Tx_map

Free Texas DPS Online Practice Test

You are about to take a FREE Sample of the Texas DPS Online Practice Test. The sample test consists of 10 multiple choice questions and answers.

Please select the best answer for each question below and then click "Submit."

1. If you are moving to Texas, how long do you have to obtain a driver’s license?

e.
All of the above
d.
90 days
c.
15 days
b.
45 days
a.
30 days

2. If you are driving on an unpaved road that intersects with a paved road, which vehicle has the right of way?

c.
The vehicle traveling on the unpaved road
b.
The vehicle traveling on the paved road
a.
The vehicle traveling the fastest

3. How close to the curb should you park when parallel parking?

d.
Within 18 inches.
c.
Within 4 inches
b.
Within 6 inches
a.
Within 10 inches

4. What does Texas law say about bicyclists on roadways?

c.
Bicyclists must obey the same traffic laws as cars
b.
Bicyclists should be treated the same as a slow moving vehicle
a.
Bicyclists can not use the left lane when turning

5. On a level highway, how much longer does it take to pass a truck than a car?

f.
All of the above
e.
None of the above
d.
More than 5 seconds longer
c.
3 – 5 seconds longer
b.
1 – 3 seconds longer
a.
The same amount of time

6. Drugs and alcohol are a contributing factor in what percentage of fatal crashes in Texas since 2009?

d.
Over 31%.
c.
10%
b.
15%
a.
25%

7. If you are involved in an accident that is not investigated by law enforcement, and the crash resulted in death or more than $1,000 in property damage, how soon afterwards must you file a report with the Texas Department of Transportation?

d.
10 days from the date of the accident.
c.
48 hours
b.
7 days
a.
5 days

8. Under Texas’ “Zero Tolerance Law” what is the penalty for the first offense for a minor who tries to buy alcohol with a fake driver’s license that says they are 21 years old?

e.
All of the above
d.
8 to 12 hours of community service
c.
Mandatory attendance at an alcohol awareness course
b.
Driver license will be suspended for 30 days
a.
Pay a fine of up to $500

9. When you want to change lanes, how can you see if another vehicle is in your blind spot?

e.
All of the above
d.
Check your rearview mirror only
c.
Turn and glance over your shoulder
b.
Check your sideview mirror only
a.
Check both mirrors only

10. You want to turn left at an upcoming corner. Give the right-of-way to:

c.
Pedestrians on the sidewalk waiting for a "WALK" signal
b.
All approaching vehicles
a.
Oncoming vehicles also turning left