Master the MN
Driver's Written Test!
Our Proven Study Material
Since 2008 we have helped tens of thousands of people quickly and easily pass their DMV written test.
Whether you are a first time driver getting your permit or just need to renew your license, our material can help. We offer super quick "get it and go" cheat sheets as well as more inclusive online practice test questions and answers.
Why It's Not Free
The old adage of "you get what you paid for" is especially true in online education. Every month, our editors are working to add and improve the questions and material we offer, as well as keeping it updated. It takes significant time and money to ensure you get the very best study material available so that you are guaranteed to pass on the first try.
Free sites are nice, but ask yourself, what's the catch?
The DMVCheatSheets Guarantee
If you don't pass your written test we will REFUND you 100% of your purchase with us.
Study Material Available
New Minnesota Drivers License
Who Needs a License?
Each type of vehicle you will find on state roadways requires the driver to be experienced using the vehicle and aware of how to operate a motorized vehicle safely. In order to assure that all drivers in the state are aware of traffic laws, rules of the road and road signs to avoid accidents, anyone wishing to operate a motor vehicle must first obtain a license. This can be done at your local Driver and Vehicle Services office.
Which License is for you?
- A provisional driver’s license is specifically for minor drivers under the graduated license program; you must be 16 years old and completed all previous requirements.
- A Class D DMVCheatSheets.com license is the average license obtained in the state by individuals wishing to operate a motor vehicle for personal use. You must be 18 years old to obtain this full-privilege license.
- A Class A, B or C CDL license allows over 18 drivers to operate both a Class D personal vehicle and a commercial vehicle for work use.
- To operate a motorcycle or moped, drivers with a Class D operator’s license will test and meet the requirements for the endorsement to be added to the Operators license as it is not a separate license.
What are the Requirements for getting a License?
When taking both the written and driving portion of testing, you will be required to submit proof of your full legal name and date of birth before you will be granted permission to take the tests.
When applying for a license you must bring with you a current Minnesota drivers license, state ID or learners permit. The primary document must contain your full legal name, date of birth. If you do not posses one these three you must submit one primary and one secondary form of identification from the approved list online as an alternative.During the application process, you will need several other required documents in addition to proof of identification including:
- Temporary and new residents to the United States must bring proof of lawful presence.
- If your name has changed at any time since birth, documentation of the change must be provided.
- You are required to provide your social security number during the process or if one has not been issued, proof of legal presence in the US.
- Minors will also be required to present proof of successful completion of driver’s education with the license application and a parent or guardian must sign the application to give permission for licensing.
What Tests do I need to get a License?
- A knowledge exam issued in written test form must be passed when applying for any license or permit. The knowledge test is administered at testing stations and can be given in written or computerized form.
- A vision screening is required whenever applying for a new license or permit, or renewing a current license.
- The road test portion of testing is the final step towards licensing for all new drivers.
Taking a Drivers Education Course
Successful completion of an approved driver’s education program is required for all minors wishing to obtain a drivers license. Proof of completion will be required at the time of road testing. The course must contain behind the wheel instruction in order to qualify as an approved course.
Preparing for the Written Test
You must receive an 80% score or better on the written test in order to be licensed. The test will consist of both multiple choice and true/false questions and the materials covered will concern traffic laws and rules on the road. Additional questions will cover commonly found road signs. Follow these steps to assure you pass the test on the first try:
- Obtain your study materials which should include cheat sheets from www.dmvcheatsheets.com DMVCheatSheets.com and the Drivers Handbook found online or in hard copy at the DMV office.
- Also acquire several practice tests to use throughout your study time.
- Develop a study plan to cover all materials properly including set times you will allow for learning. Studying your cheat sheets DMVCheatSheets.com every day is the best way to assure a passing score.
- Take practice tests as a gauge of your learning process and do not take the actual test until you can achieve the passing score during practice tests.
Scheduling an Appointment
An appointment is required for the road test portion of the license process. All other business is on a walk in basis only.
What to Bring on Test Day
On the day of the written test you will need to bring your identification and proof of legal presence documentation and be prepared to supply a social security number.
On the day of your road test the same identification will be required, usually in the form of your valid permit which is also required to take the test. You will also need to bring your proof of completion for an approved driver’s education course if under 18. A vehicle must be provided on test day as well that can pass the safety inspection. You will need to bring proof of registration and insurance.
Costs of a Drivers Test
In order to take the tests for a license, each new driver must pay the license fees of $23.25 for under 21 or $14.25 for a provisional license before the test will be administered. Over 21 license fees will cost $23.25.
Testing fees only apply after the driver has failed the tests multiple times. Once the applicant reaches the testing limit covered by the license fee, they must pay $10 per written retest and $20 each retake of the road test.
Proof of Insurance
Proof of insurance is required for the vehicle being used during the road test, and if a vehicle is being registered in the new drivers name on the day of application.
