Driver's License

New York Driver's License Written Test

You must be 17 years old and have completed an authorized driver’s education class or 18 years old to receive a New York driver’s license. Individuals 16 and older can apply for a NY driver’s learner permit. To obtain your NY driver’s license, you need to visit the New York DMV, take the vision, written and road test, pay all applicable fees and show proof of identification and date of birth.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the New York Driver's License Written Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
English or Spanish
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The New York DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your New York driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
English or Spanish
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The New York DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the New York DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the NY DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

Add To Cart
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
English or Spanish
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • New York DMV Cheat Sheet
  • New York DMV Online Practice Test
The New York DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the New York DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the NY DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

Add To Cart

Receiving a New York Drivers License

Who Needs a License?

All new drivers over the age of 16 that wish to partake in the privilege of operating a motorized vehicle on New York must first follow the necessary steps to obtain the proper drivers license.

Which License is for you?

There are many types of licenses available in New York depending on your plans for vehicle operation and your age at the time of application. Types of licenses include:

  • Commercial Licenses Class A, B or C is required for work in the state of New York.
  • Non-commercial Class D or C are for private operation of a vehicle or the operation of a non-commercial class vehicle for employment.
  • A Class M license gives permission to operate a motorcycle on public roads while a Class MJ allows minors under 18 to operate a motorcycle with restrictions.

What are the Requirements for getting a License?

In order to receive a driver license in New York, you must have held a learner’s permit the required amount of time for your age group. A valid learner’s permit must be submitted along with a completed and signed application in person at the DMV office. Addition documents will include:

  • Proof of identity showing your birth date and legal name that total six points. The point system can be located in the Drivers Manual or online at DMV office.
  • Your valid social security number with a social security card or approved alternative.
  • If you do not have a social security number you must provide proof of legal presence in the US.

Minors are also required to submit a parental consent form and proof of driver’s education, as well as the parent driving time log signed and completed with required hours. All new drivers must pay their licensing fees at the time of application with a check, cash or money order. All new drivers must take a vision exam and road skills test to be licensed. New drivers that have not taken drivers education must take the written test and correctly answer 14 out of 20 questions to pass.

What Tests do I need to get a License?

  • A vision screening is given to all new drivers at the time of application.
  • A written skills test must be taken by new drivers who have not taken drivers education and new residents to the state.
  • A road skills test must be passed in order to complete the license process.

Drivers education is highly recommended though not required if over 18 years of age. If a course is successfully completed you may be exempt from the written test portion of licensing.

Preparing for the Written Test

Those over 18 choosing not to take a drivers education course and even individuals that do take the course will benefit from study time before taking the written test. Failing and having to retake the test will cause delays in your license process. You can begin by obtaining the Drivers Handbook either online or at your DMV office and study the materials listed in the sections. Cheat Sheets produced by Dmvcheatsheets.com will have all of the detailed information you need to study to pass your test. This includes state driving laws and safe driving practices, rules of the road and common traffic signs and signals you must know.

Once you have created a study plan Dmvcheatsheets.com and stuck to it, test your abilities with several practice tests available at dmvcheatsheets.com to assure you are ready to pass on the first try.

What to Bring on Test Day

Read in advance the point system and required document lists found on at the DMV website and gather together required proofs that will total 6 points to bring with you the day of application. You will also need your social security card or approved alternative or proof of legal presence in the US if you do not have a social security number. You will also need the completed application, your valid permit and the amount of fees in check, cash or money order form.

Minors will need to bring their parental consent form and proof of driver’s education, as well as the completed and signed parent confirmation of driving practice hours form.

Costs of a Drivers Test

Driver’s license fees include the testing fees associated with getting a new drivers license. In addition, the license fees include a mandatory $10 MCTD or commuter transit free of one dollar per year. The amount will depend on your age at the time of application and includes:

  • 16-16 ½- $90.00
  • 16 ½ 17 $85.75
  • 17- 17 ½ – $102.50
  • 17 ½ – 18- $98.25
  • 18 and older range from $90.00 to $85.75
  • 21 and older- $77.50

Taking the Written Test

Your written tests are administered at the DMV during specific testing hours and only after you have completed previous steps including a vision exam. The test will consist of 20 multiple choice questions and you must answer 14 out of 20 correctly to pass. You must also answer 2 out of 4 questions involving signs in order to receive a passing score. Studying in advance is advised if you wish to pass the test and avoid wasting time on retests.

