Learner's Permit

Virginia Learner's Permit Test

The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicle (Virginia DMV) is responsible for issuing driving learner’s permits, driver’s licenses, vehicle registration and titles, ID services, license plates and more. While the Virginia DMV’s website provides a number of online services, they appear to have very few oriented towards those looking for a driver’s license. You cannot schedule an appointment online but you can find the location of your nearest office to apply.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Virginia Learner's Permit Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Virginia DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Virginia driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Virginia DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Virginia DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the VA DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Virginia DMV Cheat Sheet
  • Virginia DMV Online Practice Test
The Virginia DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Virginia DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the VA DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

Getting a Virginia Learners Permit

Who needs a learners permit?

All new drivers of any age require a learner’s permit as part of the licensing process and new drivers may begin the process at age 16 and 3 months.

Requirements for getting a learners permit

  • Minors age 19 and under- must bring one document proving residency, one proof of identity, a social security card or proof of a valid number and one proof of citizenship.
  • Adults ages 19 and over- must bring two forms of identification, one proof of residency, one proof of a social security number and one proof of citizenship.
  • Minors will also need parental permission to obtain a learners permit in the form of a signature on the learners permit application.
  • Drivers must pass a vision screening and two-part knowledge test in order to continue.

All new drivers must also pay the combination learners permit/drivers license fee which will be $3 per year for the learners permit plus the $4 per year license fee. This can be paid with check/money order, cash, e-check, credit or check card.

Driving with a VA learners permit

New drivers may only drive with a licensed driver over the age of 21 in the front passenger’s seat at all times, unless the supervising driver is a sibling or legal guardian at which point they may be 18 or older with a valid license. Drivers must complete the required time for minors that includes 45 minutes on the road in practice with 15 being completed at night. If over 19 and not attending driver’s education you must hold the permit for practice for at least 60 days.

Be sure to download and make use of a driver’s checklist which will provide you with all of the items you will be tested on during the road test portion of testing. In addition, read up on some articles for safe driving and tips on passing your road test.

Cost of a learners permit

A learner’s permit/license fee will be due of $3 plus the yearly cost of a license which is $4 per year. The amount will depend on how many years until reaching their 20th birthday.

Steps to getting a Virginia learners permit

To receive a learner’s permit www.dmvcheatsheets.com you must apply in person at a "DMV office and complete the following steps:

  • Complete and sign an application- minors must have parents sign as well.
  • Turn in the application along with required proofs of identity, citizenship, and residency and provide a valid social security number.
  • Take a vision screen and photograph.
  • Take the ten question signs test and answer all correctly, and then complete the general portion with an 80% score to pass.
  • Pay the required fees of $3 plus $4 a year license fee.

Resources