Driver's License

Maine Driver's License Written Test

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Maine Driver's License Written Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Maine BMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Maine driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Maine BMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Maine BMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the ME DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Maine BMV Cheat Sheet
  • Maine DMV Online Practice Test
The Maine BMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your BMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Maine BMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the ME BMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

New Maine Drivers License

Who needs a license?

Obtaining a drivers’ license in Maine will certainly open new opportunities for recreation, daily living and even employment opportunities you would not be able to acquire without a license. Any new driver in the state regardless of age and new residents to Maine must apply for a new driver’s license with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles in order to exercise this privilege.

Which License is for you?

You will find three main license types that you can obtain in Maine depending on your intended uses for the vehicle you wish to operate. Each type has a specific designated use and permissions to operate a type of motorized vehicle on roads:

  • Class A and B driver’s licenses are for commercial use only. This type of license will give permissions to operate larger Vehicles for the use of transporting materials and passengers in Maine and is required for all drivers wishing to perform these tasks for a living.
  • Class C licenses are issued to the majority of new drivers in Maine and can be used to operate any personal vehicle(s) not used for the Class A or B purposes. If the driver obtains special endorsements this license also gives permissions to operate a motorcycle, bus or school bus.

What are the requirements for getting a license?

The state of Maine has recently begun to increase requirements for license application to assure the safety and security of residents. This includes the documents required to be produced at the time of application in the following categories:

Residency requirements- drivers’ license applications are now required to adequately provide proof of residency in Maine at the time application is presented. Provided documents must contain the applicants full name and legal residence within the state. Appropriate documents may include:

  • A tax return, W-2 form or pay stub.
  • A utility bill or letter from the utility company stating that you have service in Maine at a permanent residence.
  • A contract that the application is a party of or document issued by the government.
  • For residents unable to provide any of the above proofs, two affidavits signed by resident aware of the applicants’ residency may be provided.
  • Minors applying for a first license that are unable to prove residency may submit a signed affidavit from a legal parent or guardian.

In addition to residency proof, all applicants must submit documentation proving proof of legal residency and identity. This may include an original birth certificate, passport issued by the United States or a State ID obtaining in Maine. A complete list of acceptable documentation can be found in the Maine Drivers Handbook. Applicants are also required to present a social security card when they are applying for a new license, as well as during the renewal process.

Additional requirements in order to receive your drivers license for applicants under the age of 21 include a being a minimum age of 16, driving with a learners permit for at least 6 months, completing required practice hours and successfully passing all BMV tests. Minors under 18 must bring a parent or guardian on the day the photo license is issued.

What tests do I need to take to get a license?

  • A road signs test will be given at the time of application consisting of 10 multiple choice questions and applicants must receive a passing score of at least 80% in order to pass. This test will test the applicant’s knowledge of road signs.
  • Knowledge tests are completed for learner’s permits and new licenses and will determine if the applicant fully understands all traffic laws in Maine in order to safely drive on roadways. A passing score of 80% is required.
  • The road test portion of testing must be completed by schedule only. Once the applicant has completed the required driver hours with a permit and at least 6 months time has passed since issuance, the potential driver may mail in the road test request form issued by the Department of motor vehicles. The applicant will be given an appointment for testing at a nearby facility. Drivers must supply the testing vehicle which will be subject to a safety test before the application can begin, as well as asked to show proof of insurance. Drivers under 18 must be accompanied by a licensed driver for testing.
  • A vision screening will be administered at the DMV office to determine if the new driver can safely see while driving. Applicants are allowed to wear corrective lenses or contacts when testing.

Taking a Drivers Education Course

Teen applications applying for a license between the ages of 16 and 18 years old are required to have successfully completed a driver’s education course.

Preparing for the written test

Passing your written tests can be easy if you obtain the right materials in advance and study hard. Proof of identity is required in order to take the written portions of testing. The Maine Drivers Handbook contains all of the information that can potentially be on the signs and knowledge tests, as well as the comprehensive cheat sheets. In order to receive a passing grade of 80% or above on both tests you must answer 8 out of 10 questions correctly leaving little room for error so be sure that you fully understand all the rules of the road, traffic laws and rules for Maine and can identify common traffic signs. It is wise to take as many practice tests in advance as possible to assure that you are on the right track for a passing exam score.

