Arizona Learner's Permit Test
The Arizona Motor Vehicle Department (Arizona MVD) is responsible for the safety and enforcement of operating a motor vehicle in Arizona. All residents are required, by law, to have an Arizona license to drive a car, motorcycle or commercial vehicle.
MVD offers services for vehicle title and registration and for obtaining a new Arizona driver license.
Study Material AvailableDMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Arizona Learner's Permit Test.
- Arizona MVD Cheat Sheet
- Arizona MVD Online Practice Test
Getting an Arizona Learners Permit
If you are at least 15 years and 6 months old and wish to operate a vehicle, you must apply for a learners permit as the first step in the graduated license process. You will be required to drive with this restricted permit for at least 6 months, accompanied by a licensed driver over the age of 21 at all times before you can move on the next step. Motorcycle permits are available to anyone over the age of 15 ½, and commercial licenses to those adults wishing to drive for a living.
Requirements to getting a Learners PermitTo receive your learners permit you must meet the age requirements at the time of application. In addition you must being the required proof including:
- A completed application that you can begin online in advance. You must apply in person so be sure to print your application and sign the appropriate areas.
- Two approved documents for proof of identity; one from the primary list and one from the secondary along with a photo ID. If no photo ID is available, you must provide three approved documents.
- Proof of citizenship with your social security card
- Proof of residency such as a school report card, pay stub or lease.
In addition, your parent or legal guardian must be present at the time of application and sign the parental consent portion of the application.
Driving with a AZ Learners Permit
While driving with a learners permit you must have an approved driver over 21 sitting behind you in the vehicle at all times. The state of Arizona requires you to complete a minimum of 30 behind the wheel practice hours, 10 of which must be during night-time. When taking your road test you will be quizzed on your knowledge of traffic signs, so be sure to continuously review your Arizona Drivers Handbook. At the end of the 6 month period, your licensed driver must certify that all required hours have been completed when you apply for your graduated license. Read up on some valuable Tips for Passing Your Road Driver’s Test in Arizona online to assure you pass the road test on the first try.
Cost of an Arizona Learners Permit
An instructional drivers permit cost is $7. The motorcycle driver’s permit is also $7.
Steps to getting an Arizona Learners Permit
Gather together all of your required proof in advance and study the Arizona Drivers Handbook to assure you will pass the written test. You must bring your parent or guardian on the day of application to verify permission to drive with the branch office if under 18.
- Submit your application along with two required documents for proof of identity, photo ID and social security card. If you cannot provide picture identification, bring a third piece of identity from the approved list.
- Pass the Vision test and written permit test
- Pay the $7 permit cost in the form of a check, cash or money order. (Some branches allow credit card payments but it is best to call in advance)
Get more information on your Arizona Learner’s permit at: DMVCheatSheets.com Permit Test