Taking the Written Test
You must visit a testing center in order to complete the written test as part of your licensing process. You must provide proper identification before being permitted to take the written test usually in the form of a current license from another state, valid permit or Minnesota state ID. If you cannot provide any of these options, you may use a primary and secondary document in their place. The test is a mixture of true/false and multiple choice questions regarding the traffic laws, rules and commonly found road signs within the state.
You must receive a score of 80% or better to pass the written test, which can be administered on paper or computer form. Two consecutive failures will result in an additional $10 charge for each retake after so it is important to study in advance before testing. Using your cheat sheets and practice tests DMVCheatSheets.com available online will assist you in passing your test on the first try.
Taking the Driving Test
The road test will evaluate all new drivers’ abilities to obey traffic laws and rules of the road while maneuvering in regular traffic. The applicant must supply a vehicle for the road test that is in good working condition. As part of the testing procedure, the examiner will test the vehicle with a safety checklist and require proof of insurance and registration. Proper documentation must also be shown in the form of a valid permit and identification.
Once testing begins the examiner will issue a series of directions to the applicant that must be followed completely. Instructions may include such items as right and left hand turns and changing lanes properly. During the test the examiner will also evaluate the driver’s ability to recognize road signs and understand the rules of the road. A combination of study time with written materials such as cheat sheets and behind the wheel practice will be necessary to pass the test.
Renewing your Minnesota Drivers License
Who needs to renew their license?
Current drivers wishing to continue driving on roadways without interruption must renew their license by their birthday. A provisional license is only valid for two years from the date of issuance.
How do I renew my Minnesota License?
Renewals are completed in person only at your DMV branch office.
What tests do I need to take to renew?
On-time renewals will be required to retake the vision screening only. If your license is expired or revoke and up for reinstatement, you may be required to retake the written and road tests during application.
Preparing to renew my MN license
Before visiting the DVS office, if you are required to retake the written and road tests, be sure to study your cheat sheets and Drivers Manual in order to assure you pass. If not required, you must still bring any corrective eyewear in order to complete the vision screening. In addition, you must gather the required documents that will include your social security number and current ID or license. Any name changes that have occurred since your last renewal will require documentation as well. Fees are accepted only in check, cash or money order form so be prepared to pay your renewal fees.
What is the cost to renew my license?
Renewal of a Class D license will be $23.35. Provisional license renewals will be $14.25. When the minor driver is upgrading to the adult license on the first renewal on or after they reach 21, the fee will be $19.75.
Steps to renew your license
- Gather your current license, social security number and any other required documents and visit the DMV during office hours.
- Submit a renewal application and required documents for approval.
- Take the vision screening and any other tests that are required.
- Take a new photograph and pay renewal fees to complete the process.
Getting a Minnesota Learners Permit
Who needs a learners permit?
A learner’s permit is required for all new drivers wishing to obtain a license or upgrade to a different class. You must be at least 15 years old to apply for a learners permit.
Requirements for getting a learners permit
You will need to provide the DVS with documentation proving your full legal name, date of birth and lawful presence in the US at the time you apply for a learners permit. The easiest form of identification that can be used would be a current license, permit from another state or a Minnesota ID card. If one of these options cannot be provided, you must choose one primary and one secondary form of proof from the approved documents list found online at the DMV website. In addition, you will need the following:
- You are required to provide proof of legal presence if not a US citizen.
- A valid social security number must be provided.
- A parent or guardian must accompany a minor to the DMV and sign the application as approval for acquiring a learner’s permit.
Driving with a Minnesota learners permit
Depending on the age of the permit holder, there are several restrictions that must be followed during behind the wheel practice with a permit as well as several requirements to fulfill including:
- Drivers under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is over the age of 21 at all times. Use of any cellular device while driving is strictly prohibited. Minors must use a learner’s permit to practice for at least 6 months before taking the road test. During the practice time, an approved driver’s education program must be completed that includes behind the wheel instruction.
- Over 18 permit drivers must be accompanied by a licensed driver over age 18 at all times while on the road. Those 19 and older are required to practice with a learners permit for at least three months before applying for a license.
All drivers are required to complete at least 30 hours of behind the wheel practice time with ten hours during nighttime. Minors must complete the driver’s education 30 hours of classroom training and behind the wheel instruction in addition to this requirement. All permit drivers are not permitted to drive between the hours of midnight and 5 am for safety reasons. Use practice time to become comfortable behind the wheel in order to pass the road test.
Cost of a learners permit
A learner’s permit will cost $11.25
Steps to getting a Minnesota learners permit
A learner’s permit must be obtained in person at the DVS office. Minors are sure to bring a parent or guardian to give permission for you to obtain a learners permit. In addition, you will follow these steps upon arrival:
- Complete a learner’s permit application and submit to the clerk, parents must sign the application in front of the clerk giving the minor permission to learn to drive.
- Submit required proof of identification at this time including a social security number, proof of identity and legal presence in the US.
- Complete a vision screening and pass the written test DMVCheatSheets.com with an 80% or above.
- Take a photograph and pay the renewal fees with a check, cash or money order to complete the process.
The DMVCheatSheets Guarantee
If you don't pass your written test we will REFUND you 100% of your purchase with us.