Learner's Permit

Iowa Learner's Permit Test

The Iowa Motor Vehicle Department (Iowa MVD) is responsible for the issuance of Iowa driver’s licenses, driver records & statistics, driver safety, education, accident records and statistics. According to the Governor of Iowa, there are two million drivers with an Iowa driver’s license. Driving is a right, not a priviledge. Any resident looking for a learner’s permit, driver’s license, motorcycle or commercial license need to visit their local MVD office or website.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Iowa Learner's Permit Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Iowa DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Iowa driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Iowa DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Iowa DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the IA DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Iowa MVD Cheat Sheet
  • Iowa MVD Online Practice Test
The Iowa DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Iowa DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the IA DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

Getting an Iowa learners Instructional Permit

How old do I need to be to get a learners permit

You must be at least 14 years old to obtain an instructional permit in Iowa. All new drivers wishing to begin the licensing process must first receive an instructional permit and meet state expectations before continuing on the licensing process.

Requirements to getting a learners permit

If the application is under the age of 18, they will be required to provide an original birth certificate at the time of application. In addition the following proofs must be shown:

  • A primary form of identification may be shown in substitution for the birth certificate. A secondary form of identification is also required.
  • Provide a Social Security car and proof of residency in Iowa.
  • A written parental consent form will also be required.

Driving with an IO Learners permit

Practice driving time should be used to master the skills necessary to be a safe driver and avoid an accident while on the roadways. It is a perfect time to assure the new driver is well versed in all of the common traffic signs and signals encountered on the road. Repetitive practice will assist the new driver in turning proper driving procedures such as turning, parking and yielding the right of way when appropriate into a natural part of safe driving habits.

Drivers may operate a motor vehicle with a licensed instructor, parent or guardian or an immediate family member over the age of 21. Other licensed drivers must be over 25 and has a parent’s written permission. You must practice driving for at least 6 months with a permit and complete at minimum of 20 hours drive time. At least 2 hours must be night time driving.

During the time of permit driving, you must complete an approved driver’s education program that includes:

  • 30 hours of classroom instruction- 4 hours must be on the topic of substance abuse and driving, 20 must contain information regard railroad crossings and other safe driving practices.
  • 6 hours of physical instruction, this may include the use of simulators but at least three must be actual time behind the wheel.

Cost of an Iowa learners permit

There is a $6 fee for instructional permits.

Steps to getting an Iowa learners permit

All applicants must apply in person at a local MVD office in order to apply for an instructional permit DMVcheatsheets.com. The following steps must be completed in order to receive a permit:

  • Submit a completed application along with a written parental consent form.
  • Provide all of the required documents showing age, identity, residency in the state of Iowa and proving you have legal presence in the form of a social security card or other approved document if a social security number has not yet been provided.
  • Applicants must then pass the vision screening to prove they can safely drive on roadways, and a knowledge test DMVcheatsheets.com to demonstrate a basic knowledge of safe driving practices, awareness of traffic signs and signals and an ability to operate a vehicle correctly.

If all the above steps are completed successfully, applicants can then pay the $6 fee and receive an instructional permit

Resources