Driver's License

Montana Driver's License Written Test

The Montana Motor Vehicle Division is responsible for promoting efficient and cost effective programs in the benefit of public safety and well-being. The Montana DMV is responsible for driver licenses, driving records, license plates, Project Merline, vehicle title & registration and other services. The Montana DMV Website has one of the most advanced record locator systems in the country for finding driver’s license information.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Montana Driver's License Written Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Montana DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Montana driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Montana DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Montana DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the MT DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Montana DMV Cheat Sheet
  • Montana DMV Online Practice Test
The Montana DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Montana DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the MT DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

New Montana Driver’s License

Anyone who wishes to legally operate a motor vehicle on an open road needs a License. This can be necessary because of work, school, family obligations, or a simple desire for freedom.

What are the Requirements for Getting a License?

The state of Montana allows an individual to begin driving at the age of 14 ½. To begin the process the individual must enroll in a driver’s education course. You will then be issued an instruction permit that allows a person to operate a vehicle only under the supervision of a driving instructor. Persons 16 years of age and older may apply for a learners permit without having taken a driver’s education course. After applying for a learners permit a person must pass a written exam as well as a vision test. Then the new driver must:

  • Log 50 hours of driving
  • Always be accompanied by a licensed adult 18+ years of age that is either the parent or guardian of the teen or someone that is authorized by said parent or guardian
  • Always wear a seat belt and assure that all passengers do as well

This license only lasts for one year and must be held for no less than 6 months after which time the new driver can move on to step 2. For this step the new driver and their parent/guardian must fill out a graduated driver’s license form, provide all necessary proofs and tests, and a letter of consent from the applicants parent/guardian if the applicant is under the age of 18. After 6 months or the applicant turns 18 he or she will be eligible for a full privilege license.

What Tests do I need to take to get a License?

There is a series of tests that an applicant must successfully complete in order to obtain a Montana driver’s license. These tests include

  • A written test
  • A vision test
  • Road skills test

In the state of Montana the applicant must get 27 out of 33 questions correct on the written exam.

Taking a Driver’s Education Course

It is necessary for teens age 14 ½ until age 16 wishing to take a driver’s test in hope of obtaining a driver’s license to participate in a Driver’s Education class. Teens age 16 or older can bypass the driver’s education course and apply for an instruction permit at any DMV driving exam station. Make sure that the course you enroll in is state approved because if it is not it will not count towards getting your license. For more information on finding classes near you contact your local records and driver control bureau.

Preparing for the Written Test

To prepare for the written test obtain a Montana driver’s handbook and study each section carefully. It may also be a good idea to take some practice tests which are available online.

What to Bring on Written Test Day

There are several things that you will need to bring to your test. These things include,

  • Social Security Card
  • Birth Certificate
  • Two proofs of address which can include the following:
  • Old Picture ID
  • Utility bill
  • Voters registration card

Be sure that the address you provide is a physical address a not a P.O. Box which will not be accepted.
If your name has changed for any reason such as getting married, you will also need to take your marriage certificate or some sort of court approved document to prove your name change.

What does a Driver’s License Cost?

To receive a license (for anyone 21+ years of age) the fee is $40.50. For drivers age 20 the fee is $5.50. Age 19 the fee is $10.50 and for age 18 the fee is $15.50. The testing is $5

Proof of Insurance

You must provide proof of insurance for the vehicle that you intend to drive for your test. You must always carry proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times when driving.

Taking the Drivers Test

When taking the road skills test, remember to stay calm. It is best to practice as much as possible with the appropriate chaperone before undertaking this test. Be sure that all of you documentation is in order before entering the testing facility to reduce unnecessary stress.

Taking the Written Test

Make sure that you have all necessary documents before entering the testing facility. Study the Montana Driver’s Manual hard before hand and remember to stay calm during the test. The written driver’s exam consists of 33 questions 27 of which the applicant must get right to pass. Read more information on the written test at http://www.dmvcheatsheets.com/

Renewing your Montana Driver’s License

A person may renew their license in person no matter where in the state you live. Some areas offer mail-in renewing. Renewing is necessary every eight years for drivers over the age of 21 up until the age of 75. At this point renewing is necessary every five years.

Who Needs to Renew Their License?

Anyone who’s license is close to expiring.

How do I renew my Montana Driver’s License?

To renew in person simply go to any testing facility with proof of social security number, proof of identity, pay the fee and successfully pass a vision test.

Preparing to Renew Your Montana Driver’s License

Be sure you have all necessary documentation with you and in order ahead of time. In some areas the testing facility is only capable of some actions in which case the renewal applicant must pay the fee ahead of time at the county clerk and present the receipt when renewing the license.

What is the Cost to renew my License?

The fee for renewing a Montana driver’s license is $40.50. Payable by cash, check, or money order.

Steps to Take to Renew Your License

Gather the necessary documentation such as

  • Proof of identity
  • Social security card

If your name has changed since you received your last license a proof of that change will also be required before a new license can be issued.
Go to a testing site, pay the fee, and pass a vision test, done.

Resources