Mi_map

Free Michigan SOS Online Practice Test

You are about to take a FREE Sample of the Michigan SOS Online Practice Test. The sample test consists of 10 multiple choice questions and answers.

Please select the best answer for each question below and then click "Submit."

1. Who is required to wear seat belts?

a.
Only the driver is required to wear a seat belt
b.
Seat belts are recommended for safety but they are not required
c.
Only the driver and front seat passengers are required to wear seat belts whether or not there are air bags
d.
The driver and all passengers in the vehicle are required to wear seat belts, whether the vehicle has air bags or not.
e.
None of the above
f.
All of the above

2. When should you use your headlights?

a.
One half-hour after sunset until one half-hour before sunrise
b.
Whenever you have doubt that others can see you clearly
c.
When there is not enough sunlight to see people and vehicles at 500 feet
d.
When visibility is reduced
e.
All of the above

3. What should you do when a school bus is stopped and has flashing red overhead lights?

a.
Pull over to the side of the road
b.
Proceed with caution
c.
Stop no closer than 20-feet from the bus
d.
Pass if it is safe to do so

4. Which of the following traffic convictions has the highest number of penalty points?

a.
Reckless driving
b.
Driving 16mph or more over the speed limit
c.
Open alcohol container in vehicle
d.
Failure to stop at a railroad crossing

5. What type of sign is yellow with black letters?

a.
Route marker
b.
Warning sign
c.
Yield sign
d.
Guide sign

6. Which of these contains less alcohol than the other three and will take longer to affect your blood alcohol content: 12 ounces of 80 proof liquor, five ounces of wine, 12 ounces of beer, 12 ounces of wine-cooler?

a.
12 ounces of 80 proof liquor
b.
5 ounces of wine
c.
12 ounces of beer
d.
12 ounces of wine cooler
e.
None of the above

7. It is illegal to use or flash your high-beams within how many feet of an oncoming vehicle?

a.
100 feet
b.
200 feet
c.
300 feet
d.
400 feet
e.
None of the above

8. When are you required to renew your driver’s license?

a.
Every two years when your tags expire
b.
Every four years on your birthday
c.
Every four years on Election Day
d.
Every two years on your birthday

9. In which of the following situations is it prohibited to pass on the left?

a.
If crossing a solid yellow line
b.
When the center lane of a three-lane road is marked for left turns only
c.
When there is a “no passing” sign
d.
If you cannot see clearly ahead
e.
All of the above
f.
None of the above

10. New drivers are placed on probation for how long after first initially receiving a permit or license to drive?

a.
1 year
b.
2 years
c.
3 years