Driver's License

Kansas Driver's License Written Test

The Kansas DMV is a division of the Department of Revenue. Unfortunately, the Kansas DMV website is not as robust as other state’s websites, but contains the basic information needed to find an office to get your driver’s license or learner’s permit, forms an a list of online services. Trying to figure out requirements and the procedure for getting a Kansas license is a bit confusing, so carefully review the DMV website or purchase our cheat sheet to be prepared.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Kansas Driver's License Written Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Kansas DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Kansas driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Kansas DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Kansas DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the KS DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

Add To Cart
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Kansas DMV Cheat Sheet
  • Kansas DMV Online Practice Test
The Kansas DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Kansas DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the KS DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

Add To Cart

New Drivers License in Kansas

Who Needs a License?

Before any new driver may apply for a license, they must first hold a valid permit for the minimum required time. The learners permit is the first step in the licensing process unless you are an out-of-state new resident applying for the Kansas license. Anyone wishing to obtain the privilege of driving must hold a valid license specific for their age and type of vehicle.

Which license is for you?

  • Learners Permit- the first step for new drivers of all ages and can be obtained at the age of 15.
  • C Class License is the standard license that most Kansas residents obtain. It allows you to operate a personal vehicle on roadways. Depending on the age of the applicant there are several levels to this license including the C Class Restricted license, C Class Less Restricted and finally a full privilege standard license.
  • Commercial Licenses are issued to those wishing to drive for a living.
  • A Motorcycle license can also be obtained so that drivers can operate a two-wheeled motorized vehicle on roadways.

What are the requirements for getting a license?

All new drivers’ license applicants must submit three proofs to the DMV each time they graduate to a new level of licensing. These proofs include:

  • One proof of Identity
  • Proof of residency in the state of Kansas
  • Proof of citizenship- a social security card or equivalent is required to apply

A signature of parent or guardian is required for applicants under the age of 16 applying for a permit or restricted license. All new drivers are required to take a drivers education course as part of licensing and proof of school enrollment or graduation will be required for minors under 17 years of age.

  • The vision, C Class written and driver’s tests are required as part of the application process and drivers must pass each in order to proceed.
  • A licensing fee is required the day of application in the amount of $18 for a six year license and for over 65 applicants a four year license will cost $12.

What tests do I need to take to get a license?

  • A Written C Class test is given to all new drivers license applicants during the application process. The test consists of 25 multiple choice questions based on the rules of the road. Applicants must answer correctly 20 questions to pass.
  • A vision test is given to all new applicants and renewal drivers
  • A road test is the final test in the process and will test the new driver’s skills behind the wheel. Tests are given by a licensed examiner using the applicants own properly insured vehicle.

Taking a Drivers Education course

All first drivers to take an approved drivers education course as part of the licensing process. Drivers may download the materials used in the course from the DMV website prior to the start of class. Proof of school enrollment or graduation is required to attend the course. Driver’s education will consist of 30 in class hours of training on traffic laws, 6 hours of behind the wheel training and 6 hours of observation from a licensed driver’s education instructor.

Preparing for the written test

The Kansas C Class written test is administered to all new drivers license applicants as part of the application process. The test is 25 multiple choice questions based on the rules of road and Kansas traffic laws and drivers must answer 20 questions correctly to pass. Preparing to pass your Class C test requires devoting time to studying the drivers manual and using online resources such as Cheat sheets generated for your state by Dmvcheatsheets.com.

New drivers should test their knowledge using various Practice tests available through Dmvcheatsheets.com to assure they are fully prepared for the testing process.

Scheduling an appointment

The application and other necessary forms to begin applying for a new license can be found online but the process must be completed in person. You can schedule an appointment at your nearest State Drivers License Office for the final portions of the license process.

What to bring on test day

Driver should be prepared with the three proof documents required including proof of identity and age, citizenship and residency. These proofs will be required the day of application and the vision and C Class written tests.

For road testing applicants will need a valid permit, proof of insurance and registration for the vehicle and permission to take the road test after passing the other tests is required.

Taking the drivers test

The drivers test will only be administered after all documents have been submitted and the vision and written test passed. Using your own vehicle you will be graded by a licensed examiner on maneuvers such as:

  • Smooth operations- stopping, turning and acceleration from a stop
  • Your ability to control the vehicle during such processes as backing up, parking, changing lanes and signaling
  • Your understanding of traffic laws such as procedures of traffic lights, stop signs and yields

Use your practice time wisely and assure that you cover all of the basics with your licensed driver in order to receive a passing grade. At the time of testing your examiner will ask to see proof of registration and insurance for the vehicle and inspect for safety equipment such as seatbelts. If the vehicle is not insured or fails a safety inspection you will not be allowed to test.

Taking the written test

It is important to prepare for testing to the best of your ability before beginning the application and testing process in Kansas to avoid delays in the process. The written C Class test is given to all new drivers license applicants and will test the driver’s knowledge of the driving laws and practices essential for safe driving. All 25 questions are generated based on the information found in the driver’s handbook and available cheat sheets for your state. Applicants must receive 20 correct answers in order to pass the test.

Preparing for the test should consist of obtaining and reading your states driver handbook, as well as cheat sheets and practice tests www.dmvcheatsheets.com. Allow time each day for studying the materials covered on the test and test often to assure you are ready for the process. If you fail more than four times in a row you must wait an additional 28 before you can test again.

Renewing a Kansas Drivers license

All licensed drivers must renew every six years in order to continue operating a motor vehicle on public roads.

How do I renew my KA driver’s license?

You will be notified by mail when your license is about to expire and must renew up to 30 days before expiration. Renewals must be done in person at your local full service DMV branch www.dmvcheatsheets.com.

What tests do I need to take to renew

All renewal drivers must pass the vision screening. No other testing is now required for applicants renewing on time.

What is the cost to renew my license?

The cost of renew for a six year license is $18. Drivers over 65 must renew every four years and the cost will be $12.

Steps to renew your license

When you receive your expiration notice by mail, plan a trip to your local DMV office to complete the process. You must bring the following documents with you and present to the clerk:

  • Your renewal notice
  • Your current driver’s license
  • Proof of residency such as a utility bill

Applicants must then pass a vision re-test to complete the application process. Kansas no longer requires any other form of testing for on-time renewals. Once all steps have been satisfied pay your renewal fee in the form of cash. The fee for renewal is $18 for a six year license and $12 for a four year.

Resources