Driver's License

Wyoming Driver's License Written Test

The Wyoming DMV (Department of Transportation) is responsible for licensing the drivers of Wyoming, registration & title, investigating complaints, and maintaining records. The driver license section of the WY DOT offers a wealth of resources, from FAQs to manuals to written practice tests. You can also use the WY DOT website to schedule an appointment and find driver test locations.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Wyoming Driver's License Written Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Wyoming DOT Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Wyoming driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Wyoming DOT Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Wyoming DOT exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the WY DOT manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Wyoming DOT Cheat Sheet
  • Wyoming DOT Online Practice Test
The Wyoming DOT Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DOT test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Wyoming DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the WY DOT manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

New Wyoming Drivers License

Which License is for you?

Each new resident to the state of Wyoming and new driver must first apply for a driver’s license from one of the listed classes at your local Department of Transportation depending on your licensing needs:

  • Class I is an instructional permit required for a new license applicant to learn how to drive.
  • The Class C license will allow drivers to operate a vehicle under the weight of 26,001 pounds for personal use. This license also allows for operation of an off road vehicle or moped.
  • A Class M license allows for operation of a motorcycle with two wheels or three wheeled bike. Drivers may also operate a moped and off road types.
  • Commercial licenses Class A and B are required for operation of a commercial vehicle. Drivers may also receive specific endorsements for special driving situations.

What are the Requirements for getting a License?

Requirements for getting a license will include the following:

  • Proof of identity- First time applicants to the state must supply a state certified original birth certificate and state issued photo ID. A passport issued in the US may be used as a substitute for the birth certificate.
  • Provide a social security card or proof a valid social security number.
  • Two proofs of residency from the approved list found in the Drivers Handbook.
  • In addition, all new applicants must take the vision, written and driving skills tests and pass each.
  • Special requirements for minors may also include proof that an approved driver’s education program has been completed as well as proof that a valid permit has been held for at least 6 months and the required driving practice time completed and logged.

Each new applicant will be required to pay the $20 standard license fee at the time they apply.

What Tests do I need to get a License?

  • The written test will cover all of information found in the DOT Drivers Handbook and cheat sheets found on dmvcheatsheets.com. You must be able to correctly answer 19 out of 25 questions to pass.
  • The road test will test your skills as a new driver and assure that you are ready to drive on roadways safely. All applicants that have never been licensed must pass this test. This test may be waived for those that present proof of completion for a certified driver’s education course.
  • Every driver applying for a license will also take a vision screening at the time of application.

Taking a Drivers Education Course

Driver’s education is required for minors under the age of 18 as a part of the licensing and learning process. The course must include 30 hours of classroom training and six hours behind the wheel instruction with a licensed instructor to be approved in the state. Drivers will receive a card at the end of the course certifying completion. In many cases the drivers testing portion of licensing will be waived for anyone that completes a driver’s education course successfully.

Preparing for the Written Test

There are several effective ways in which to prepare for the written test. Obtaining a copy of the Drivers Handbook either online or by hard copy at your local DMV office will provide you with the beginnings of study. In addition, cheat sheets will assist you in passing the test on your first try.

Be sure to test your knowledge using practice tests also produced by www.dmvcheatsheets.com to assure you know the material well enough for testing. If a high enough score is not achieved during practice tests, re-read the materials until you can achieve a higher score.

What to Bring on Test Day

You will need the following documents on the day of licensing:

  • Your birth certificate or approved alternative.
  • A social security card or proof of a valid social security number.
  • Two valid proofs of residency.
  • Your completed driver’s license application with parent signature if under 18
  • A valid learner’s permit must be submitted that has been held for at least 10 days over 18 and 6 months if a minor. Minors must also present proof that they have completed state required practice time.
  • Minors must also present a completion card for an approved driver’s education course.

Costs of a Drivers Test

You will be required to pay your license fee of $20 before taking the vision and written tests.

Taking the Written Test

The written skills test will determine if the applicant fully understands traffic laws and can properly identify the uses of commonly found traffic signs on roadways. The test will consist of 25 questions and you must answer 19 out of 25 correctly to pass. The test is administered to all new drivers wishing to be licensed in the state.

In order to pass the test you will need to study the information found in your Drivers handbook. To assure a passing grade on the first try obtain cheat sheets www.dmvcheatsheets.com specific for your state containing detailed information found on the written test. You may also take practice tests to assure you are ready for testing. If you do not pass the practice test, return to your materials for extra study before trying again.

Taking the Driving Test

The road test assures the state you are ready to drive on public roadways and will examine your ability to control a vehicle in traffic situations. The test is required for all new drivers unless you have successfully completed driver’s education at which time the test may be waived.

You will be required to perform specific tasks in front of a licensed examiner who will determine if you are ready to be a safe driver on roadways. This test cannot be taken until all other steps have been completed. Drivers will find such aspects as backing up, parking and traveling in traffic on the testing process. In addition you will be expected to know all traffic laws and properly perform driving tasks such as turning and coming to a complete stop.

Renewing your Wyoming Drivers License

Who needs to renew their license?

The state will renew a license for any resident currently holding a valid license. Each license must be renewed every four years; every other renewal may be done by mail.

How do I renew my WY License?

Renewals for drivers over 21 may be done by mail every other application period or once every eight years. Those who qualify for a mail renewal will be sent an application with their renewal notice. All other drivers must apply in person at the DMV office to renew.

What tests do I need to take to renew?

A vision test will be required if you are applying in person. If your license has expired at the time you apply to renew, you will be required to repeat the testing process including the vision, written and driving skills tests.

Preparing to renew my Wyoming license

If you are applying in person, be sure to bring your renewal notice and current driver’s license with you. In addition, you may be required to present specific proofs so it is best to come prepared with proof of identity and residency as well as your social security card. Also be prepared to pay renewal fees of $15 at the time of application.

Those renewing by mail must assure the form is filled in completely and signed, and send the appropriate renewal fees by check along with the form.

Steps to renew your license

In order to renew your license, visit a local DOT branch during business hours and come prepared with documentation proving age, identity, and legal presence. In addition be sure to bring two proofs of residency in case needed during renewal. If there is a change to your license such as new address or name change you must also bring proof of the change.

  • Fill out a renewal application.
  • Present any required proofs necessary and take the vision screening.
  • If your license is expired you will then take the written test and driving skills test and must pass to continue.
  • Pay your renewal fee of $15 by check, cash or money order.
  • Take a new photograph.

Resources