how well you obey traffic laws. Your ability to complete maneuvers such as backing up and parking, breaking and accelerating and following traffic signs will also be evaluated.
Taking a driver’s education course
The driver’s certificate which is commonly referred to as the ‘blue certificate’ must be presented when applying for a learners permit. The course must be state approved and consist of 30 hours in-class training combined with 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction administered by a licensed teacher. All minors between the ages of 16 and 18 are required to take drivers education as part of the licensing process.
Preparing for the written test
Proper studying habits are essential for passing the written exams. You will find all of the materials you need by using the cheat sheets available on dmvcheatsheets.com and contained in your Drivers Manual. Use the Cheat sheets to study and pass the test on your first try.
In addition you will need to take several practice tests found on dmvcheatsheets.com to be sure you are ready for the computerized testing process.
Important information such as traffic signs, laws and how to handle your vehicle safely on roadways is the key materials necessary in order to pass the two written tests. Study hard and save yourself the hassles of repeating the testing process.
Scheduling an appointment
You must schedule an appointment for the drivers test portion of the application process. It cannot be scheduled for less than ten days after passing the written tests.
What to bring on test day
Applicants must bring the following to test day for written tests:
- Required documents – One primary and one secondary document from the approved list that include the applicant’s full name, age and can be verified.
- A social security card or equivalent.
- Two proofs of residency for adults, minors may use verification of sponsors address if they reside together.
- Minors must also bring the ‘Blue Certificate’ of completion for an approved driver’s education program.
- The appropriate fees in the form of a check/money order, cash or credit card. Be sure to bring Photo ID for credit card use. Be prepared to pay $25 for a five year license or $40 if applying for an eight year.
Proof of insurance
Drivers must present proof of insurance at the time of the road test for the vehicle they intend to use during the exam.
Taking the written test
The written tests consist of two parts which include the “Rules of the Road” and Highway Sign and Signal exams. Testing is done on a computer at the DMV office and you must correctly answer 19 out of 25 test questions correctly in order to pass. The computer is designed to automatically end testing if more than 7 questions are answered incorrectly so be prepared to pass.
- Rules of the Road Test- This will consist of questions pertaining to traffic laws and proper maneuvers while driving. Questions may include information on speed limits, traffic signals and safety maneuvers.
- Highway Signs and Signals Test- Be prepared to identify commonly found traffic signs by shape or color and explain what the use of each sign may be.
You can prepare for both tests by studying the information you will find in your Delaware Drivers Manual. Cheat Sheets created by Dmvcheatsheets.com contain all of the vital information you will find on the written tests and are a key tool guaranteed to help you pass your tests. You may also obtain state-specific practice tests www.dmvcheatsheets.com designed exactly like the questions you will find on the actual tests.
Taking the drivers test
The drivers test may be taken ten days after successfully passing the written tests and vision exam. You must schedule an appointment in advance for this test. You must bring the following to testing:
- Valid registration for your vehicle and proper proof of insurance
- The drivers license of your escort. Escorts must be over the age of 21
- Your valid learners permit
The test is administered by a licensed examiner and in the vehicle you have provided for testing. The test will consist of several aspects of driving essential to be safe while on the road including gauging your ability to use vehicle equipment such as lights, wipers and seatbelts. Your use of turning signals and ability to properly execute a turn will also be graded. Proper maneuver such as parallel parking, merging into traffic and three point turns will be graded. You must be able to maintain proper control of the vehicle at all times during testing to pass.
Renewing your Delaware Drivers license
How do I renew my D license?
Renewals may be completed at any DMV office up to 180 days before its expiration. You must renew your license if you wish to continue legally operating a vehicle on public roads. License renewal in Delaware is transitioning to the 8 year licensing program so while the transition is in process your renewal date may be 5 or 8 years depending. Check your license for the exact expiration date.
What tests do I need to take to renew
You must retake the vision exam each time you renew your license. In some cases the written exams may be administered but drivers with this requirement will be notified with their reminder letter mailed to them.
What is the cost to renew my license?
Renewal fees can be paid in the form of cash, check/money order or by credit card if you hold a proper photo ID. Cost of renewal depends on the year your license expires:
- Five year expiration cost is $25
- Eight year expirations cost $40
- There is a $1.15 addition fee for late renewals
Steps to renew your license
Renewing your driver’s license can be an easy process:
- Visit your DMV office anytime within 180 days of expiration.
- You must take your new photograph first.
- Supply your current license to the clerk and take the vision exam.
- If required, retake the written exams with a passing score.
- Have your fingerprint taken and turn in your current license. You will be issued a temporary paper license after paying the appropriate renewal fees by check, cash, money order or credit card.