Scheduling an appointment

Written and Vision exams are issued at the BMV office and must be scheduled in advance by calling your local branch office during business hours. The road test portion of testing must be scheduled using the appropriate road test request form issued by the BMV at the time of applying for a learners permit or by visiting your branch office.

What to bring on test day

The type of testing you are taking will make the difference in the required documents your must bring. If you are under 18 years of age, proof of successful completion of drivers education will be required on the day of written and vision testing. In addition, all applications applying for a new license must bring the following when taking the written tests:

  • Proof of residency, identity and legal presence, as well as a valid social security card.
  • (For teen drivers under 18 years of age) proof of successful completion of driver’s education and a valid driver’s permit is required. A valid permit must be shown if applicant is less than 21 years old.
  • The full amount of testing fees and license costs in the form of check, cash or money order.

When completing the road test, drivers must provide proof of successful driver’s education completion, a valid learner’s permit and the appointment notice. Proper vehicle registration and certificate of financial liability is required for the vehicle used in testing that must show the application as a listed driver. In addition a driver holding a valid license must be present and show a valid license.

Costs of driver’s tests

Testing for the Class C license will cost $10 and any additional endorsement testing such as a motorcycle endorsement test will be an additional $10 per exam. Completion of the testing process will result in the purchasing of a photo license which will cost $30, $34 for the five year license or those applying over the age of 65 will pay a $21 fee. Converting an out of state Class C license will cost the applicant a $10 application fee and a $30 photo license fee.

Taking the drivers test

The road test portion of testing is required for all new license applicants under the age of 21 and cannot be completed until all other tests have been passed. Be sure that you can provide a vehicle for testing that will pass the safety inspection or your test will be rescheduled. After completion of the required six month time frame and driver practice time with a learners permit, drivers may schedule an appointment by mail to take the test. Testers must bring a licensed driver to the test as well as other required documentation.

Practicing for your test is essential if an applicant wishes to pass and receive a license. Using all of the driving time with a learners permit will assure the new driver can demonstrate control of the vehicle while learning the road signs and traffic rules shows the examiner they can safely drive on roadways and obey the rules of the road.

Taking the written test

The written test is divided into two parts which consist of the road signs and knowledge tests. Each tests contains a minimum of 10 multiple choice questions and new applicants must pass with a score of 80% or above on both portions to pass. This only allows for two wrong answers per test so it is essential that the applicant studies hard before attempting the test. This can be achieved by studying cheat sheets on www.dmvcheatsheets.com and the Maine Drivers Manual which contains all of the material found on the tests. Taking practice tests at www.dmvcheatsheets.com will allow the new driver to test their progress and assure they are prepared to receive a passing score.

Renewing your Maine Drivers License

Who needs to renew their license?

Any persons that successfully completed the application and purchased a photographic license in Maine must renew their license every six years by their birth date. Residents over the age of 65 will be required to renew every fourth year by their birth date.

How do I renew my MN driver’s license?

All renewal applicants must provide proof of residency, legal presence, identity and provide a valid social security card when completing the process. If there has been a name or address change since the license was issued, the applicant must provide proof of these changes with approved documentation. Renewals must be completed in person at the BMV office unless you meet the qualifications for online renewal. In-person renewals are required in addition if any of the following applies:

  • You wish to change and information on your license including name, address, and weight or hair color.
  • You are over the age of 40; you must apply in person every other renewal for a vision screening.
  • You have developed a medical condition that requires documentation to be on file with the DMV.

What tests do I need to take to renew?

A vision test is required every other renewal times beginning on the divers 40th birthday. In special circumstances the DMV reserves the right to request retesting of any exams.

What is the cost to renew my license?

The cost of renewal will depend on the year your license expires:

  • Every six years- $30
  • Every Five years-$34
  • Four year license for ages 65 and over-$21

Steps to renew my Maine driver’s license

For online renewals:

  • You may renew online if the applicant is not disqualified from online renewal and does not wish to change any information on your current license.
  • From the online renewal form, complete the prompted information and check out at the end to pay appropriate renewal fees by credit or debit card.

For in person renewals, applicants must supply proof of residency, identity and legal presence along with a social security card to the BVM clerk. If applicable retake the vision exam with a passing score. If you are issued a photo drivers license you will retake your photo and pay the appropriate license fees with a check, cash or money order.

Resources