I just moved to Illinois. How do I get my license and vehicle registered?
If you’re moving to Illinois, there’s a good chance you’ve come to connect with nature or start a new, exciting career. When you’re moving to the Prairie State, you are required to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license and out-of-state vehicle registration. Here’s what you need to know about completing both tasks successfully.
When Are You Required to Transfer Your Out-of-State Driver’s License to Illinois?
In the state of Illinois, you are allowed to use your valid out-of-state driver’s license for 90 days once you establish residency in this state. Once the 90-day grace period expires, you must obtain a new Illinois driver’s license or identification card if you plan on becoming a resident of this state.
How to Transfer Your Out-of-State Driver’s License to Illinois
There are different steps you are required to take to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license to the state of Illinois. Here’s what you need to know.
Visit an Illinois SOS Location
As a new resident of Illinois, you need to apply in person at your local Illinois Secretary of State (IL SOS) office with the required documentation to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license to the state of Illinois. Be advised, all SOS locations in Illinois do not provide the same services.
Provide the Required Documents
In order to successfully transfer your out-of-state driver’s license to Illinois, you need to provide certain documentation. You need to present these documents and payment(s) at your local IL SOS office:
Proof of identity
Proof of birthdate
Proof of social security number
Proof of Illinois residency
Payment for all applicable license transfer fees
Pass the Vision Test
A vision screening is required to ensure IL drivers have suitable eyesight to safely operate a motor vehicle. The minimum accepted eyesight score if 20/40. A licensed ophthalmologist, optometrist, or physician can complete the required Vision Specialist Report. This vision test can also be completed at your local IL SOS office. Click here to download the Vision Specialist Report form.
Pass the Written Test
The written test for the state of Illinois consists of 35 multiple choice questions. These multiple-choice questions cover essential traffic laws and road signs throughout the state. In order to pass the IL written test, you must obtain a score of 80% or higher, which means you can’t miss more than 7 questions.
Receive Your Temporary Illinois Driver’s License
Once you complete the above-listed tasks, the IL SOS office will give you a temporary IL driver’s license. Your permanent IL driver’s license will arrive in the mail in a few weeks. Your temporary driver’s license for this state can be used as proof of identity.
What If You’re From a Different Country?
If you’re from a different country, and you intend on becoming a resident of Illinois, you must transfer your driver’s license to Illinois before the 90-day grace period expires. The Illinois SOS doesn’t recognize an international driver’s license. Keep in mind, an international driver’s license is not required for new residents of Illinois that are foreign.
What Happens If You Miss the Out-of-State Driver’s License Transfer Deadline?
New residents of IL are given a 90-day grace period to transfer their out-of-state driver’s license to the state of Illinois. All new residents of this state must have their necessary affairs in order in their previous state. Before you move to IL, make sure everything is settled in your current state. If the necessary affairs are not in order by the time you move to IL, a police officer could issue a citation for the failure to comply with state mandates.
That’s it! You know everything you need to know about transferring your out-of-state license to the state of Illinois, but we’re not done. Now, it’s time to learn about transferring your vehicle’s out-of-state registration to Illinois.
Registering Your Out-of-State Vehicle In Illinois
You must provide certain documents and payment(s) to successfully transfer your out-of-state vehicle registration to the state of Illinois. To correctly complete the out-of-state Illinois vehicle registration, you need:
The vehicle’s current title
Proof of a valid IL auto insurance policy
Odometer disclosure statement
Application for a Vehicle Transaction (Form VSD 190) You can fill out this form electronically on the IL state site.
If you’re moving to Illinois, your vehicle(s) must be registered with the IL SOS office.
New Residents of Illinois
As a new resident of Illinois, there are different requirements you must meet and documents and payments you are required to provide. Here’s what you need to provide at your local IL SOS office:
An Application for Vehicle Transaction (Form VSD 190). This form is available at your local IL SOS office or online. Be advised, you have 7 days to submit this form to the IL SOS office in addition to all the required documentation.
Valid proof of Illinois residency
The original vehicle title and vehicle registration
If an out-of-state lien holder is in possession of the vehicle’s title, you need to provide a copy of the vehicle’s title and the certificate of origin or a copy of the loan agreement and the bill of sale.
A description of the vehicle, including the:
Year, model, and make
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
Date of purchase and whether the vehicle is new or used
The applicable tax form:
Private Party Vehicle Tax Transaction form (Form RUT-50), if the vehicle was purchased from a previous owner
Vehicle Use Tax Transaction Return Form (Form RUT-25), if the vehicle was purchased from a car dealer
Payment for the vehicle registration and tax fees:
Registration fees: $151 to $164
Vehicle title fees: $50
Tax fees: based on the current value of the vehicle and if it was purchased from a private party
Did you know you could apply for a registration reduction fee if you drive an electric vehicle? This information is per the Alternative Fuels Data Center (AFDC).
Your license plates, or temporary registration permit (TRP) will be issued if you are applying for personalized or vanity license plates.
Illinois SOS Mailing Address
If you are mailing the required documents instead of applying in person at your local IL SOS office, mail the necessary forms and payment(s) to:
Secretary of State
Vehicle Services Department
ERT Section, Rm 424
501 S. 2nd St
Springfield, IL 62756
Illinois SOS Branch Locations
Illinois has different SOS branch locations where you may be able to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license and out-of-state vehicle registration.
Illinois Secretary of State - Chicago Heights Branch
570 W. 209th St.
Chicago Heights, IL 60411
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday (8:30 AM to 5 PM)
Wednesday (8:30 AM to 5:30 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)
Illinois Secretary of State - Springfield Branch
213 State Capitol
Springfield, IL 62756
Monday - Friday (8 AM to 4:45 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)
Illinois Secretary of State - Bloomington Branch
1510 W. Market St.
Bloomington, IL 61701
Tuesday (8 AM to 5:30 PM)
Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday (8 AM to 5 PM)
Saturday, Sunday, and Monday (Closed)
Illinois Out-of-State Driver’s License and Out-of-State Vehicle Registration Transfer Q&A
Q. How Long Can You Live in Illinois With an Out-of-State Driver’s License?
60-90 days before your out-of-state driver’s license expires (time allotted depends on your unique situation)
Q. How Long After Moving to Illinois Do You Have to Register Your Vehicle?
30 days after establishing residency in the state.
Q. How Much Does It Cost to Get Your Car Registered In Illinois?
It will cost $151 to $164. There is also a $50 vehicle title fee.
Q. Do I Need Proof of Residency to Get an Illinois Driver’s License?
Yes, you need to provide a valid proof of residency, such as a utility bill, voter’s registration, etc.
Q. Can I Register My Car In Illinois With an Out-of-State License?
Yes. As long as your vehicle is correctly registered in a different state.
Q. Can I Live in Illinois and Have a Car Registered In a Different State?
No. The state of Illinois does not allow you to live in the state and have your vehicle registered in a different state.
Q. How Much Does It Cost to Register a Car In Illinois From A Different State?
The standard fee for registering a vehicle In Illinois from a different state is $95.
Q. Does Illinois Require Smog Check or Vehicle Inspections?
The state of Illinois does not require smog inspections unless you live close to Chicago.
- I Just Moved to Missouri. How Do I Transfer My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Wisconsin. How Do I Get My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Arizona. How Do I Transfer My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Maryland. How Do I Get My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Colorado. How Do I Transfer My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration
- All Articles