Those that chose to take an approved drivers education course may be exempt from the written test.

Study your Drivers Handbook online and use the cheat sheets Dmvcheatsheets.com available for New York online to assuring a passing score. Remember to take several practice tests to assure you are ready for the written test and look into some informative articles Dmvcheatsheets.com full of tips for passing your written and road tests.

Taking the Driving Test

It can take several weeks to receive an appointment for your road test so be sure to schedule well in advance and be fully prepared for test day. Your permit must still be valid at the time of testing as well. Drivers that have not take drivers education are required to attend a five hour safe driving course before being granted permission to take the road test. You must present either a valid proof of successful completion of driver’s education or of the five hour safe driving course at the time you take the test.

You must provide a vehicle that is safe and in good condition for the test and be accompanied by a licensed driver over the age of 21 if you drive to the test. The test will be scored on a point system and test your ability to competently drive a vehicle on roadways. Brush up on your knowledge of traffic rules, signs and signals with cheat sheets before taking the test to assure you obey all laws correctly in addition to maintaining control of the vehicle.

Renewing your New York Drivers License

Who needs to renew their license?

Your driver’s license must be renewed every eight years if you wish to continue the driving privilege.

How do I renew my New York License?

Renewal is most commonly done by visiting your closets DMV office in person however some individuals qualify for mail renewal.

What tests do I need to take to renew?

All applicants renewing their license must take the vision test. For mail renewals, your physician can complete the form which will be valid for six months from the appointment date.

Preparing to renew my New York license

Preparing for your license renewal is important if you wish the process to go smoothly:

  • For renewal by mail you must fill out in the form provided to you in full, answering all questions. Include your DMV client ID number or full date of birth and name if you do not have this number. In addition, you must photocopy proofs of identity equaling up to six points to be mailed in with your renewal form. Remember to provide renewal fees by check or money order only in the envelope and mail back to the DMV.
  • For in person renewals, gather your proofs of identity totaling six points. These must be originals, copies are only accepted if renewing by mail. Bring your current license and renewal form to the DMV office. You will be submitted to a vision screening and new photo. Pay the appropriate renewal fees by check, cash or money order.
  • Unless restricted, you may renew online only if a photo, signature and social security number are on file with the DMV. In addition you must live at the same address on file with the office. Follow the online prompts at the DMV website to renew and fees are payable online only by credit or debit card.

What is the cost to renew my license?

Specific counties are also subject to the MCTD or commuter fee included in the price of their license renewal of $1.00 for every year their license is valid. License renewal fees are $64.50 for residents not in the listed counties qualifying for this tax and $80.00 for all others required paying. There is an addition $8 fee for those holding a Class M or MJ license in addition to a standard operating license.

Steps to renew your license

Read your renewal notice to assure if you qualify for the online or mail in renewal options. You will still need to visit the branch office for a vision screening or have a physician fill out the testing form in advance in order to renew using any of the three options.

Gather together all required proofs which will include:

  • For in person renewals you need original copies of your identification proofs totaling six points, which may include your current license or addition ID if your license is lost. Your fees may be paid by check, cash or money order so assure you have the appropriate form. You will also need to complete your renewal form.
  • Online renewals simply follow the prompts to renew and pay by credit or debit card.
  • Mail in renewals are required to submit the same documentation as an in-person renewal, however in this case only copies will be accepted. Fill out your mail in renewal form, sign and submit with copies of identification totaling six points. Enclose your DMV customer number if possible. Mail in renewals can be paid by check or money order only.

Your new license will arrive by mail to the address on file with the DMV office. Renewals online or by mail cannot be done if the DMV cannot locate your photo, signature or social security number in the system.

Resources