Driver's License

Mississippi Driver's License Written Test

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Mississippi Driver's License Written Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Mississippi DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Mississippi driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Mississippi DPS Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Mississippi DPS driver's exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the MS DPS manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Mississippi DMV Cheat Sheet
  • Mississippi Online Practice Test
The Mississippi DPS Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable FOUR page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Mississippi DPS exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the MS DPS manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

New Mississippi Drivers License

Who Needs a License?

All drivers in Mississippi must have a valid license when operating any class of vehicle on roadways. New drivers and new residents to the state must complete the driver’s license process at a local Derpartment of Public Safety office in order to be permitted use of a vehicle on public roads. There are many types of licenses available in the state and the one a new driver must acquire will depend on the driver’s age and vehicle type. License classes include:

  • A Regular Operator license is obtained by those wishing to operate a smaller, personal vehicle on roadways for daily use. All new drivers for this class must first obtain a learners permit and meet requirements.
  • An Intermediate license is designed for minors under age 18 to begin the privilege of driving but with restrictions for safety.
  • Motorcycle licenses permit drivers to operate a two-wheel motorized vehicle such as a motorcycle or moped on public roadways.
  • For those wishing to drive for a living, a CDL Class license will be required. The commercial license type will depend on the specific type of commercial vehicle being driven.

What are the Requirements for getting a License?

  • You must bring a completed, signed drivers license application.
  • A social security card or approved alternative must be provided to prove citizenship.
  • An original birth certificate to prove full legal name, birth date and place of birth. If the applicants name has changed at any time since birth, proof of the name change is also required.
  • Two proofs of residency from the approved listing types must be submitted to prove the applicant is a resident of the state and provide the DMV with a valid address for the license.
  • New minor drivers must also provide proof of school enrollment. Minors applying for a 15 and 16 year old license must have the application signed by both parents or guardians or the custodial parent in a divorce. The signatures must be notarized.
  • A vision screening, written test and road skills test are required for new drivers.

What Tests do I need to get a License?

  • A vision screening is required for all new applicants.
  • A written test is required for applicants of a license classes and permits.
  • A road test is required as the last phase of licensing and must be passed in order to receive a license.

Taking a Drivers Education Course

Driver’s education students age 14 must acquire a special learner’s permit that will give permission to operate only a vehicle during the course with an instructor in the vehicle at all times.

Preparing for the Written Test

In order to pass the test with a passing score of 80% or above on the first try, it is important to acquire the proper materials and study. Gather the Drivers Handbook and cheat sheets Dmvcheatsheets.com and create a study plan that involves daily reading of your materials. Cheat sheets are state specific and will contain all of the correct traffic laws, rules and regulations you must know in order to pass the test, as well as contain commonly found road signs.

In addition, test your knowledge using practice tests Dmvcheatsheets.com available and assure that you have retained the correct amount of information to pass. Other materials such as informative articles Dmvcheatsheets.com will assist you in fully preparing to take the written test.

What to Bring on Test Day

On the day of your drivers test you must present to your examiner a valid learner permit, social security card and birth certificate. In addition, you must provide a vehicle that is properly registered and insured. The vehicle must have working safety equipment such as seat belts and the passenger seat clear.

Costs of a Drivers Test

The cost of the drivers test is included in the license cost which is $21.00.

Proof of Insurance

Proof of insurance is required for the vehicle the applicant intends to take the road exam with and if the new driver is registering a vehicle in his or her name on the day they receive their license.

Taking the Written Test

The written examiner will consist of multiple choice questions that will asses your understanding of the rules of the road, traffic laws and gauge your ability to properly read road signs. The test is administered at your local DPS office after documentation has been submitted and approved and a vision screening passed. The written test is now administered on a computer that will provide you with instant correct/incorrect results for each question.

In order to pass the test, the applicant must receive an 80% or higher score so it is important to fully understand all materials covered on the test in advance. This can be done by studying the Drivers Manual and by acquiring cheat sheets Dmvcheatsheets.com and practice tests available online. The materials covered in the cheat sheets will provide you with the correct information necessary to pass the written test on your first try. Practice tests are used as a way to measure your progress and understanding of the study materials. Do not attempt the written test until you can achieve an 80% score on practice tests Dmvcheatsheets.com.

Taking the Driving Test

On the day of your driving test you must have a licensed driver accompany you to the testing area. The examiner will request your valid permit, social security card and birth certificate. The vehicle you bring for testing will be examined to assure all safety equipment is working and the passenger’s seat is clear of debris. You must also provide proof of insurance and registration for the vehicle before the test can begin.

The examiner will evaluate your ability to perform normal driving functions during traffic. This will include such maneuvers as left and right turns, backing up and using a round about. You must pass the test in order to receive your license so practicing while using a learner’s permit is essential.

Renewing your Mississippi Drivers License

Who needs to renew their license?

Drivers issued any class license will need to renew their license by the expiration date in order to continue legally operating a motor vehicle on roads. Your license will expire every four years on your birthday for a regular operator’s license.

How do I renew my Mississippi License?

Renews can be done online if the driver meets qualifications or in person at the local DPS branch office. Renews cannot be completed online if the drivers address has changed since the last renewal date or a picture cannot be found on file to use. You may renew your license once every 8 years online or every other renewal cycle if all other requirements are met.

What tests do I need to take to renew?

When required to renew in person, the driver will be issued a new vision screening. Expired licenses may require a retake of the written and road tests.

Preparing to renew my Mississippi license

When preparing to renew if you are required to complete the process in person, you must bring with you:

  • Your expiring driver’s license and two proofs of residency.
  • The amount of your renew fees in cash or check.

To renew online, assure you meet requirements before proceeding to avoid additional fees and wait times.

What is the cost to renew my license?

A Regular Operators license cost to renew is $21 and the Intermediate license will be a $6 fee.

Steps to renew your license

For in person renewals, visit your local DPS office and complete a renewal application. You must then submit your current license and two proofs of residency in order to be granted a renewal. A new vision screening will be completed after documentation is approved and must be passed with state standards. Pay your renewal fees by check or cash and take a new photograph to complete the process.

For online renewals, visit the DPS website and use the online service to complete the process. Follow the prompts and pay your renewals fees by credit or debit card.

Resources