Driver's License

Oregon Driver's License Written Test

The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (Oregon DMV) is responsible for issuing learners permits, drivers licenses, vehicle registrations and titles, license plates and maintaining driving records. Unfortunately, unlike other state DMV websites you cannot use the Oregon DMV website to schedule your written or road test, but you can find the nearest location for you to take the needed tests. The site is a bit overwhelming but does have a wealth of information.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Oregon Driver's License Written Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Oregon DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Oregon driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Oregon DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Oregon DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the OR DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Oregon DMV Cheat Sheet
  • Oregon DMV Online Practice Test
The Oregon DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Oregon DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the OR DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

New Oregon Driver’s License

Who Needs a License, and which License is for you?

Driving is a luxury that many residents of Oregon wish to obtain and the process can be simple if you first know which license to apply for and the necessary steps to achieve you’re driving goals. There are several reasons to obtain a license from private use to recreation and even commercial operation for a successful driving career. Oregon offers several license types to suit your needs with age restrictions including:

  • Classic Drivers License – You must over the age of 18 to receive this license.
  • Commercial class A, class B, class C. You must be over 18 and posses or qualify for the classic driver’s license.
  • Classic Provisional License – Permission to operate a non-commercial vehicle for 16 and 17 year olds.
  • Motorcycle License – Anyone over the age of 16 wishing to operate a motorcycle may apply for this license.
  • Farm License this is an endorsement available to all persons operating a classic or commercial license over the age of 16 and allows you to operate special farm equipment.

What are the Requirements for a classic or provisional License?

The classic and provisional licenses require that you meet age requirements, are a US citizen or have legal presence and a resident of Oregon. You must be at least 16 years old to apply for a provisional license, and over 18 to qualify for a classic. You will need to bring the following required proofs when applying:

  • Proof of your full legal name
  • Proof of your identity
  • Proof of your legal presence
  • Proof of residency
  • Provide your social security card
  • Teen drivers under 18 must also provide either a certificate of completion for an approved driver’s education program 50 hours of logged driving practice, or 100 hours of recorded drive time in order to complete the road test portion of the application process. In addition, minors must provide proof of enrollment, graduation or exemption from high school. A GED is also acceptable for this requirement.

All new drivers’ license applicants must pass the state vision test in order to continue on to testing. You will also be required to pay the appropriate cost of a license in the form of a check, cash or money order.

What Tests do I need to take to get a License?

  • Safe driving practices test is required for minors applying for their first license and can be taken within 30 days of your 16th birthday. You must receive an 80% on this 35 question test to pass. There is no fee for this test and minors must take this in addition to the standard written test.
  • Written Knowledge test is the standard test for all applicants receiving their classic driver’s license. It consists of 35 multiple choice questions taken directly from your Oregon Drivers Manual and you must correctly answer 28 in order to pass.
  • Road Testing is required for minors as part of the licensing process to assure they have master control of the vehicle and can follow state rules on the road.

Taking a Drivers Education Course

All minors’ ages 16 and 17 applying for a Class C driver’s license must first complete an approved Drivers Education Course. The program is designed to help young drivers become safe drivers and reduce the number of accidents on Oregon’s roads. Be wary that not all drivers education courses are the same so it is important you chose an approved instructional course if you wish to satisfy requirements for your license.

Preparing for the Written Test

All test questions come from information within the. Many great resources are available to assist you in preparing including an Audio version online of each driver manual so you can listen on the go. Special resources for teen drivers such as the parent guide to teen driving provide addition information geared especially for new drivers. You can find reliable resources online such as cheat sheets and practice tests www.dmvcheatsheets.com with over 100 multiple-choice questions to assist you in preparing. These and many other resources are available at DMVcheatsheets.com.

What to Bring on Test Day

  • Your required documents to prove legal name and date of birth, citizenship or legal presence, residency, and identity.
  • You can download the application online and print it out in advance. Filling it out ahead of time will make the process quicker.
  • If a minor, you must also bring a certificate of completion from an approved driver’s education course and your driving log with 50 hours, or 100 hours without driver’s education. You must also bring a “parental consent” form.
  • All drivers must also provide proof of insurance if they plan to take the road test or register a vehicle. If they will be operating a vehicle belonging to another person, they must show proof they are listed as a driver on the policy.
  • Bring your appropriate testing fees in the form of a check, cash or money order. A classic non-commercial license is $60.

Proof of Insurance

You can still receive a license without insurance, however if you intend to take the road test you will be required to provide the appropriate forms of insurance before the test can begin. If you are registering a vehicle liability insurance must also be presented at the time of application. There are serious penalties in the state of Oregon for driving uninsured.

Taking the Diver Test

Most DMV offices have road testing available at the location. You may call your nearest DMV office to check availability and schedule your test in advance, but be sure that you can provide a vehicle that will pass a safety inspection and is properly insured or the test will be rescheduled. Practicing with your supervisory adult and reading up on testing Tips www.dmvcheatsheets.com found in articles from sites such as DMVcheatsheets.com will assist you in your preparation for this portion of testing. You must demonstrate that you have mastered driving skills and can properly obey traffic laws in order to pass this test.

Taking the Written Test

Fees for the written test must be paid before testing and if you do not pass, you will be required to pay the fees each time you repeat a test. Your Oregon Drivers Manual in combination with cheat sheets at DMVcheatsheets.com provide you will all the material necessary to pass the written test, as well as the Safe Driving Practices test required for minors. All of the questions on the multiple choice test come from these guides. Use the Audio manuals and mobile cheat sheets for added study time while on the go. Be sure to take as many practice tests generated by DMVcheatsheets.com to assure you are ready to pass the test on your first try. You must answer 28 out of 35 questions correctly to meet the 80% passing grade requirement.

Renewing your Oregon Drivers License

Who needs to renew their License?

Your driver’s license must be renewed every 8 years either in person at your local DMV office. You can renew your drivers license for up to one year after expiration but if it exceeds the time limit you will be required to repeat the application process including testing.

How do I renew my OR License?

You must apply at your local DMV in person to renew your license. If you meet renewal requirements, you may complete the process. You must fill out a new driver’s license application proof of identity, residency and citizenship. In addition, proof of insurance must be shown if you have a registered vehicle. After paying the renewal cost and passing a vision test if over age 50, you will take a new photo for your license. If your license is more than one year expired, you must meet all of the requirements for a classic driver’s license including passing the knowledge and vision tests.

Preparing to renew my Oregon Drivers License

After locating your nearest DMV branch and confirming the hours of operation, gather your required proof. You must pay the renewal cost in the form of check, cash or money order to be sure you have the correct method of payment upon arrival. Some branch offices are now equipped with an ATM just in case you have forgotten this step.

What is the Cost to renew my License?

The price of renewal fees will depend on the license you are renewing. The standard Class C non-commercial renewal fee is $40.

Steps to renew your License

When prepared in advance, the renewal process is easy and quick. Fill out a new driver’s license application in advance to save time and appear in person at your local DMV office. Present the application along with required proofs of:

  • Your "full legal name
  • Legal Presence in the US, Identity and date of Birth
  • Present your social security card
  • Show proof of your residency in Oregon
  • Take the vision test administered by the DMV branch employee if you are over the age of 50
  • Pay the appropriate renewal fees
  • Take a new photo for your license. The new license will arrive in the mail within a few weeks time

Resources