Learner's Permit

Oregon Learner's Permit Test

The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (Oregon DMV) is responsible for issuing learners permits, drivers licenses, vehicle registrations and titles, license plates and maintaining driving records. Unfortunately, unlike other state DMV websites you cannot use the Oregon DMV website to schedule your written or road test, but you can find the nearest location for you to take the needed tests. The site is a bit overwhelming but does have a wealth of information.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Oregon Learner's Permit Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Oregon DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Oregon driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Oregon DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Oregon DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the OR DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Oregon DMV Cheat Sheet
  • Oregon DMV Online Practice Test
The Oregon DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Oregon DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the OR DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

Getting an Oregon Learners Permit

Who Needs a Learners Permit?

First time drivers 16 and 17 years of age must apply for a learners permit to receive permission to practice on roadways with a supervising driver. Many excellent resources are available to parents of teen drivers in an attempt to reduce the number of accidents on roadways:

  • WhyDriveWithEd – a driver’s education course that will assist in producing confident young drivers. This course is ODOT approved and reduces the number of on the road practice hours to 50.
  • Online resources such as The Oregon Parent Guide to Teen Driving and the Oregon Driver Manual
  • Websites dedicated to assisting young drivers in becoming safe drivers such as DMVcheatsheets.com offering comprehensive articles full of useful tips for preparing to get behind the wheel. Also practice tests and cheat sheets that will prepare you for the testing process at your DMV.

Requirements to Getting a Learners Permit

Minors under the age of 18 must provide proof of residency, citizenship and identity at the time of application. A school ID with photo can be used to prove identity. In addition, minors must also provide proof of enrollment, completion or exemption in school.

  • A parent or guardian must provide parental consent. You must pass a vision test and Safe Drivers Knowledge Test before you will be issued your permit.
  • Pay the initial cost of a limited term learner’s permit with check, cash or money order.
  • Pass the safe driving practices written test and “Knowledge test” with an 80% score, or 28 out of 35 questions answered correctly.

Driving with a OR Learners Permit

The state of Oregon has strict regulations concerning your practice time on a learners permit. Your approved licensed driver over the age of 21 must be with you at all times while on the road. While not mandatory, it is beneficial to generate a Parent-teen Driving Contract either from a pre-made outline or from scratch. This will help you and your approved driver to understand the expectations during training and set firm rules and guidelines. You must complete 50 hours of supervised driving time with a certification of completion for a driver’s safety course or 100 hours. A minimum of 10 hours must be completed during nighttime hours. Use your driving log to record practice times as proof. Read more on Oregon’s learner’s Permit at DMVcheatsheets.com.

What is the ‘WhyDriveWithEd’ program?

One in five teens will be involved in an accident their first year on the road, and currently auto accidents are the leading cause of death of minors in the US. WhyDriveWithEd was created to assist both teen drivers in being even more prepared for safe driving on Oregon roadways, and parents in helping their child develop driving habits they will use through out adulthood. The benefits of using this approved program are a confident teen driver less likely to be involved in a crash. Teens that use this program need only complete 50 hours of behind the wheel practice to qualify for the drivers test, otherwise you must record 100 hours to be approved.

Steps to Getting an Oregon Learners Permit

In order to receive your learners permit you must complete the following steps:

  • Enroll in a driver’s safety course and receive your certification of completion to reduce the number of logged driving hours from 100 to 50
  • You must apply in person at your local DMV office up to one hour before closing time to allow for testing.
  • Fill out the drivers permit application and present it with your required proof of citizenship, identity, residency and proof of enrollment, completion or exemption.
  • Present your "parental consent
  • Complete the vision test and Safe Drivers Knowledge Test with a passing score.
  • Pay the appropriate learners permit cost. Your permit is valid for 2 years and you must complete 6 months of driving time before continuing the licensing application process.

Resources