Frequently Asked Questions about the Florida Learners Permit course
You will need to complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course and also pass your learner’s permit test before you plan to apply for a learner’s permit which is also known as the restricted driver’s license. The Florida Learners permit course is the authorized course and test certified by Florida department of Motor vehicles and Highway safety (DMV and DHSMV). This course helps you cover the most appropriate milestone required to fulfill your Florida learner’s permit.
Below are some of the most frequently asked questions about the Florida Learners Permit course.
What are the eligibility criteria to apply for Florida Learners Permit?
- A candidate should be minimum 18 years old in order to get your Florida driver’s license. However you will be issued a learner’s permit once you reach 15.5 years.
- In case you are below 18 years of age, then you should be keeping the learner’s permit for at least 1 year before you get your operator’s license.
- If you are above 18 years of age then you should try to get your operator’s license at the earliest after taking the mandatory Learners permit DATA course and also the DMV test.
What is the process for getting the Learners permit?
1. Every aspiring candidate should mandatorily take Learners Permit DATA Course here: http://www.123driving.com/learners-permit.shtml
2. A candidate must be at least 14.5 years old in order to take the DATA course.
3. When you get 15 years or older, you are eligible to take the DMV written Exam. This test can be taken online as well.
4. Next step is to visit your DMV office for taking the vision test and capture your head shot picture.
5. Sign up for the course which is approved statewide in Florida.
H2. All about the Florida Learner’s permit course
- Where do you find the course materials?
All course materials, test prep and test are available online.
- How often can I access the course and test?
The course materials, test prep as well as test is available 24×7 and can be accessed as many times as possible. Online free practice tests are also available at DMVCheatSheets.com
- What do you mean by DATA?
This is a course specifically designed for drug, alcohol and driver course. However the official name for this course is TLSAE – Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course.
- What is the course length?
The Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course extends up to 4 hours and can be completed at your own pace in the 24 hours timeline and 7 days a week.
- What is permit prep?
The resource materials needed to get you restricted Florida driver’s license is the permit prep. This permit prep helps you to prepare the written DMV exam, online permit test or any other permit exam.
- How does the course work?
The total duration of the course is 4 hours in which 7 chapters need to be completed. Each chapter is allocated with a specific amount of time and you must spend the minimum timeslot before proceeding. If you want to save your time then make sure you log out any time and continue from the left portion the next time you login. At the end of the course there is a test with 40 questions out of which 32 marks need to be scored to complete the course successfully. This learner’s permit test is free and can be taken any number of times as necessary.
Can DMV test and learner’s permit test be taken on separate websites?
No, this is not feasible. Both the tests have to be taken on the same site. DMV test has to be taken after completing the learner permit course. If you plan on taking DMV test on another system, then you should be repeating the learners permit course even if you have taken it before.
What are the contents of Florida DMV test?
The DMV written test covers the following:
- 20 multiple choice questions comprising Road rules. Out of this, at least 15 should be correct in order to pass and get the learners permit.
- 20 multiple choice questions comprising Road signs. 15 should be correctly answered to pass the test again.
- The vision test must be cleared with 20/40 in both the eyes with or without using the corrective lens.
What should be my next step after completing the permit prep and the DMV test?
Successful completion of the course will be directly reported to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor vehicles. The completion certificate copy will be sent to the candidates who have passed the test. After successfully completing the permit prep course and the DMV test you can schedule an appointment and get the appropriate documents to DMV.
You can check out more information on Florida Learner’s permit course over here. You can also take the online DATA course as well as the DMV test on their website.
- I Just Moved to Missouri. How Do I Transfer My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Wisconsin. How Do I Get My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Arizona. How Do I Transfer My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Maryland. How Do I Get My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration?
- I Just Moved to Colorado. How Do I Transfer My Driver's License and Vehicle Registration
- All Articles