How to get a Graduate Driving License in Nevada
It is very essential that your teenage children are aware of Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws in Nevada as the number of car crashes are topping among the teens in US. Research says that about 43% of the car crashes can be reduced if your kid is well educated about the GDL Laws.
Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) in Nevada
GDL Laws are designed for helping teenage children to gain good experience and skills in order to lower the high risk conditions before they get their full privilege drivers license.
Nevada DMV has a system for providing Graduated Driver Licensing learning permit for teenage drivers when the teen reaches 15 ½ years of age. However, your teenage kids should be supervised for driving by an adult who is no younger than 21 years of age, and Nevada DMV is very much strict about this rule. Failure to follow this will result in huge fine or loss of permit.
Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Nevada is a private organization which sets up traffic and driving test rules in order to follow the Federal guidelines. DMV provides various services like address change, conducting tests, renewing licenses, providing new licenses, taking pictures of candidates applying for license, distributing free pamphlets and helping people who wish to take tests and other DMV services, processing your legal documents required for applying license, and many others which most people use in their day to day life. Though Nevada DMV is not so strict for over 18 licenses, it has tight rules for the Graduate Driver Licensing (GDL). The licenses that Nevada DMV provides can be used as State issued ID all over USA.
To be eligible to apply Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) driving permit at Nevada DMV, the following conditions need to be satisfied.
- The teenager should be no younger than 15 ½ years of age. Once the kid is eligible for the permit, he/she needs to wait for 6 more months in order to apply for the intermediate license after taking the approved drivers education and certified 50 hrs during day and 10 hours during night. Once the teenager is 16 years of age, he/she is eligible for an intermediate license.
- To qualify for full drivers’ license, one must be 18 years of age.
- The applicant should hold the instruction permit for at least 6 months
- The applicant should not have met with any kind of accidents, including but not limited to moving violation crime, alcohol or drug conviction within 6 months after applying
Make sure you visit the official DMV site for more information on the paper work you need to submit during your application for driver’s license.
How to obtain graduate driving license?
- Getting a Graduate Driver’s License has 3 stages –
- Learner’s permit
- Intermediate permit
- Full privilege permit
The students are expected to fill in an application form, take picture at the Nevada DMV and pass the written test before they can get the learner’s permit. You can apply when you are 15 ½ years old. In order to get your learner’s permit, you will have to pay the fee, get your pictures taken and appear for a written permit test. This test comprises of questions on road safety, traffic signals and rules and safe driving rules. Make sure you learn them thoroughly either from internet or from the DMV manual where you can get sample questions. You can get tons of free questions online that can help you clear the tests easily.
Once the teenager has got learner’s permit, in order to apply for an intermediate permit, they will have to complete driver education from a public school or a private driving school. At this time you should be no younger than 16 years of age. You will need to practice under the supervision of an elder over 21 years of age who has a valid license and should be seated in the passenger seat always. During the intermediate stage, you will need to complete 50 hours of behind the wheel experience and minimum of 10 hours at night. If you can’t get the driver’s education within 30 miles of your residence, then you should make sure that you complete 100 hours at least under a supervised instructor. Make sure you keep all the written longs of dates and time you practiced and take signature from your supervisor.
Now that you have your intermediate license, you need to prepare more to appear for your behind the wheels test inspected by the DMV official. Make sure you follow all the safety driving rules and traffic signals and answer questions correctly. Once you clear the test with a minimum number of mistakes expected, you will get your full privilege permit. If you fail the test, you will have to retake the driving test.
- I Just Moved to Missouri. How Do I Transfer My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Wisconsin. How Do I Get My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Arizona. How Do I Transfer My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Maryland. How Do I Get My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Colorado. How Do I Transfer My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration
- All Articles