Driver's License

New Hampshire Driver's License Written Test

The New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is responsible for the issuance of driver licenses to New Hampshire citizens 16 years of age or older. The DMV provides the services required, such as vision, written and road tests at eighteen (18) different locations throughout New Hampshire. You can also use the New Hampshire DMV website to find locations, documents, manuals and more.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the New Hampshire Driver's License Written Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The New Hampshire DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your New Hampshire driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The New Hampshire DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the New Hampshire DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the NH DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • New Hampshire DMV Cheat Sheet
  • New Hampshire DMV Online Practice Test
The New Hampshire DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the New Hampshire DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the NH DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

Obtaining a New Hampshire Drivers License

Who Needs a License?

Anyone in the state of New Hampshire that is a permanent resident and wishing to operate a motor vehicle of any kind must first apply for and obtain the appropriate drivers license. Each Class of license available is based on the driver’s age or type of vehicle that will be operated and includes:

  • A Youth Operators License is a restricted license offered to minors that are older than 16 but under 21 years of age. The times of day and other restrictions are in place to ease the teen into driving on roadways.
  • An operator’s license Dmvcheatsheets.com is issued to adults wishing to operate a smaller vehicle on roadways for person daily use.
  • Those wishing to operate larger vehicles for work use must apply for a commercial license or CDL in the Class vehicle they wish to operate. Special endorsements are available for permission to operate specific vehicles such as school buses.
  • A Motorcycle license may be obtain to allow drivers to operate a motorcycle or moped on roadways.

What are the Requirements for getting a License?

Each new driver will be asked to supply several documents when applying for new license including:

  • A completed driver’s license application.
  • One document from the primary list of identification found online at the DMV website.
  • One secondary document for identification.
  • Or two documents from the primary identification list can be accepted. One form of documentation must be an original birth certificate, US passport or Military ID.
  • One document proving residence within the state that will submit a permanent mailing address to the DMV for further contact.
  • Minors under age 18 will also be required to provide a Drivers Education Certificate of Completion and a Parental Authorization Certificate giving permission to receive a license.

Under 18 new drivers are also required to submit an out-of-class driving log sheet with the drivers license application which can serve as the minors proof of residency. If your name has changed at any time since birth, proof of the name change will also be required.

What Tests do I need to get a License?

  • A vision test is required for all new applicants wishing to receive a first license, upgrade to a new license class or renew a current license.
  • A written test is administered to new drivers at the DMV during the application process. Applicants must correctly answer a total of 25 out of 30 questions correctly; only 4 multiple choice questions may be missed and more than one incorrect answer in the road signs section is a fail.
  • A road test is required for new first time drivers by appointment only at the DMV after the vision and written tests have been passed.

Taking a Drivers Education Course

Driver’s education is recommended for new drivers of all ages before applying for a license but is mandatory for new applicants under the age of 18.

Preparing for the Written Test

The written test will consist of multiple choice test questions regarding traffic laws, safe driving and rules of the road. In addition, a section is devoted to road signs commonly found within the state. Drivers may only miss 5 questions total before they will fail. Four questions may be incorrectly answered in the multiple choice section and one only missed question allowed in the road signs portion. The test can be challenging for any new driver so studying beforehand is critical to pass. Drivers must receive a passing score of 80% or above.

Obtain a copy of the Drivers Manual to begin studying important information. Cheats sheets Dmvcheatsheets.com that are generated online contain detailed information regarding the information found on the written test and are an essential study tool if you wish to pass on the first try. In addition, obtaining practice tests Dmvcheatsheets.com as a way to assure you fully understand all the information provided is key to preparation for testing.

Scheduling an Appointment

An appointment is required in order to take the road test for new drivers. Appointments can be online after the vision screening and written test have been successfully completed.

What to Bring on Test Day

On test day you will need to bring all required documents including proof of identity from the approved online list. One primary document which must be a birth certificate, US passport or military ID is required along with an additional document from the primary or secondary lists. Proof of a social security number or legal presence must be established.
Minors must also bring the addition forms including a parental consent from, proof of completion of driver’s education and the Drivers Out-Of-Class Log completed and signed by a parent.

Costs of a Drivers Test

A $50 driver’s license fee is due at the time of application and will cover the costs of testing. Fees may be paid by credit/debit card, check or money order and cash.

Proof of Insurance

Proof of insurance must be provided for the vehicle used during road testing and if a new drivers wishes to register a vehicle in their name at the DMV.

Taking the Written Test

The written test is administered to all new drivers at the DMV on a walk in only basis. Once all documentation has been submitted and approved and the driver has passed a vision screening, they will be allowed to begin the computerized written test. The test is divided into two portions including the multiple choice section regarding traffic laws and the section devoted to commonly found road signs. A passing score Dmvcheatsheets.com of 80% must be achieved in order to continue the license process. Requirements for passing are strict, the driver must not answer incorrectly any more than four questions in the multiple choice section and only one wrong answer is allowed in the road signs section.

Use your cheat sheets and practice tests from Dmvcheatsheets.com and study the material in detail to assure a passing score on the test. Be sure to focus on the road signs portion of the cheat sheets. Do not take the actual test until you can achieve a passing score in practice testing. In addition, new drivers will find the information found on the test is provided in the Drivers Manual.

Taking the Driving Test

The road test must be completed in order to receive a new driver’s license and is done by appointment only at the DMV. New drivers must first pass the vision screening and written tests before scheduling the road test. A car must be provided for the exam that can meet safety standards and is properly registered and insured. A licensed driver must drive the vehicle to and from the testing site and remain at the site during the test process.

The entire test should last approximately 15 minutes and the examiner will decide if the new driver can properly operate a vehicle on roadways. You will be given instructions that must be followed to test your abilities to perform maneuvers in regular traffic and obey all signs, signals and laws while on the road.

Renewing your New Hampshire Drivers License

Who needs to renew their license?

Every licensed driver on the roads is required to renew their license by the five year expiration date if they wish to continue operating a vehicle legally on roadways.

How do I renew my New Hampshire License?

The DMV will mail you a renewal letter two months before expiration that will give detailed instructions regarding how you may renew. Generally, renewals can be completed in-person, online or by mail depending in the drivers qualifications for each.

What tests do I need to take to renew?

A vision screening is required for in-person renewal. If your license has expired by more than 3 years you will be required to retake the vision screening, written test and road test during renewal.

Preparing to renew my New Hampshire license

The only form of document required for renewal is a current driver’s license unless your license has expired. If expired more than three years you must prepare two forms of identification and a proof of residency before applying. Read through your renewal letter in detail to fully understand the steps and requirements for renewal.

What is the cost to renew my license?

The cost of renewal will be $50 dollars for an operator’s license.

Steps to renew your license

Once you have read through your renewal notice, you will know which options are available to you for renewing:

  • Online renewals will receive a code that must be entered into the online renewal service offer at the DMV website. Follow the prompts to complete the process and pay renewal fees by credit or debit card at check out.
  • In person renewals must visit a DMV office and complete the renewal application. Submit the application and your current license. A vision screening will be completed and new photo taken. Pay renewal fees by credit/debit card, cash, check or money order.

Resources