Illinois Driver's License Info, Driver's License Handbook, DMV Test
Safe Driver Renewal
This program allows Illinois residents with a clean drivers record to renew their license from home and only visit the DMV once every 8 years. If you qualify for a Safe Driver Renewal, you will receive a notice in the mail and can renew on the phone, by mail or via the Internet. Fees range from free for mail to $1.75 if done online.
If you would like to use this program now, you can click here to access the Safe Driver’s website.
Fees for an Illinois Driver’s License
Fees range from $2 to $10 for a basic driver’s license, dependent on age. The complete breakdown can be found in the Illinois DMV Cheat Sheet.
Acceptable Identification (from CyberdriveIllinois.com)
First Time Illinois Drivers License/Identification Card Applicant:An applicant applying for a Drivers License or Identification Card for the first time in the state of Illinois, must present one document from each of Group A, B, C, and D. Temporary Visitor’s Driver’s License applicants are not required to present documents from group C. Instead, they shall submit a letter on Social Security Administration letterhead, issued 90 days prior to the date of application, verifying ineligibility for a social security number.
Duplicate/Corrected Drivers License/Identification Card:An applicant applying for either a duplicate or corrected Drivers License or Identification Card must present one form of identification from Group A, and at least one form from either Groups B, C, or D. Temporary Visitor’s Driver’s License applicants are not required to present documents from group C. Instead, they shall submit a letter on Social Security Administration letterhead, issued 90 days prior to the date of application, verifying ineligibility for a social security number. An applicant who requests a change in Name, Date of Birth, Social Security Number or Gender must provide acceptable identification to create a link pertaining to the change between the previous information and the new information.
Illinois Drivers License/Identification Card Renewal Applicants:Applicants renewing their current Illinois Drivers License or Identification Card need only present their current valid license or ID card. If they do not have their current driver’s license or ID card, then they must present one form of identification from Group A and at least one form from either Groups B, C, or D. Temporary Visitor’s Driver’s License Renewal applicants renewing a current TVDL is required to provide all ID documentation required by a first time TVDL applicant.
A list of acceptable documents can be found in the $CSLINK or online at the Illinois DMV website
Receiving a Driver’s License
- Visit a Driver Services facility when you apply for or renew your license. You will have your photo taken and receive your license, ID or permit at that time. (If eligible for Safe Driver Renewal, you do not have to appear in person to renew your license) .
- Turn in all valid out-of-state licenses, instruction permits and commercial driver’s licenses.
- Pay the appropriate fee.
- Pass the appropriate exams. You may be required to pass a vision screening, written and/or behind-the-wheel driving exam. (Exceptions apply for Safe Driver Renewal.)
Drivers moving to Illinois from out of state may use their valid driver’s license from their home state for 90 days. To receive an Illinois driver’s license, you must visit a Driver Services facility and provide acceptable forms of identification as outlined in the Driver’s License Requirements section. New residents must surrender all out-of-state licenses and/or ID cards, pass a vision screening, a written exam and, possibly, a driving exam.
You must be at least age 18 to obtain a valid driver’s license in Illinois. The following exceptions apply:
If you are age 16 or 17, you may receive your license if you successfully complete a state-approved driver education course; present written certification from a parent/legal guardian or, if there is no parent/legal guardian, a responsible adult age 21 or older stating that you have a minimum 50 hours of practice driving, including 10 hours at night; held a valid instruction permit for a minimum of nine months, and you are sufficiently prepared and able to safely operate a motor vehicle; and pass the three parts of the driver’s license exam.
If you don't pass your written test we will REFUND you 100% of your purchase with us.