Minnesota DMV CDL Laws
Commercial Driver’s License is for people who wish to drive commercial vehicles in Minnesota. The drivers who own a CDL are eligible to drive school bus, trucks, tankers, hazardous material carrying vehicles, etc. Vehicles need to display placards before they can transport hazardous substances. Whether it is applying or renewing or replacing a lost CDL or even applying for a CDL endorsement or suspending a CDL Minnesota DMV plays a very prominent role.
CDL drivers license include Class A, Class B, Class C and Class D vehicles. Each of these are segregated by various endorsements.
- Class A includes vehicles which have 26,000 or more pounds of Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) and Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) below 10,000 pounds.
- Class B to Class D includes single vehicles and GVWR of vehicles should be more than 26,001 pounds or vehicle towing another not going above 10,000 pounds.
- Class C includes GVWR greater than 16,001 pounds and less than 26,001 pounds.
- Class D where the GVWR is lesser than 16,001 pounds.
Minnesota’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is a private organization which functions in setting up the traffic and driving test rules in lieu with the Federal guidelines. Minnesota DMV offers various services like address change, distributing free pamphlets, renewing licenses, conducting tests, providing new licenses, , processing your legal documents, taking pictures of candidates and helping people who wish to take tests and other DMV services and many others which most people use in their day to day life. Minnesota DMV is strict for the teenage drivers. The Minnesota DMV licenses can be used as the State issued ID all over USA. Explore yourself more about the teenage driving restrictions from the Minnesota DMV.
If you wish to drive commercial vehicles, then CDL is a mandatory requirement. Candidates who are above 18 years of age are allowed to apply for a CDL license with any of the endorsements. If you want to drive the commercial vehicles out of the state, then you should be above 21 years of age. The candidate will have to clear the written test followed by the behind the wheels or the skills test for obtaining a basic CDL. In case of any additional endorsements such as vehicles equipped with air brakes or school buses are needed, additional tests will need to be given. Minnesota DMV requires pre-trip inspection which is a partial inspection with checklist of vehicle safety of commercial vehicles before giving the skills test. The candidate will have to pay the fees for the various Class CDLs. Class A needs to pay $42.25, Class B $34.25 and Class C costs $27.25. Commercial driver’s licenses in Minnesota always expire on the birthday of the applicant and should be renewed every 4 years after the candidate reaches 21 years of age.
Interstate Transport Requirements
A CDL obtained for commercial trade, traffic or transport between 2 states or countries or even 2 places within a state on a route that bypasses another country or state. It can also be 2 places in a state as part of trade or traffic terminating or originating out of state. In Minnesota, interstate driving refers to driving within the state for leisure purposes and interstate transportation refers to transportation which doesn’t involve interstate level.
Commercial Motor Carrier Requirement
This is one of the Federal standards designed to improve highway safety by the 1986 Commercial Motor Vehicle safety Act. The main purpose of this act was to ensure whether the drivers are qualified to drive the commercial vehicles and remove unsafe drivers from the highways. Commercial motor carrier rule applies for those vehicles which belong to employer or employee and may be subject to motor carrier requirements. This is inclusive of the single unit vehicles over 10,000 pounds GVW and vehicles which are used for delivering packages. This kind of commercial motor vehicle rule is also applicable for the vehicles used or designed for transporting more than 8 passengers inclusive of the driver for collecting the compensation. However, the person applying for this category of CDL need to possess a valid US Department of Transportation (DOT) medical examiner certificate.
Restrictions and Endorsements
Additional fee needs to be paid in order to get your CDL endorsed for special vehicles.
- Hazardous materials
- Passenger vehicle
- School bus transport
- Tanker and Hazardous materials
Restrictions such as the below are imposed on the Minnesota CDL.
- (K) Interstate only
- (L) Non air brakes vehicles
- (V) FMSCA waiver
You should also check what are the restrictions on the number of hours of drive. This will be including the vehicle maintenance, inspection and insurance requirements.