Driver's License

Pennsylvania Driver's License Written Test

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Pennsylvania Driver's License Written Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Pennsylvania DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Pennsylvania driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Pennsylvania DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Pennsylvania DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the PA DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

Add To Cart
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Pennsylvania DMV Cheat Sheet
  • Pennsylvania DMV Online Practice Test
The Pennsylvania DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Pennsylvania DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the PA DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

Add To Cart

New Pennsylvania Drivers License

Who Needs a License?

As each new resident turns 16, they may begin the process for a driver’s license at a local Department of Transportation office. All new drivers must first obtain and drive with a learners permit before they may receive a driver’s license.

Which License is for you?

Each type of license has a specific usage and will require a separate application process. License types you may apply for include:

  • Commercial licenses for use of work are available in the Class A and B types. The Class type you require will be based on the type of vehicle driven.
  • Class C is the license most drivers will obtain and allows you to operate a person vehicle on roadways. A permit is first required for all new drivers.
  • A Class M license gives permission for those over 16 to operate a motorcycle or motor-driven vehicle on roadways. It also requires a separate learner’s permit and testing.

What are the Requirements for getting a License?

In order to receive a license, you must meet specific document requirements as well as the minimum age to begin the process. All new drivers are required to first obtain and practice with a learners permit and the valid permit is required to complete the licensing process. Documentation will include the following:

  • Proof of identity, legal name and birth date.
  • A valid social security card that is signed or an approved equivalent.
  • For adult drivers, two proofs of residency are also required- minors do not need to provide residency proof.
  • Drivers under age 18 must also have a completed parental consent form and driving log signed by a parent that fulfills driving requirements of 65 hours. 10 must be at night and 5 during bad weather conditions.
  • A mandatory fee of $34.50 was paid during the learners permit process that will cover the initial four year license. New residents not required to hold a permit will be requested to pay the fee when they apply for an in-state license.

What Tests do I need to get a License?

  • The written knowledge test Dmvcheatsheets.com will consist of 18 multiple choice questions. You must answer 15 out of 18 correctly to pass.
  • The Vision test is given to all new drivers license applicants and you must meet vision standards to be issued a license.
  • The road test is required for all new drivers as the final test in the license process. You must supply a vehicle for the test that meets safety standards and be able to demonstrate correct driving procedures to pass.

Preparing for the Written Test

The material covered on the written test assures the DOT you’re ready for the responsibility of safely operating motor vehicles on roadways. It will contain information regarding traffic laws you must know and signs found on the roadways you will be using.

In order to prepare for a passing grade you must study materials that contain this information in detail and assure you are prepared by taking practice tests to gage your abilities. Materials you should use include cheat sheets, practice tests and informative articles found on Dmvcheatsheets.com as well as your state Drivers Manual.

Scheduling an Appointment

You may schedule an appointment online for your drivers test. All other services are by walk in only.

What to Bring on Test Day

On the day of the written test you will need to bring your required proofs of identity showing your full legal name, birth date and signature. In addition a signed social security card is required or approved equivalent. Those over 18 must also bring two proofs of residency.

Minors must supply a completed parental certificate of driving practice time with the correct amount of hours listed and signed off by a parent. A valid permit is also required for all new drivers at the time of testing.

Drivers completing the road test portion must bring a valid permit, license of an accompanying driver over the age of 21 and a vehicle to the test. The driver must also have a proof of registration and insurance for the vehicle.

Costs of a Drivers Test

You will be required to pay the four year licensing fee of $34.50 when you begin the licensing process. This starts with a learners permit and fees include the permit and first four year license, as well as all written and vision tests.

Proof of Insurance

Proof of insurance is required for the vehicle you use for the road test and if you are registering a vehicle with the DMV.

Taking the Written Test

The written test is administered at the DOT after the vision test has been passed. It will consist of multiple choice questions concerning traffic signs, signals and laws in the state. Drivers must answer 15 out of 18 correctly to pass and continue on to road testing.

In order to pass the written test you must be familiar with common traffic signs, signals and all laws required to be used while driving. This information can be found in your Drivers Manual and using cheat sheets and practice tests Dmvcheatsheets.com found on online. You must study this material in advance if you wish to pass on the first try.

In addition, dmvcheatsheets.com has also generated many comprehensive articles Dmvcheatsheets.com you may browse offering even more assistance and advice for the testing process.

Taking the Driving Test

The driving test will be administered by appointment only after all other tests have been passed. You may schedule your appointment online. Drivers must supply a vehicle that is properly registered with proof of insurance for the test and the vehicle must pass a safety inspection to be approved. In addition, minor drivers must bring:

  • A completed parental certificate of driving practice completed with the requirements of 65 hours behind the wheel, 10 at night and 5 during adverse weather conditions.
  • An accompanying driver’s license. The driver must be at least 21 years of age and remain at the testing site with the test administered.

All new drivers must bring along a valid learners permit to the test. The examiner will ride along as you complete specific maneuvers behind the wheel and grade your ability to control the vehicle and obey traffic laws. You will also be required to parallel park as part of the testing process. Be sure to read through your driver’s handbook and cheat sheets to understand what actions can cause you an automatic failure such as failing to use your turn signals, before testing so that you avoid retaking the test.

Renewing your Pennsylvania Drivers License

How do I renew my Pennsylvania License?

You will receive a renewal invitation three months before your expiration date which will include instructions for renewal and a requirement list if necessary. The process begins by mailing back in your from and acceptable payment and will continue at the DOT office when you submit documents and retake a photo. The option for online renewal is available to qualifying residents and your renewal letter will inform you of your options.

Preparing to renew my PA license

You must read the renewal letter carefully in order to properly prepare. If you are required to renew in person, be sure to collect your proof of signature, social security card and photo card before attempting to renew. Be sure to obtain the correct form of payment in order to renew.

If you are required to renew in person you may need to retake the vision and in some cases the written portion of testing. If required prepare by studying your cheat sheets for a review of information and bring along any corrective glasses needed to drive.

What is the cost to renew my license?

The cost to renew a four year license is $29.50 for those under 65 years of age. Over 65 renewals are every two years and will cost $19. Fees are payable with check/money order, cash, credit and debit cards.

Steps to renew your license

  • Receive your renewal letter and read over the instructions carefully.
  • If required to appear in person, mail in the application form along with fees for renewal by check or money order only. You will then be issued a photo card that will be taken to a DMV branch office. You will take a new photo and provide proof of signature, social security card and if applicable take any required tests.
  • Allowance of online renewal will be stated in your renewal form. If permission has been given, you may use the online services to renew your license and pay fees form the website.

Resources